We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Had a lovely stay, the building is beautiful and the facilities are great. Free parking is an added bonus and the location is perfect. If you're looking for cheap comfortable accommodation with loads of character then this is a winner!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moobrown100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

this B&B is run by lovely people. nothing is a problem. the rooms are big, have tv, fridge and stuff to make a cup off tea or coffee.
some off the rooms don't have there own bathroom but the communal one is really nice and clean.
breakfast is basic but good.
Good value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here in March for 2 nights and couldn't expect more for the price we paid. Upon arrival we were greeted by the very warm & helpful owner. He was quick to point out all the sites we should take in during our time in and around Hobart. As we had a hired car, he drew out routes on a map which again was very helpful.
Next up was the 'bonus ball'. We had booked accommodation that stated we had a shared bathroom, we had booked this purely to save a few dollars. However, the owner said he wasn't going to give us that... we could have the en suite on the ground floor at no extra charge!
Understandably happy we this gesture we headed to our room. Our room was big, slightly dull in lighting but this added to the charm. It had a TV and fridge (which didn't get used as we was out enjoying the splendours of Tasmania too much). The shower was good and the bed was comfy enough. People can judge the decor but each to their own. My main concern is cleanliness and we had no problems on that front.
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Pleasantly surprised and very happy with the room for the price. Lovely soft bed if you like that which we did. The only disappointment if you could use that word was the TV, but as we weren't here to watch Telly it is a minor whinge. Had a lovey meal at the Soho pub up the road - great value for money ( best seafood pasta I have had for the price). Would absolutely recommend a stay in this lovely old monastery. The owners have done a lovely job restoring this to be an attractive accommodation option. The only other thing I would suggest is double glazing for the windows :).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed in this B&B for three nights, and it was our best accommodation of our Australian trip. We had a large room on the 2nd floor. The building, being a historic property, has some wear and tear, but the room and furnishings (including flat screen tv and fridge) were new and well-maintained. We were on the busy road side, and worried about the noise, but we put the fan on and slept soundly every night. There's a terrific continental breakfast every morning. The bathrooms (shared) were kept quite clean and there were plenty to go around - never had to wait for anyone though I think the house was full. There's a parking lot out back, which was appreciated. The house is just off the edge of the main "downtown" parts of Hobart. We walked to everything in the city, which was far, but doable. They have free wifi - make sure to ask about the network password, as it's not prominently advertised.

Pros: clean, good value, comfortable accommodations, great breakfast
Cons: we had some sort of misunderstanding with housekeeping and our room never got cleaned while we were there, though it wasn't a big deal

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JerichoNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I arrived at this B&B at around 12:30pm and the room wasn't ready. Since check in was only until 2 pm, they asked us to wait 15 min. The room we were given was on the lower level. It's exteremely small and there's even 5 steps inside the room. My mattress was too soft, so the sleping quality wasn't that good. Besides that, you have to climb up 2 flights of steps to reach the bathroom. I think it is unescusable that the owners planned to open this place with bathrooms only on the top floor, which is not cleary said on the hotel's web page and might me a big concern to more elderly people. Besides that I asked on the first day to have a room with a double bed. The person at the reception said he would have one available on the next day. Never happened. The running of the place is not very professional. They seem to hire students to do the cleaning and to manage the reservations. I never saw anyone who appeared to be in charge of this place the whole time I was in. One last thing: WHO EATS BREAKFAST AT 8 AM! When you're on a trip you might want to beat the crowds, and to wake up early. Here you can only have breakfast at 8am. It is served in the kitchen, where there's a big table sitting 6 people confortably - could fit 8. There is another room adjoning it whith tables and chairs but no word was ever said that we could use it. The result is that at 8:10 we saw guests cramming in the small kitchen and some even waiting standing up for a seat. Overall it was not a good experience, even though I have to say the location of this B&b is very nice.

Room Tip: Never stay at the room on the lower ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baianointheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed in the B&B for three nights, I was impressed by the style of gallery and helpful staff. When I first came into the B & B, I found it quite different from others, it is a gallery as well as a heritage, I do appreciate the art and the feel of history there. The staff there were very friendly and helpful, I was very comfortable when I stayed there. What is more, the location is quite good, it is very close to CBD of Hobart! I will come to this place again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 211 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: $77 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast your "Home away from home", I'm John your host. Rated 3 1/2 star Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast offers moderately priced accommodation with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and free continental breakfast, right in the heart of Hobart easy walking distance from everything. My bed & Breakfast is in a grand Edwardian/Federation house built in 1908 and is full of retro furnishings. It has 9 spacious majestically proportioned rooms, five with ensuites and four with shared bathroom facilities. Throughout the building there are high ceilings, sweeping staircases and stacks of old world charm. Each room is individually decorated in a distinctive "hip-heritage" style and all rooms have a television, bar fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities. Since taking over the business in April 2014 I have provided new doonas and pillows, high standard professionally laundered linen as well as electric blankets all round and loads of spare blankets in the cupboard. Our breakfast room with adjoining cafe` is available throughout the day and night and is well stocked with a good range of cereals and breads (including gluten free), as well as fresh jams, honey and peanut butter from the local farmer's market. The breakfast room provides the opportunity to meet other guests and many a warm conversation has been had here in the relaxed "make yourself at home" atmosphere. Our guest lounge has television with DVD and a wide range of DVDs on hand. Free Wi-Fi is available. Paintings and interesting artifacts are on display throughout the house. There is free car parking behind the house so you can leave your car and explore the city on foot - the CBD and historic tourist precincts - SalamancaPlace and Market, Constitution Dock and Battery Point, the waterfront art and craft galleries and restaurants; the Museum and Art Gallery are all an easy walk. Its two minutes' walk to the Transit Centre and the Airport shuttle stops at the door. Edinburgh Galley B & B caters for couples, singles, families and is gay-friendly. Attractions Rated 3.5 star with 9 rooms, 10 minute walk from CBD, Salamanca Waterfront area, Museum, Art Gallery & Battery Point. Multiple restaurants nearby. Short drive to Mount Wellington, Cascade Brewery, Female Factory, Royal Botanical Gardens, Cadbury Chocolate Factory & MONA (Museum of Old & New Art). Central location makes it ideal to day trip to Port Arthur, Historic Richmond & Bruny Island Location From Airport proceed South towards Hobart along the Tasman Highway. On arrival in the town centre the highway becomes a one way street known as Davey Street. Macquarie St is the parallel one way street going the opposite direction. Proceed along Davey St till you see the Soho pub this is Molle St, turn right, cross over Macquarie which is the next street & take the first driveway to you right to enter the rear parking of the B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Gallery Hotel Hobart
Edinburgh Gallery b&b
Edinburgh Gallery Bed And Breakfast Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing