We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Look no further......Outstanding Apartment!”
other travelers have booked this property
Built in 1837, this is one of Australia's most historic houses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Built in 1837, this is one of Australia's most historic houses
Large lounge dining kitchenette area Courtyard with separate entrance to apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Built in 1837, this is one of Australia's most historic houses
Large lounge dining kitchenette area
Courtyard with separate entrance to apartment
Main bathroom with shower and stone bath
Peaceful street
View from the lounge
Spacious lounge with dining area/kitchenette
Twin-bedded bedroom with ensuite shower room
Twin-bedded bedroom, roll-away trundle bed and ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Queen sized double bedroom
c1900
Pleasant river views
Extensive gardens in view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TrippyTra...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look no further......Outstanding Apartment!”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The four seperate apartments located within this one property were all of outstanding quality. As a large group we occupied all the apartments and they were all at the same high standard.

Beds - All mattresses were comfortable with hotel grade luxury sheet/bedding. Beds can be configured into singles in some rooms with murphy beds also available in some apartment rooms.

Bathrooms - Sukin Organic Body wash, Shampoo and Conditioner were supplied in all bathrooms. There was underfloor heating and hotel grade towels which sit on a heated towel railing, perfect for the cooler evenings.

Kitchen/Living Areas - All kitchenettes contained milk, orange juice, tea/coffee/sugar, packet of biscuits, bottle of wine and chocolate......this gesture was gratefully welcomed and added that extra touch of personalised service to our stay.

All rooms are controlled by thermostat heating and was lovely on the chilly nights we needed it. All apartments were spotless clean and the gardens well maintained. In an outhouse there is a communal washing machine and dryer.

This property is located within a 5 - 10 minute walk to supermarket and chemist, pub/hotels and restaurants/fast food take away and being centrally located easy walking to Salamanca Markets, Docks and various delicious cafes and restaurants.

Do not miss visiting MONA (Muesum of Old and New Art) and take the ferry there it's a beautiful, fast, non rocky ride. Port Arthur is a hotpot of history and life in a penal town......and don't miss a breakfast at Harbour Lights.

Not one of our 12 person party had any negatives to say, only glowing comments and with promises to stay again....plus the people of Tassie were exceptionally friendly :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location, convenient and views.”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A perfect experience in a large self-contained apartment. Tastefully decorated and well equipped. Very comfortable and welcoming. Kitchen handles breakfast and snacks only, but there are excellent eateries close by for eat in and take away meals. There are laundry facilities, off street parking and comfy beds and storage etc. An outstanding place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
Thanks for your positive comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay - I'm just updating my Eating Out Guide now so there'll be more places to experience for breakfast, lunch and dinner!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen I
1 review
“Old school house”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

just spent 5 nights here with my dad and his wife and we loved it, fantastic history and lovely accommomidation highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
Thank you for your positive comments. We enjoy the history of our property and are so glad to be able to share it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbFromO...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Historic Luxury”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A wonderful base of operations in Hobart, this first-floor apartment was warm, spotless and had very high end fittings and appointments. The beds were comfortable, the view from the dining table past Wrest Point and over the water was superb and the entertainment system was the icing on the cake.

Rebecca was a charming and helpful host, and her cheerful assistance with some problems we had was greatly appreciated.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Lovely to host this group. Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martyjoe
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Supurb boutique property in Sandy Bay”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Spacious, luxurious and with a wonderful sense of serenity. First impressions count and that is what we had when we arrived at the Old Bishop's quarters. We had the Old Housekeepers apartment (2 br, 2 bathroom) - absolutely superb!

Although not being greeted on arrival Dermott quickly sprung into action and all was good. There is on site off street parking (very important in this location due to rascally but diligent parking inspectors), underfloor heating, modern amenities and space, oh beautiful space to spread out and relax. Smart TV, Sonos music and an ipad for guest use are excellent touches. There are also laundry facilities.

For the same price as a downtown hotel you can have all this and absolute uninterrupted privacy, but still walk to Salamanca, Sandy Bay Road restaurants and even the Elizabeth Street pier if you are feeling adventurous.

I actually loved the history behind this old property, and with military in my background I especially appreciated the property's relationship with Field Marshall Bernard (our Aussie troops called him Bernie) Montgomery, who was educated in Tasmania and lived in this property before his significant role in North Africa in WWII.

Sadly we did not get to meet Rebecca, however we really did love our stay and will stay there again if possible on our next trip to Hobart.

PS - did I mention the views from our windows - fabulous .......

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Thanks for your great review. I'll make sure I'm home when you visit again so that we can meet. Kind regards Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki D
1 review
“Comfy, quality, great views & great location.”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Comfy, Quality, great location (walking distance to city) & great views.
On site washing facilities, onsite off street parking, central heating for winter comfort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Thanks Vicki for your review. Glad you enjoyed you stay with us. Kind regards Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrummerV
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, well appointed apartment aside the main historic grand home”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely spacious apartment, warm cosy & comfy with quality furnishings. About a 20 min stroll to Salamanca Place and handy for walks around Battery Point. Great view from the living room area. Kids loved the Netflix/Spotify access and the ensuite bathroom. As a family, we usually like a cooktop for some meals but it was worth going without for the stay in this historic home. Thanks to hosts Bec and Dermot & family – We hope to stay again one day.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Thanks for you review. You're correct there is no cook top or oven within the apartments themselves. This is stated in the apartment description. However we do have BBQ facilities for each of our apartments and a portable stovetop is available for guest us in our OutHouse which also has washing machine and clothes dryer facilities. Many thanks for you feedback. Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing