We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sheer delight”
Review of Clydesdale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clydesdale Manor
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

If you are after something special this is THE place to stay! Wayne and Lynn are absolutely great hosts, the rooms are gorgeous and the breakfasts first class. Great local advice on what to see and do is also much welcomed. Great location close to town and the Derwent.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregalchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 277 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

After searching trip advisor, we decided to go with the Clydesdale Manor and we are so glad that we did. We are staying for 6 nights, with only 2 more nights left in our stay, we really don't want to leave. Wayne is a wealth of knowledge and cheer every morning, our room is kept spotless, the rooms are both warm in temperature and character and the manor smells of fresh lavender. As sometimes fussy travellers, my self and my partner cannot think of one thing to change about this place as we are very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen_ryan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

After the pricing variation at Islington we chose Clydesdale based on reviews as it was the second rated after Islington.

Wayne and Lynne are wonderful hosts and actually used to live on the north shore we we hail from. The accommodation was spotless and we felt so at home - it was just what we needed for a short break and we will certainly return, for longer next time!

Our Room was the Ground Floor Superior Room which was very spacious and had a great view of the mountain - we did nothear the trafific as they have double glazed and installed air conditioners to provide cool air.

After a leisurely, and sensational breakfast we left to explore MONA.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocelyn_h719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on our arrival to Hobart and I wish we could have stayed longer!
We were greeted in the car park by Lynne who showed us to the entrance where Wayne gave us a tour of the Manor.
The Manor and gardens are stunning and it is evident how much love and attention have gone into it. The location is terrific as it is only a short walk to the water, restaurants, shops and Battery Point.
Wayne and Lynne are genuine and warm people who made us feel very welcome and provided us with lots of helpful information on the area.
Our room was beautifully furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the ensuite is modern with heated floors.
Despite the busy location on Sandy Bay Road, it was very quiet with no traffic noise or noise from other rooms.
The perfect romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jloPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a great place to stay for the quality of the accommodation, and for its proximity to the centre of Hobart, Battery Point, and Sandy Bay with its shops and restaurants. It's about a 30 minute stroll to the CBD, and 20 minutes to Battery Point on foot.

We stayed in a spacious upstairs room with a roomy shower ensuite. The quality of the finishings and linen, the firm bed, and the atmospheric interior decoration were very pleasant. We were tired when we arrived, and were calmed by the quiet environment and air gently scented by quality oils. It's a small operation - with only six or seven rooms - so while there are other people about, it usually feels as if you have the place to yourself.

Hosts Lynne and Wayne, as previous reviewers have noted, are delightful and kind people. They were good to chat with, and helpful with advice. They remembered the small things that can make a stay something special - real attention to detail.

The breakfasts were great and we enjoyed the fresh and quality ingredients and plentiful coffee. We had some interesting chats with fellow guests, and then went on our way for the day.

The reason I didn't rate this place five stars is largely location. Our room faced the road, and there was quite a lot of road noise, to the extent that we didn't open the window. It was starting to get warm during our stay, and our preference is not to use aircon, so the room sometimes felt a bit stuffy, and we left the bathroom door open with the small bathroom window (placed on the side of the house) open for ventilation.

My other reservation is harder to articulate - maybe just an "atmosphere" thing. I prefer a slightly more characterful and informal environment - maybe something a bit more quirky (an overused word these days). For us, the subdued and low key style of the Clydesdale was not always "relaxing". But this really is a personal preference.

I would recommend Clydesdale for older travellers and couples wanting quality, low key accommodation. It would also be lovely as honeymoon accommodation, and it would be good for business travellers, happy to stay a bit outside the Hobart CBD. However, younger travellers looking for a bit of life would probably not enjoy it.

Room Tip: Remember the front rooms get road noise, but there is good noise insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay in Hobart great location, short walk to fantastic restaurants and shops
From the minute you arrive you can feel the comfort & love of this beautiful accommodation & friendly host. The place is very clean would certainly return
Highly recommend Monty’s on Montpelier fantastic restaurant close to Clydesdale

Room Tip: All rooms are quite, we stayed in the front of the house and even though facing the main road no sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sc0rpi060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A touch of class!

Wayne & Lynne are such wonderful hosts. Very helpful for us, having not visited Tasmania before we were grateful for their tips on places to stop and see on our travels.
Clydesdale Manor had all the 'little touches' not found everywhere. All very comfortable and private with a feeling of luxury. We only stayed one night, but would have been happy to stay longer - especially for another one of their unique home made breakfasts - at restaurant quality!

Wayne & Lynne were good company without being intrusive and more than happy to help with anything we required, like making dinner reservations for us. We would certainly recommend them to anyone and we hope to return and stay again. You wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
466 reviews
1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.8 mi away
Macquarie Manor
Macquarie Manor
#30 of 47 in Hobart
316 reviews
1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Manor

Address: 292 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $114 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clydesdale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Clydesdale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Manor Hobart, Tasmania
Clydesdale Manor Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing