We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail extraordinary”
Review of Clydesdale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clydesdale Manor
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Attention to detail extraordinary”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a great place to stay for the quality of the accommodation, and for its proximity to the centre of Hobart, Battery Point, and Sandy Bay with its shops and restaurants. It's about a 30 minute stroll to the CBD, and 20 minutes to Battery Point on foot.

We stayed in a spacious upstairs room with a roomy shower ensuite. The quality of the finishings and linen, the firm bed, and the atmospheric interior decoration were very pleasant. We were tired when we arrived, and were calmed by the quiet environment and air gently scented by quality oils. It's a small operation - with only six or seven rooms - so while there are other people about, it usually feels as if you have the place to yourself.

Hosts Lynne and Wayne, as previous reviewers have noted, are delightful and kind people. They were good to chat with, and helpful with advice. They remembered the small things that can make a stay something special - real attention to detail.

The breakfasts were great and we enjoyed the fresh and quality ingredients and plentiful coffee. We had some interesting chats with fellow guests, and then went on our way for the day.

The reason I didn't rate this place five stars is largely location. Our room faced the road, and there was quite a lot of road noise, to the extent that we didn't open the window. It was starting to get warm during our stay, and our preference is not to use aircon, so the room sometimes felt a bit stuffy, and we left the bathroom door open with the small bathroom window (placed on the side of the house) open for ventilation.

My other reservation is harder to articulate - maybe just an "atmosphere" thing. I prefer a slightly more characterful and informal environment - maybe something a bit more quirky (an overused word these days). For us, the subdued and low key style of the Clydesdale was not always "relaxing". But this really is a personal preference.

I would recommend Clydesdale for older travellers and couples wanting quality, low key accommodation. It would also be lovely as honeymoon accommodation, and it would be good for business travellers, happy to stay a bit outside the Hobart CBD. However, younger travellers looking for a bit of life would probably not enjoy it.

Room Tip: Remember the front rooms get road noise, but there is good noise insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    47
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
192
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay in Hobart great location, short walk to fantastic restaurants and shops
From the minute you arrive you can feel the comfort & love of this beautiful accommodation & friendly host. The place is very clean would certainly return
Highly recommend Monty’s on Montpelier fantastic restaurant close to Clydesdale

Room Tip: All rooms are quite, we stayed in the front of the house and even though facing the main road no sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc0rpi060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A touch of class!

Wayne & Lynne are such wonderful hosts. Very helpful for us, having not visited Tasmania before we were grateful for their tips on places to stop and see on our travels.
Clydesdale Manor had all the 'little touches' not found everywhere. All very comfortable and private with a feeling of luxury. We only stayed one night, but would have been happy to stay longer - especially for another one of their unique home made breakfasts - at restaurant quality!

Wayne & Lynne were good company without being intrusive and more than happy to help with anything we required, like making dinner reservations for us. We would certainly recommend them to anyone and we hope to return and stay again. You wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in the Superior Ground Floor room. The room was a simple, yet nicely decorated. The bathroom had wonderful heating and everything seems new. Wayne was so kind as to help us with our luggage and was caring and warm :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mentos88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My fiancé and I spent 2 nights at the Manor and we loved the place!! Wayne and Lynne, the hosts, were very helpful from the time we booked to the day we left. They advised us on choosing great places to dine and visit. The Manor is just a beautiful place to stay!! I do not know where to start. A beautiful building kept spotlessly clean, inviting atmosphere, tastefully decorated, charming back garden and a breakfast room looking at the garden are just a few of the things that could be said. However, the most impressive point was the beautiful manner of the hosts, somehow you felt this sense of privacy and at the same time they were there whenever you needed them. I could go on and on but the only way to fully appreciate this place is to visit it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Even before we arrived, Wayne and Lynne were providing recommendations to us that would shape and make our Tasmania stay very special indeed. Upon arrival, we were blown away by what is probably the best B&B we have been to. An absolute spotless B&B with perfectly appointed rooms, sitting room (with log fire) and breakfast area. Wonderful location and the best hosts we have had on any of our stays over the past few years at least.

Thank you Wayne and Lynne and may your B&B continue to be a true gem of the Tasmanian tourism industry!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our stay at Clydesdale was excellent. The room was clean, tidy, spacious. It was cleaned and vacuumed daily throughout our stay. The bathroom was the one of the best of any hotel we stayed in (and we stayed in many). The water pressure was excellent and floor heating a delight. But the best thing were our hosts Lynne and Wayne. They pointed us towards best restaurants in the area as well as tourist spots and little hidden gems. Also walking distance to Salamanca was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popal841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
514 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macquarie Manor
Macquarie Manor
#30 of 48 in Hobart
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Manor

Property: Clydesdale Manor
Address: 292 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clydesdale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clydesdale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Manor Hobart, Tasmania
Clydesdale Manor Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing