We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy real Hobart hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astor Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Large gilded mirrors, richly decorated carpet, a heavy carved staircase, an old fashioned lift for luggage and decorative wood panels lend an almost Titanic feel to this charming hotel. And then there's Tildy to remind you that in the 21st century, if you're lucky enough, you can still encounter hospitality, true to its original intentions. For the visitor, this city is a lot about heritage and history - and the Astor adds to the total experience. I was fortunate to stay in both the economy rooms with shared bathroom and the comparatively palatial Ensuite at the other end. Both were fantastic value. My earplugs were my best friends when I got the window "seat", and because they worked, traffic "noise" did not bother me. The location is fantastic. Fresh towels, healthy and sufficient brekky, and a chat with Tildy made for a wonderful time.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Comfortzone2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 303 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

Oldy-worldy boutique hotel in central hobart, great location, just around the corner from salamanca place and walkable to local restaurants, and 5 minutes from car hire places. Has a lovely communitarian feel about it, thanks to the hotel manager, Tildy who sees that all is right! A bit noisy in the front room if you're a light sleeper, but a beautiful room none the less full of old world charm. Get away from the musak and sterility of the novotels, this is the place to stay in Hobart.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargyO27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

So like me you are somewhat jaded with chain hotels the Astor is a great friendly and extremely comfortable stay .

Room Tip: spend a little extra for on suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The reviews on TA certainly swayed me to choose the Astor for our 2 night stay while driving around Tasmania in April. We were more than happy with our choice for many reasons.
The location is sensational. Streets away from the Salamanca markets which meant an easy walk to restaurants at night as well. The markets are wonderful.
Tildy, the manager is fantastic at replying to your emails and as she lives there and can assist you in many ways. She is definitely a bright spark!
If you're driving, there are 5 car parks at the back so first in, first serve.
The En Suite room was so lovely as it has high ceilings and is renovated nicely and in a modern style while maintaining an old world feel. The bathroom was fine even though the hot water takes a while to get through.
However, if you're a light sleeper, the noise from the traffic may affect you. The road is quite a busy one so you do hear traffic unless you can wear earplugs. It didn't worry hubby at all and most noise was mufffled through my earplugs. I slept fine despite this.
Breakfast was good with cereal and toast and you make you own cup of tea or coffee. You can take your own provisions if you have special diets. All very casual.
I would definitely stay here again as it really was a great location and you can talk to others at breakfast if you wish to find out about places to visit. Their rates are excellent.

Room Tip: The front rooms are large with beautiful high ceilings but you may hear the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Very amazing place with old furniture & switches, but all still in perfect working condition. Step through the front door and the smell of home takes over you - excellent host Tildy ensures all your queries & needs are met (might even give a discount!) and mingles with guests every morning over breakfast, very charming personality. She's a little hard on hearing so don't take it to heart if she doesn't respond, speak louder!

Breakfast was simple cereal, tea/coffee, toast & crackers but more than enough to start our day properly energised. Location is in the middle of everything, you can walk everywhere! We're never staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank triciaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Good value for money, Tildy is on the premises 24/7 to inform you of all there is to see in Hobart and the surrounds.,
Very close walk to everything. Make sure you go up to Mt. Wellington if it is a clear day - "Stunning view".
She is always at breakfast each morning to greet her Guests, nice touch. My only concern was the Queen Ensuite room should be booked with this kept in mind, the rooms are quite small and from the bed there is not much privacy to the toilet area,!! (Glass that complete shillouette can be seen),, minor but in Tassie they need to upgrade most of the TV's to the 21st Century .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in a room with a double bed and shared ensuite. It was very clean and comfortable, and in an excellent location. The manager, Tildy, was very helpful and lots of fun. We highly recommend this unique hotel, and will definitely stay there if we visit Hobart again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_wanderer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Hobart
Ibis Styles Hobart
#17 of 47 in Hobart
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Private Hotel

Address: 157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: $89 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Astor Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astor Private
Astor Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing