We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,128 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

It is hard to stay within my travel budget in Aus these days. But this hotel came up when searching for a spot. The price was such that I could stay under the radar with regard to expenses but also get some frequent stay points. It turned outo to be one of those "get what you pay for" places. The rooms were decent enough and the breakfast was not bad. All in all, it is OK for the money but you certainly wish you could upgrade while you are there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    88
    96
    48
    28
See reviews for
42
113
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel gave us out of date milk, which was off and seemed confused about what to do when we called down and wanted it replaced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This place is a creepy dump, with plenty of nasty secrets lurking in corners. If you're looking for budget not cheap, then steer clear. Yes, it is in town and not far from stuff, but there are plenty of accommodation options which meet that criteria.

Room Tip: Choose one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PollyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in early May. Booked through Hotel Club. The location was very good and easy walking distance to Constitution Dock and Salamanca. The place could really do with a refurbishment which probably made it appear dirtier than what it was (because it was pretty clean). The room was small but I don't mind small rooms. My biggest issue was the noise. You could easily hear people above using the bathroom or even the TV next door. And on the Sunday night the pub across the road has a band playing so if you wanted peace and quiet it didn't have it. Although that was on the side I stayed. I am not sure about staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwillyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Booked on wotif and paid 115 a night. was told this place had undergone a revamp.i was wrong. the place is a rundown tip. We were looking to have a afternoon nap after a long flight we got to our 1960's looking hotel room laid on the rock hard bed was about to fall asleep and then bam for the next 3hours someone was drilling directly above our head so no chance of sleep.

Went out about 11 45 pp to go sample the 24hr salamanaca bakehouse(highly recommend) only to find the carpark locked and shut so had to park on the street where i then receive a parking ticket. How can you lock people in or out of the hotel carpark? if its a security measure whats the point of the boom gate.

Anyway we finally got some sleep only to be awoken by someone in my room at 8am ..... a housemaid laughing until she saw us and all she says is "S*** Sorry"

Find elsewhere guys , there are nicer places in hobart

Room Tip: Not on the top floor to ensure you dont experience drilling noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuiec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The hotel was ok, our room had been redecorated but the halls and lobby are quite dated. It is a fairly basic hotel but was clean and adequate for us. We got a mystery deal on this hotel, so it was $105 per night - we used the savings to eat out in Hobart. We liked the location, as we could walk to everything - shops very close and 10 minutes stroll to waterfront and Salamanca.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KERRYGAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
660 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

I used 25,000 points to stay here for one night and would not recommend it. The room was dirty and felt very unclean. A mistake in my opinion. Thought I had booked a room with breakfast included but was not given and the staff had a big problem getting the points rate valid.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Hobart
Central Hotel Hobart
#36 of 48 in Hobart
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
1.1 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#33 of 48 in Hobart
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#22 of 48 in Hobart
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#19 of 48 in Hobart
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity

Property: Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Address: Cnr. Elizabeth & Bathurst Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing