We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can see the view change minute by minute.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Nelson Lookout

Mount Nelson Lookout
Ranked #11 of 133 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You can see the view change minute by minute.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Came to the Lookout on a cool and rainy day. The sun came out in bursts and this was reflected in an everchanging view. Quite stunning to watch. Unfortunately, we didn't eat at the cafe, but the aromas were heavenly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reets666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    180
    37
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We haven't been there for 30 years. Love the lookout building with info that is now there Nice to be able to stand there out of the wind and enjoy the view. Worth the drive up. A must do

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank judy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Avoid at all costs the staff were unfriendly and the service was not great . The rooms were stuffy and when we complained we were told that there would be a extra charge to have us moved .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank beno05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quiet and cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

A bit different from Mt Wellington but still pretty nice
You get to see how the Harbour Master used to communicate in the old days and there's a lovely picnic spot around. There's also a nice cafe on the corner
Great spot with kids

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruicaricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great views and location but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is much easier to get to than Mount Wellington (which can be cold and windy) and has an excellent view of the channel, and is very accessible for old people. Food excellent but if you are a penny-pinching retiree like me, go for morning or afternoon tea - it is more within my budget!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Nelson Lookout also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Mount Nelson Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing