We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clydesdale Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clydesdale Manor
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Clydesdale for a few nights in Jan 2013 on our visit from Canada. It was a very lovely place to stay, and a nice departure from the regular "chain hotel' sort of experience.

It is a large stately old home that has been converted into a boutique hotel and is well located just outside the CBD, only about a 5 minute drive. The owners are a lovely couple who really strive to make your stay the best it can be.

Our room was on the top floor and had a nice little balcony overlooking the back garden area. It had a bit of a view of the hills beyond as well.

The bed was luxurious and very comfortable. The whole suite was very clean and nicely done with tasteful decor and nice modern touches. The bathroom was very nice and modern also.

The room has a mini fridge, love seat and tv but not much else, but we didn't need more than that. We were grateful to have free Wifi in the room, it is always an appreciated convenience.

The parking situation can be a little frustrating when full, for example after returning from dinner to find no place to park. It is not a big problem, but it is a little inconvenient when it's late and there is nobody around to ask where to park. Overall this is not a big complaint or anything, just something to be aware of.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again. It is not cheap, but in this case you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtinckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    33
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
166
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner and I have a developing love affair with Tasmania. We adore its natural beauty and are drawn to its gentle charm. Our experience at Clydesdale has further reinforced our glowing affections. Wayne and Lynne are generous and warm hosts. Helpful, charming and always ready to provide tips and suggestions, their tasteful style is imprinted on the delightful property they own and run. The rooms are comfortable and elegant. Although we visited in summer (yes, Hobart gets warm!) the bathroom has heated tiles and one can imagine how cosy Clydesdale would be when things get chilly. Located in lovely Sandy Bay, within accessible walking distance to Battery Point and Hobart, I would suggest a car would be handy if you want to trek elsewhere. There is amble parking on the property. We loved our stay and those breakfasts!! Wow! All that fantastic Tassie produce is in the hands of a genuine craftsman.

Room Tip: The upstairs room facing Mt Wellington is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerryPTatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just had a delightful stay at Clydesdale Manor ! It has been lovingly restored by friendly, thoughtful and generous hosts, Wayne and Lynne - and is soooo comfortable to stay in !!!! In an excellent location for walking, history and good food.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with an air conditioner, if you require a particular temperature to sleep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitzSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wayne and Lynne went out of their way to be helpful and friendly during my stay. When they found out I was there for my birthday they even gave me a small birthday gift! They provided lots of advice on my trip to MONA and other things to do in Hobart. The property was lovely - there was a beautiful study area that I had great intentions of using to work on my PhD but there was so much to do in Hobart that I never got around to it. I guess that means I'll have to go back some day! The location is good, far enough out of town that it feels B&Bish but an easy walk to Salamanca Place, the MONA ferry, etc. Almost directly opposite the University of Tasmania's main campus which was convenient as I had a meeting there during my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeghanB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Clydesdale Manor last year and can't wait to stay again.Lovely rooms , wonderful service and food.We hope to get back again this year ! Feels a bit special ! is is a nice walk to resturants and the markets.It is a lovely old building and has beautiful old world charm.

Room Tip: Take walking shoes and enjoy the walk to the markets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for three days in January 2013. Clydesdale Manor is a Heritage Property, so it has the high ceilings and large rooms of its era.
Our host Wayne welcomed us on arrival and we had a tour of the facilities. Our room faced Mt Wellington and was on the main road with great views. The windows are double glazed, so we felt as if we were in the wilderness and slept uninterrupted by noise.
Our room was the most beautiful shade of blue and very subtly decorated. This residence has had a lot of thought put into creating the right atmosphere and it has succeeded.
Our room was large, but the smaller rooms I glimpsed in passing were all also beautifully presented.
Cleanliness was excellent and we had a stocked bar fridge, large screen TV and CD player with CD's. The ensuite has floor heating for those cold Winter days.
We made use of the air conditioner and it kept us comfortable on hot days.
Breakfast is prepared by Lynn and Wayne and they do it well with a daily speciality - we had ham and egg parcels. There are also mueslis, breads, home-made jams, delicious home squeezed juices and fresh fruit and yoghurts - impossible to leave the dining room hungry!
Overall it was a relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnneGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at Clydesdale Manor after having spent several nights at The Henry Jones prior .... So we had been spoilt already and the Manor did not disappoint!
So loving restored the building is just wonderful. Lovely and light and bright ... with sympathetic furnishings and finishes that all came together with elegance and style.
I have to admit it was a lovely surprise to have a completely modern bathroom with a great shower and heated floor!! Some mod cons are hard to do without!
Exceptionally clean ... Immaculate in fact.
It's quite a way up Sandy Bay Rd ... But the real benefit is that out the back driveway you get straight onto the bay itself! The walk in and out of Battery Point helped work off some of the fabulous Tassie food we seems to be devouring hourly anyway! OMG ... Nanny Goat Lane!
Wayne and Lynne are the most perfect hosts - a talent rarely seen nowadays - but they do it with good grace and aplomb!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.0 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#8 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.8 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#1 of 46 in Hobart
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Manor

Property: Clydesdale Manor
Address: 292 Sandy Bay Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clydesdale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clydesdale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Manor Hobart, Tasmania
Clydesdale Manor Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing