We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had no problems at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had no problems at all”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My friend and I have just come back from Hobart after a two night stay at the Edinburgh Gallery, a very central location, only ten minutes to walk right into the wharf area. The rooms we had were comfortable, my bathroom was spotless as was the bed linen, both things very important to me. Perhaps the occasional dust of the skirting boards but no great problem, Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice and I could have as much or as little as I wanted. Frank the manager was very helpful and friendly. The rates were good, if you want 5 star go to a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene46255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    57
    20
    19
    14
See reviews for
26
52
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Wow, I was shocked by the condition of this place. An overwhelming food smell greeted us as we entered the building. We settled into our room and relaxed for a few minutes before heading out for the evening. I pulled back the quilt and a silverfish ran out of the sheets! (Just read another review which confirmed I'm not the only one to have this experience here.) The sheets themselves looked like they had been scrunched up still partly damp and no effort had been made to make the bed properly and tuck the sheets under the mattress, which I then saw didn't have a protector on it either. The rug, laid suspectly askance on the carpet, looked like it hadn't been vacuumed for a couple of weeks. The bathroom window was mostly boarded up and the artificial lighting wasn't crash hot, leaving the bathroom very dark. There was water damage on the ceiling. This place is noisy to boot, being on a main road corner.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

In my fist trip to Hobart I'd managed to stay there for few days, my first choice was for the location, it was close to the airport and easily accessible to all parts of the city.Secondly for a businessman on trip it was affordable and economical. I had good access to the internet through their high speed WiFi and the morning tea they served was the best in town. Looking forward to a visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Cautious because of the reviews - but already booked before we read them ... we decided to take the chance and move on after one night if it really was as awful as we had read. We booked the Queen-sized room with its own on-suite -and so glad we did! It's downstairs, but not cluastrophobic- and has an exit out the back way if needed in an emergency or to carry our gear in from the free oarking outside. Traffic noice was minimal - especially for a city.
Frank was gracious; showed us the room, explained the breakfast area and anytime access to the kithcen - and politely unlocked the back gate to allow us to bring our gear inside with a minimal of carrying.
The place was old - that's why we went there.... and not too expensive ... and close enough for an easy walk for two older traveleers to leave the car and walk to the wharf every day ... just what we needed. The bed was comfortable enough, and although the bedding and towles aren't new, servicaeble enough for us not to worry. And NO BEDBUGS1
We were warmed by the oil heater - everything was as we expected a less-expensive accommodation to be. The kitchen had a good range of conditments to add to a basic toast breakfast, and tea, coffee or milo was available at any time during the day/evening. We noted Frank use the dish washer each morning after guests had left.
So - what do wwe really think? Well, we'll be coming back!

Room Tip: Queen suite with onw on-suite downstairs is the best option, and even sleeps a third if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Yes, the rooms are big but that's the only good thing about them.. Cracks, mould, water damage are everywhere (at least the one I stayed)
On the other hand, the owner is nice and polite and the 'kitchen' is ok. It's a good location (close to centre) although on a very busy road (so ask for a room at the back)
Depending on the price you pay, it could be an ok stay (for a night or 2!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back due to road traffic noise at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruicaricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

After reading some of the Trip Advisor reviews I was very concerned about our stay. However, we found it to be perfectly serviceable (spacious and tolerably clean room etc). I would suggest that it be reclassified as a hostel rather than B&B, so if you are happy with hostel style accommodation then you would be fine here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verity2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this B&B just for one night, and we choosed it because of hte free parking and wi-fi, in addition to the price (not that cheap, but better than other places in Hobart.
At a first sight, our room seemed to be pretty nice, wide and well furnished, although it smelled like an ashtray, but in a few minutes spent there we found out what was wrong.
First of all: it was really dirty. We're not used to complein: interiors are not that nice? Not a problem. The room is small? Not a problem. We can accept everything, but not the lack of cleanliness. There was dust everywhere, stains (I don't even want to know the sourse) in blankets and awnings, towels looked like they weren't been washed recently. We used our pillowcases and towels and disinfected the toilet bowl, just to be sure...
Breackfast is selfservice: help yourself with a selection of jams and butters opened who knows when, orange juice in a pitcher, bread kept in a bread bin.
We saw a member of the staff only when we were ready for check-out: "So, these are your keys, bye", "Ok, no problem, bye" was the only interaction we had.
Wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrAnnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast

Property: Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 211 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast your "Home away from home", I'm John your host. Rated 3 1/2 star Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast offers moderately priced accommodation with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and free continental breakfast, right in the heart of Hobart easy walking distance from everything. My bed & Breakfast is in a grand Edwardian/Federation house built in 1908 and is full of retro furnishings. It has 9 spacious majestically proportioned rooms, five with ensuites and four with shared bathroom facilities. Throughout the building there are high ceilings, sweeping staircases and stacks of old world charm. Each room is individually decorated in a distinctive "hip-heritage" style and all rooms have a television, bar fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities. Since taking over the business in April 2014 I have provided new doonas and pillows, high standard professionally laundered linen as well as electric blankets all round and loads of spare blankets in the cupboard. Our breakfast room with adjoining cafe` is available throughout the day and night and is well stocked with a good range of cereals and breads (including gluten free), as well as fresh jams, honey and peanut butter from the local farmer's market. The breakfast room provides the opportunity to meet other guests and many a warm conversation has been had here in the relaxed "make yourself at home" atmosphere. Our guest lounge has television with DVD and a wide range of DVDs on hand. Free Wi-Fi is available. Paintings and interesting artifacts are on display throughout the house. There is free car parking behind the house so you can leave your car and explore the city on foot - the CBD and historic tourist precincts - SalamancaPlace and Market, Constitution Dock and Battery Point, the waterfront art and craft galleries and restaurants; the Museum and Art Gallery are all an easy walk. Its two minutes' walk to the Transit Centre and the Airport shuttle stops at the door. Edinburgh Galley B & B caters for couples, singles, families and is gay-friendly. Attractions Rated 3.5 star with 9 rooms, 10 minute walk from CBD, Salamanca Waterfront area, Museum, Art Gallery & Battery Point. Multiple restaurants nearby. Short drive to Mount Wellington, Cascade Brewery, Female Factory, Royal Botanical Gardens, Cadbury Chocolate Factory & MONA (Museum of Old & New Art). Central location makes it ideal to day trip to Port Arthur, Historic Richmond & Bruny Island Location From Airport proceed South towards Hobart along the Tasman Highway. On arrival in the town centre the highway becomes a one way street known as Davey Street. Macquarie St is the parallel one way street going the opposite direction. Proceed along Davey St till you see the Soho pub this is Molle St, turn right, cross over Macquarie which is the next street & take the first driveway to you right to enter the rear parking of the B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Gallery b&b
Edinburgh Gallery Hotel Hobart
Edinburgh Gallery Bed And Breakfast Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing