We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed February 2, 2013

the room was dingy ,dirty and noisy. the shower was awful the shower rose kept falling down when the water was turned on had to hold it with one hand while had shower. the only convience was the location. would not stay there ever again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaylene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 291 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We weren't expecting much from the Midcity, as it was the only hotel in Hobart with rooms available over the new year period when we booked in October. But I really enjoyed my stay there. The location is perfect, walking distance to the harbour and Salamanca, the shopping mall, Woolworths and all the shops and restaurants in the city. The rooms are clean, comfortable and fairly spacious. There was a table and chairs, which I really appreciate so you don't always have to sit on your bed. Parking is included. There were a couple of negatives. We stayed for 4 nights and the room was barely serviced in that time - I'm pretty sure the cleaners were coming into the room, but I'm not sure what they did. The beds weren't ever made, we had the same towels for the whole stay, we had to collect toilet paper from the front desk because it wasn't restocked and the bin wasn't cleared every day. My friend who is a light sleeper was woken during the night by noisy water pipes, but it didn't wake me. It was pretty expensive ($220/night) for the standard, but I think that was because we were staying over the new year period.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BContour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was very clean, the staff were very good & helpful. I found my floor was a bit noisy, I could hear people using their taps & showers. The hotel is an excellent position, Walking distance to the mall and the docks and Markets.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iammadabouttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. A bit of a walk from the docks but that meant we saw more of Hobart's shopping area than we might have otherwise. Yes the building is a little jaded but the room was clean, a comfortable bed, the bathroom a good size, and best of all quiet. In fact we slept through a major fire one block away! If you can get the room for one of it's cheaper rates it's a good alternative to the over priced hotels on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We checked in to the Midcity for one night on the 02nd January. The checkin was very smooth and the reservation clerk very nice, very helpful and polite (Bob). We went to our room which we found comfortable but basic, which was all we wanted for a one night stay, especially after driving so long during the day. We really wanted somewhere to put our feet up before continuing our Tasmania journey the next day. We were deilighted that they had a bath which we could soak in and relax. That is where our good experiences ended!!!!
Turning on the bath and going back later we found it full of brown dirty water ful of sediment (see photos). Disgusting!! We took some photos and immediatley went down to report it. The reservation clerk was very apologetic and told us he would advise someone immediately. We waited for his response. When it came it was far from satisfactory, telling us that there had been problems with the plumbing and water, and we were simply told to run the water again, and refill the bath. To do this we would need to clean the bath which when emptied formed a greasy scum.
We had not checked into a Hotel to have to clean the bath!!
We left it as it was and couldn't wait to check out the next morning, vowing of course to never go back.
Basic hotels I have no problems with as long as they are clean and comfortable, however I do draw the line at having to clean as a solution to a problem. Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere, Hobart has too many other Hotels to put up with this sort of customer service.

Room Tip: Avoid the bath! Thank god we didn't see what was coming from the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was in a great location, the staff were helpful and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Parking is available on site which is a plus. We enjoyed our stay and would go back and stay in this hotel next time we are in Hobart.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 000CST000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very central location in Hobart, easy walk to the waterfront. A bit tired but served our purpose for two nights. FYI there seemed to be something big going on in Hobart at the time as many of the spots recommended by friends had no vacancy. The breakfast restaurant was good and we found the parking easy for us not used to driving on the other side of the road. There was a rather flimsy toilet seat but that seemed to be a standard thing in other hotels in the same chain. The Internet is pay for use again it seems the rule rather than the exception in Australia and New Zealand so get used to it North Americans. This Internet connection was the weirdest though. You had to connect to the Internet and pay with a credit card ( no problem as is customary - but then they sent you an email with the code. Problem of course is that you can not access the internet to get into your email. OOPS!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMHBJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.1 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#31 of 47 in Hobart
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#36 of 47 in Hobart
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#24 of 47 in Hobart
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#16 of 47 in Hobart
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity

Address: Cnr. Elizabeth & Bathurst Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: $88 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing