We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything one could ask for, such a nice b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2007

On our Tassie trip last August, we picked EGB&B for our Hobart days and never regret. Our room was spacious, clean and warm. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with all our requests for information. Kudos to you both, David and Penelope!

Breakfast was ample. There's a painting I loved in the living room with a girl laying down in a tiny boat on dark, dark water. We stayed for 2 nights then left for Lake St. Clair national park.

I highly recommend this lovely place for anyone looking for a b&b type accommodation in Hobart!

Klos and Dane from BKK, THAILAND

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SONGsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 152 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2007

A comfortable room with loads of space with a separate enlosed verandah area with relaxing chairs and very clean.

The bathroom was very small and oddly the arrangement of the outside verandah was such that the floor sloped in one direction which made showering fun!. The shower was also low down and the facilities in the bathroom a bit tired and old but clean enough.

Definetly a very quirky B&B, with our room having a large 1950's blue and black leather bed head and matching dressing table. The bed was also covered in a fur bedspread and the rest of the soft furnishings were leapord print. So definetly something for those who like things a bit different!

Breakfast was a good range, fresh and well presented although a serve yourself set up.

Overall, comfortable and clean, but definetly very odd !!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank heieup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
18
Reviewed June 9, 2006

I couldn't have stayed in a better place for my first visit to Tasmania. I loved the artwork and the personality of EG B&B. I was made to feel very welcome and found Penelope and David happy to provide me with advice about my trip, as well as general conversation. I felt very at home and loved the fact that it didn't have the formal atmosphere of a hotel. I met some interesting people over the breakfast table, while enjoying delicious food...
Very close to everything, I thought. Short walk to Salamanca Place and Hobart city itself, and also around the corner from the depot where you get the shuttle bus to the airport.
Can't wait to get back to Hobart and take some friends to stay here. I will definitely be back! Stacey

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2006

There is nothing better than staying at something small and unique, to find they're also very welcoming to our children (9 and 5yr). The room was perfect, having a seperate double bed from the two single beds (sometimes very hard to find travelling with kids). Shared bathroom and toilets, which was just fine as they had a few of each and they were spotless..love that. Art work everywhere, beautiful floor boards, stylish breakfast, with our girls having a ball sitting at the long table chatting away with other friendly guests. Nice atmosphere here. Owner great for a chat, though my girls gave him a run for his money!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aussieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2005

It's a little while since I stayed at the Edinburgh Gallery but I enjoyed it so much that when I found that no-one else had reviewed it, I had to rectify the situation.

I arrived late at night but was warmly welcomed at the front door by friends of the owners who were managing while the owners had a break. There were several works of art in the entrance hall and at the top of the stairs which set the tone - arty, quirky but friendly.

My room was enormous with a separate enclosed verandah and bathroom. The decor was a wonderful mix of 60's pieces and more classic furniture with a magnificent painting above the bed. There were tea and coffee making facilities, magazines, tv - all the comforts of home in a much more stylish setting!

Breakfast was included in the very reasonable room rate and was served at a long table in the kitchen downstairs. Everything was lovely, the choice of breads, cheeses, meats, toppings, teas - just perfect. The managers sat with me and talked which I enjoyed but I'm sure you can have as much or as little conversation as you want.

The position is very central and within walking distance of various sights.

Overall, an excellent experience that I can recommend highly to those who like something a little out of the ordinary but still comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank jansy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DorisKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jcyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
1,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 211 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: $77 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast your "Home away from home", I'm John your host. Rated 3 1/2 star Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast offers moderately priced accommodation with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and free continental breakfast, right in the heart of Hobart easy walking distance from everything. My bed & Breakfast is in a grand Edwardian/Federation house built in 1908 and is full of retro furnishings. It has 9 spacious majestically proportioned rooms, five with ensuites and four with shared bathroom facilities. Throughout the building there are high ceilings, sweeping staircases and stacks of old world charm. Each room is individually decorated in a distinctive "hip-heritage" style and all rooms have a television, bar fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities. Since taking over the business in April 2014 I have provided new doonas and pillows, high standard professionally laundered linen as well as electric blankets all round and loads of spare blankets in the cupboard. Our breakfast room with adjoining cafe` is available throughout the day and night and is well stocked with a good range of cereals and breads (including gluten free), as well as fresh jams, honey and peanut butter from the local farmer's market. The breakfast room provides the opportunity to meet other guests and many a warm conversation has been had here in the relaxed "make yourself at home" atmosphere. Our guest lounge has television with DVD and a wide range of DVDs on hand. Free Wi-Fi is available. Paintings and interesting artifacts are on display throughout the house. There is free car parking behind the house so you can leave your car and explore the city on foot - the CBD and historic tourist precincts - SalamancaPlace and Market, Constitution Dock and Battery Point, the waterfront art and craft galleries and restaurants; the Museum and Art Gallery are all an easy walk. Its two minutes' walk to the Transit Centre and the Airport shuttle stops at the door. Edinburgh Galley B & B caters for couples, singles, families and is gay-friendly. Attractions Rated 3.5 star with 9 rooms, 10 minute walk from CBD, Salamanca Waterfront area, Museum, Art Gallery & Battery Point. Multiple restaurants nearby. Short drive to Mount Wellington, Cascade Brewery, Female Factory, Royal Botanical Gardens, Cadbury Chocolate Factory & MONA (Museum of Old & New Art). Central location makes it ideal to day trip to Port Arthur, Historic Richmond & Bruny Island Location From Airport proceed South towards Hobart along the Tasman Highway. On arrival in the town centre the highway becomes a one way street known as Davey Street. Macquarie St is the parallel one way street going the opposite direction. Proceed along Davey St till you see the Soho pub this is Molle St, turn right, cross over Macquarie which is the next street & take the first driveway to you right to enter the rear parking of the B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Gallery Hotel Hobart
Edinburgh Gallery b&b
Edinburgh Gallery Bed And Breakfast Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing