We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying with Tildy is like visiting a relative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astor Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I have travelled all over the world and have never had a most warm and friendly host as Tildy. She truly makes you feel like you are a guest in her home. I know this statement is used in marketing a lot but in this case it rings true. She is a very nice and happy person and is genuinely interested in you and your travels. The foyer has flowers and cards in it all sent to Tildy thanking her for her hospitality. I have never seen that anywhere. There are not many places in the world that you can check out of and feel like you are leaving a kindly relative.
The hotel is an old 1920's building and has a lot of character. Don't expect a modern white and beige standard hotel fit out. Don't expect soulless décor. The building is old and original. I think the website says the rooms were upgraded in the 1930's. Its great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 303 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The Astor Private Hotel is clean, smells like rOses, is centrally located, offers a nice continental breakfast, parking (at rear) and, most importantly, your hOst, Tildy is incredibly hospitable, entertaining and totally addictive toO!

I stayed four nights, rafted the incredibly beautiful 'mighty' Franklin River for ten days and returned to Tildy's Palace for another two nights. By the way, it's a MUST to raft the Franklin w. 'Water By Nature' as it's the most amazing expedition that I have ever experienced. Primarily, I stayed at Tildy's because that's where the raft meets, leaves from and returns too. Although, now that I know Tildy and the central location of her Hotel, "... I'll be back"! :)

So, when you're next in Hobart, do as I did as I never stopped laughing, had a top time both in the Hotel and nearby in the City Centre, Salamanca Markets and disembarking on various cruise trips and the Mona Catarmaran.

"... Here's cheers to 'Tildy' and the Astor"! xO

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KC0llins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for several nights before and after a hiking trip - a couple of nights in one of the double rooms and then a couple of nights in one of the larger rooms. Tildy was a helpful and hilarious host - the rooms are great value and the hotel is very centrally located.

There is some guest parking at the back of the hotel - not sure whether spots have to be booked etc. There is plenty of parking around the hotel - free overnight.

My only complaint would be that the hotel is not very soundproof - one of the rooms I had was near the shared toilet and I could clearly hear the goings on and the door being left to slam shut. If I stayed there again, I'd request one of the back rooms that is furthest from the bathroom. Additionally, people talking outside my door quite late one night was a bit annoying.

On the whole, great value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

On the whol

Room Tip: Rooms set back from the street and away from the shared toilet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

we stayed three night at "Tildy's castle" in Hobart. The hotel is in easy walking distance to all city attraction in Hobart, especially Salamanca market. Tildy is a great host and gives you all sort of advices about what to do in Hobart. The only thing you have to know is that there are no free parking spaces around the hotel. Just in case you want to hire a car. The hotel has a free Wifi. The room was huge (Queen room en suite) and clean. It was just a perfect stay and definetely a very good price for the value. We can recommend that!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Wonderful, warm and welcoming. This is Tildy - will bend over backwards for you (while calling it as she sees it!). Organise postage of items unable to be carried on board our flight - cheese knives etc. Will give recommendations of the best places to see, do and when. Accommodation has been maintained to the era in which it was built, but added comfort of the latest beds and modern (ensuite) bathrooms. Neat and tidy with loads of character. Have a read of newspapers from the 30s sitting in big old couches. Simple breakfast (cereal, toast etc), but that leaves you to explore the wonderful cuisines of Hobart. Close to everything - docks, markets and city centre. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAJS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stopped at the Astor on what turned out to be the coldest wettest November weekend in Hobart since the settlers arrived!!! This was not ideal when considering the main reason for being in Hobart was to watch the Australia A v England cricket match!!!!
The hotel is well located, right in the centre of Hobart close to Salamanca and the seafront. It has character and was very clean and tidy. Tildy was welcoming, helpful and friendly (but to the point!!!) which makes a change from some of these global hotel chains!!!!

Room Tip: We went for rooms with a shower in, probably not necessary as there are plenty of showers out in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whiteensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My daughter did the research and found this in minutes on Trip Advisor. You need to be the type that can handle shared bathroom facilities, which somehow works, since I never saw anyone else using the bathrooms or toilets. The key to this place is the lady who runs it - I think her name is Tildey. She is straight off the theatre stage. Larger than life and a hoot with all her Australianisms, some I have not heard since I was a kid. She told me "I am about as oudoor as a chandelier". The rooms are spartan but all you need. Pricing is therefore on the low side and great value, since it includes a light reakfats. The other guests I saw looked like high earners so the reason they are there isn't price. Tildey told me they even have regulars from overseas. The restaurant in the hotel is very good, location is about as good as you can get with plenty of parking. Tildey has an eye for errant cheese buyers like me and quickly re-packed my Tassie cheeses (a must try!!) for the refrigerator. I think for foreign guests you would count a stay here as some of the best accommodation experiences you will ever have in Australia. Ask her a hard question and expect a detailed response, with jokes. Some of the rooms are on the road near some noisy bars, so you might ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Rooms along the side road will be subject to some noise from a nearby bar or night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mister8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Hobart
Ibis Styles Hobart
#17 of 47 in Hobart
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Private Hotel

Address: 157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: $93 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Astor Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astor Private
Astor Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing