We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”
Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in early May in the double premier room. The room was spacious with a little but well equipped kitchenette, a fabulous bathroom, strong shower, high quality toiletries & towels, comfortable king sized bed, a huge TV screen, free strong wi fi. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to every request. Service was delivered with warm smiles. St Ives is very central with it's own parking area. It's a 10 to 15 minutes walk to the Salamanca Place, Woolsworth, Coles and numerous cafes in Battery Point and the waterfront. A real value for money and a great stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Premafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 661 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

The room in this hotel actually had a very comfortable bed and pillows which is rare! And the room was spotless, a winner for me. Staff were friendly and obliging. Very cheap simple breakfast @ $3.50 each. Wonderful! Excellent information provided in your room about the apartment, its amenities, television program, local info, etc. All phone call pricing was very cheap, I was amazed. Close to city and Sandy Bay with a bottle shop next door which is handy. :)
My husband and I stayed in January 2013.
One small negative: Our room faced the road which I didn't like as weccould not have the curtains open. But it was okay. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend, arriving at 11am I asked if I could leave my bags while I went to the market,. They then immediately called housekeeping & the room was ready (3 hours early) so we could go straight to our accommodation. Si Ives are well located, not far from Salamanca Place. The room was clean, bed comfortable and it was very quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I can't really fault anything about this place, it's clean, stylish, close to the cbd. Whilst we were here there was only one dryer working which was a little problematic but nothing too severe. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kandysmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Recently had an extended stay of 5 nights there, whilst my husband was on business. Looking forward to a sleep in and peaceful autumn days, I was rudely awoken with the sound of a pneumatic drill under my bed! Yes I know sound travels, and concrete drilling can be a long way from the actual source, but this was not what was on my agenda for a relaxing holiday! Reception was blasé about it, said there were no other rooms they could move us to, and why was I in the room during the day! Best practice customer service I felt would have been to offer a reduced rate for our entire stay, and not just a few dollars off. Besides that, room 111 sits directly above the entrance foyer, and EVERY time the automatic glass sliding front doors open, you hear it, at all hours of the day ... And night!! I was annoyed as we had booked this stay 4-5 months in advance, so it's not like we were last minute guests. Poor rooms like this should be kept for discounted rates. Overall, yes the rooms were roomy, well equipped (bar fridge, microwave, sink, cooking elements, pots, crockery etc), great bathroom with huge walk-in shower and very clean. Reverse cycle air con worked well to take off the winter chill, and morning sun pours in to warm that side of the building, which was great. Location very handy to Salamanca (downhill walk, be prepared to carry all your goodies home uphill), Woolworths a 10 minute walk downhill on Sandy Bay Road, bottle shop right next door, on bus stop, free car parking. Reception manned til late and very helpful, especially Clare. Don't be put off by dated outside appearance. Recommend higher floor, as level 1 more views of carpark and just tip of the city skylines. Safe area (not sure if there is a dodgy area in Hobart?). Don't forget to visit the Wurst Haus in Montpelier Street on way down to Salamanca, for incredibly delicious home pre-cooked meals, desserts and German meats!

Room Tip: Not 111! Ones towards Sandy Bay road will be noisier and closer to the bottle shop. Higher floors b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ziggi4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived extremely late due to Jet Star airline but we didn't have a problem as the staff via a phone call talked us through getting our key card , the apartment is in a great position , handy to shops , Salamanca Markets , Constitution Dock .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenbanjup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel is in a good location, within walking distance (10min) from Salamanca Place and the CBD, so you can safely leave your car in the hotel parking lot (free) and explore the city on foot. Bottle shop is right next door and there are plenty of cafes around.

The outside of the hotel does not look very appealing and the reception is tiny, but we were surprised with the size of the room - it was quite spacious with a king size bed, flat screen TV, A/C, it had a small kitchen area with with a kettle, sink and a fridge and there was also a separate bathroom. The room looked nice and clean.

Unfortunately it was on the first floor so we didn't have any spectacular views and we were right next to the construction site - there is some work being done around the hotel - loud drilling went on for the whole day.

+ve: FREE WiFi
-ve: Breakfast not included in the room price

Great for a short stay in Hobart.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want to a nice view and less noise from the road and bottle shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $104 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing