We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Melbourne
1 review
“Excellent Location, good B&B”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I stayed there 3 nights with my partner. I particularly appreciated the location : 15 mininutes walk to the CBD that's just perfect. I like the help-yourself breakfast arrangement. It has a shared kitchen and dining area plus small area for atching TV, felt like a guesthouse. Free parking out the back is a bonus.The room was nice, especially the bathroom which was quite big.The rooms had a large queen bed, two seater couch, day bed large wardrobe and plenty of space.The decor was definitely special! The bathroom was clean and functional. Overall, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    57
    20
    19
    14
See reviews for
26
52
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I stayed at the Edinburgh Gallery B&B throughout my five nights in Hobart and here's a few things I'd like to share.

1. Breakfast
- Yes, the claim is that breakfast is included. But expect none, and you will be glad to find some if you wake up earlier than the other patrons. In any case, it was just some bread, jam, cheese and ham - all stuff that shouts cheap. Consolation is that there's free flow of milk, cereal, milo, coffee and tea throughout the day, so you can make a cuppa milo at night or something, and it's free.

2. Accommodation Expectations
- Think of this as a backpackers and you'd be in for a treat because it is definitely a lot better than that, and not at all shabby for the price we paid (although we'd attribute it to low season rates as well). I stayed in a room for two that consists of two single beds and toilets were two floors up ($50 per night for two pax).

3. Service
- I did not call to have my room made up throughout my stay there. In any case, there was no staff at the reception 99% of the time. Apart from having the staff show me the room when I was there, my stay there felt like I rented a room in a sharehouse as opposed to staying in a B&B.

Overall, I would have given this accommodation an Excellent if not for the fact that the breakfast was dismal and I could do with a little Tasmanian hospitality.
A Very Good rating is given considering its fantastic location (walk-able distance to Cascades brewery, female factory, Louisa's walk, CBD, Salamanca market, art museum etc.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qlimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Electric blanket not working (others had same problem that we talked to at breakfast), free "upgrade" that wasn't requested, room draughty via "arctic" bathroom, not enough food for breakfast, no coffee, no butter, manager would not accept complaint or allow us to speak to the owner, manager advised "what do you expect for the money?", receipt was not provided for cash payment on check in (wonder if the owner got the$), some rooms very noisy, nice old building in a good position to walk into town, none of the guests could raise the young Chinese managers in the morning ......... Lost us and our network of potential customers and probably a few more from the people we talked to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I stayed at the Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast in late May 2010. It was the first time I have stayed at a B&B and I must say, I was disappointed from the outset.

On arrival, I went to the front door and rang the doorbell three times - no response. I then called the contact number three times, no answer. Finally after my third try my call was returned and I was let inside. I was advised the doorbell doesn't work properly (um, perhaps you should spring for a new one then??).

I was shown my room and the breakfast facilities. In the morning I went to breakfast expecting (as advertised on the B&B's website): poached fruit, yoghurt, local Tasmanian produce, cereals, a cheese platter, locally made crumpets/breads/pastries, freshly brewed coffee and a selection of teas and fresh juice. What was actually provided: a dodgy platter made up of a selection of cheap olives, cheap salami and ham and cheese that looked as if it came directly from the supermarket shelves. Bread, cereals, orange juice. No fruit. No yoghurt. No pastries. No crumpets. Definitely no "local Tasmanian produce". On the upside, soy milk had been provided as I requested.

I left out the "Please Make Up My Room" sign the first morning of my stay. Right. The bed was half made (doona pulled up over crumpled sheet, that's it), the dirty cups I had used for tea and water glasses were left in the room, the empty toilet paper was not refilled and fresh towels were not supplied - the one I had used was simply folded up damp and left on my bed. Gee, thanks. Needless to say I did not bother to ask for my room to be "Made Up" again.

Finally, no-one is ever in Reception. Not in the morning, not in the afternoon, not in the evening. There is a bell to press for assistance, but given my original issues with the front doorbell, I don't know how much use it would be!

Overall, I was quite disappointed and I think this B&B is over priced for what you get. The "communal lounge/TV room" had no heating, so why would anyone use it for socialising? There were TV's supplied in room, but this doesn't really encourage interaction with anyone, which I thought a B&B would be more about as opposed to a hotel.

I would also agree with other reviewers in that the street noise is quite loud, particularly as the windows do not seal properly.

I will not return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishkaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2010

I usually stay in hotels so I didn't have any firm expectations about what a B&B provides. Here at Edinburgh Gallery I was pleasantly surprised. And if this is the norm for a B&B I will say it is a cross between a hotel and a hostel with costing also between the two.When I arrived I was shown the communal kitchen where a continental breakfast is served, and my room (I love it when I am shown my room - as this doesn't tend to happen that often).

It is a old style 2 level house complete with creaky stairs and stained floors, and has some really funky modern artwork on the walls.

The kitchen is well equipped with modern equipment and all communal areas were clean.

The Edinburgh Gallery is located at the top end of Macquarie St (where the CBD is located more around the bottom end and around Elizabeth St) but even so it is an easy 15 minute walk to the Elizabeth St area and about the same to the lovely Salamanca Square and market.

I really enjoyed my stay here - you won't necessarily see the staff much, (well I didn't in my 3 night stay) but you don't really need to. It is clean, good value for money, with a good location.

There are a couple of niggly things, as the hall way is not carpeted, the doors are not very solid and the gap in the bottom of the doors is quite big, it is quite easy to hear people coming and going. And the traffic noise can get quite loud especially if you have the windows open, but these can be overcome with ear plugs. I visited in April and it was a little cold in the rooms so I imagine it would be really cold if you visited in Winter.

Overall I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeRaeInSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Great value B&B located close to Hobart CBD (but still a fair walk from the action). Our room was charming, bed was so so comfortable with crisp linen, nice TV, bathroom was basic but adequate, convenient parking out the back.

Breakfast was a little puzzling (help yourself to toast, cereal etc in a communal kitchen/dining room, as well as olives and sun dried tomatoes?) but staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micragetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2010

My partner and i traveled to Tasmania for over Christmas holiday and have stayed in Edinburgh gallery b&b which is a very nice place. I would recommend to anyone, who would travel to Hobart for any occasion, to stay there. Here are some reasons

1: i booked the Executive en suite for our stay. The room is very clean and is quite large as well. It has a lot features such as nice timber floor, paintings, clean bar fridge, a big private bathroom is attached to the main bedroom.

2: the breakfast in the morning is marvelous, we were given many options on the bench so that we could easily help ourselves.

3: staff there are very professional and friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshhartnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast

Property: Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 211 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast your "Home away from home", I'm John your host. Rated 3 1/2 star Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast offers moderately priced accommodation with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and free continental breakfast, right in the heart of Hobart easy walking distance from everything. My bed & Breakfast is in a grand Edwardian/Federation house built in 1908 and is full of retro furnishings. It has 9 spacious majestically proportioned rooms, five with ensuites and four with shared bathroom facilities. Throughout the building there are high ceilings, sweeping staircases and stacks of old world charm. Each room is individually decorated in a distinctive "hip-heritage" style and all rooms have a television, bar fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities. Since taking over the business in April 2014 I have provided new doonas and pillows, high standard professionally laundered linen as well as electric blankets all round and loads of spare blankets in the cupboard. Our breakfast room with adjoining cafe` is available throughout the day and night and is well stocked with a good range of cereals and breads (including gluten free), as well as fresh jams, honey and peanut butter from the local farmer's market. The breakfast room provides the opportunity to meet other guests and many a warm conversation has been had here in the relaxed "make yourself at home" atmosphere. Our guest lounge has television with DVD and a wide range of DVDs on hand. Free Wi-Fi is available. Paintings and interesting artifacts are on display throughout the house. There is free car parking behind the house so you can leave your car and explore the city on foot - the CBD and historic tourist precincts - SalamancaPlace and Market, Constitution Dock and Battery Point, the waterfront art and craft galleries and restaurants; the Museum and Art Gallery are all an easy walk. Its two minutes' walk to the Transit Centre and the Airport shuttle stops at the door. Edinburgh Galley B & B caters for couples, singles, families and is gay-friendly. Attractions Rated 3.5 star with 9 rooms, 10 minute walk from CBD, Salamanca Waterfront area, Museum, Art Gallery & Battery Point. Multiple restaurants nearby. Short drive to Mount Wellington, Cascade Brewery, Female Factory, Royal Botanical Gardens, Cadbury Chocolate Factory & MONA (Museum of Old & New Art). Central location makes it ideal to day trip to Port Arthur, Historic Richmond & Bruny Island Location From Airport proceed South towards Hobart along the Tasman Highway. On arrival in the town centre the highway becomes a one way street known as Davey Street. Macquarie St is the parallel one way street going the opposite direction. Proceed along Davey St till you see the Soho pub this is Molle St, turn right, cross over Macquarie which is the next street & take the first driveway to you right to enter the rear parking of the B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Gallery Hotel Hobart
Edinburgh Gallery b&b
Edinburgh Gallery Bed And Breakfast Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing