We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up for newly renovated room”
Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Ranked #3 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thumbs up for newly renovated room”
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Date: 25 May 2008
Reviewer: Singapore
Would definitely recommend anyone to stay at this hotel in Hobart. The location is convenient. The furnishing for the new room was modern, complete with comfortable beds. The sunrise from the balcony was great. The kitchen provided all the necessity to whip up a nice piping hot meal.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ahhgiegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    276
    47
    7
    4
See reviews for
138
288
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights in a clean, comfortable, quiet and spacious family apartment at St Ives Motel in centrally located historic Battery Point, Hobart. Close to great coffee shops, cafes and playparks for our 3 and 5 year old kids, also Salamanca place just a short walk away. Staff at Motel very helpful and friendly. Although renovations were going on, they caused minimal impact or noise pollution. I'd highly recommend this motel.

Helpful?
4 Thank StevieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Great budget accommodation, close to Hobart City, Wharfs, Salamanca Place...............Only problem we found, was they were renovating the floor below us, at 7.30am the drills, hammering etc started, for us this acted as an alarm clock, but other than renovations we were very happy with this place

  • Liked — Being close to Hobart city, Salamanca Place, and Wharfs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banjo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We stayed in these apartments for 1 week.
It is in a great location, on a hill above the harbour (just a few blocks above Salamanca Place). The apartments are quite roomy and cosy for the price, but the whole place is rather worn and run down. The TV and stove and kitchen equipment are very basic, and the beds a little worn out. Our bathroom was a bit mouldy, but the water was hot and the towells generous.
Ihe block is 3 or 4 stories high and there is no lift, so take care if you have trouble with stairs.
There is a small grocery/fruit shop and newsagent etc down at Salamanca Place, and apparently a supermarket a few blocks in the other direction. Not that great if you have arrived without a car. There is a bottle shop nextdoor which sells milk and bread.

The reception staff were not that friendly or helpful (the staff at the Tourist Bureau are fantastic though)

I would definately stay here again, can put up with a little shabbiness for the price.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Shabbiness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We've stayed in this motel/apartment several times, & have always been pleased we did. Fabulous location in Battery Point, close to great eating & easy walking to everywhere. the rooms we book are spacious and beds comfortable. They have a kitchen attached and it's generally a clean & comfortable place. The decor last time seemed somewhat tired and I thought the towels had passed their use-by date, but that was 12 months ago so maybe they've been replaced.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lou_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Some friends found this motel, don't know how they found it.
But the motel was very nice, if a bit dark. The decor is a bit seventies, but it was nice and clean. The location was very nice as well, in the Battery Point area. 10 minutes walk to the Salamanca Place in Hobart.
Friendly staff, the towels were changed daily and there was a washing machine and ironboard for common use.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirikiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Property: St Ives Apartments
Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing