We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$186
$144
The Henry Jones
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$94
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$154
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$160
$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$106
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$160
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hadley's Orient Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$173
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$144
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge on Elizabeth(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
$317
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
44
62
22
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
62
22
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal honeyinstant noodlesbasement roomenclosed verandabread for toastwifi works wellold buildingblock walkshared bathroomcommunal kitchennice breakfastfree parkingfresh fruitsalamanca marketspedestrian crossinggood pointssingle room
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 161 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We decided to stay at a more expensive bed and breakfast instead of a hotel. What a big mistake! Our room was like a dungeon at a level below a very busy street that never came to rest; we could not open a window or the dusty curtains. The linen had stains on!! The room was dirty and there were spider webs allover. All the food in the mini-fridge had expired a while ago. The tomatoes served at breakfast had mold growing on it! Do not be fooled by the photos on the website; this “backpackers hotel” does not look anything like the photos…

Room Tip: Do not be fooled!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had bedroom with en-suite. Blinds did not pull up, only half electric blanket working, bathroom in poor state with gaps around window frame, no plug in basin, and rotted woodwork near bath. Breakfast poorly provided,staff filling cereal containers from weetbix box with own hands, very cramped in preparation area once more than two people trying to make breakfast at once. There was notice on door saying management gone to appointment, so no-one to open door. the building is in a very noisy position on main road intersection. Furnishings very assorted, didnt know whether to be period furnishings or modern or oriental. Generally quite shabby and certainly not value for money!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just finished a 4 day stay at the Edinburgh

Despite some negative reviews we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Some pros -

Historic building
Huge & well dressed room
Comfy bed
Decent room rate
Parking close to town
Friendly management
Fast internet access at a cheap rate ($5 per day)

We didn't have much expectation for breakie but it was fine if not v basic (ham, cheese, bread etc)

Agree with previous reviews that the reception was not always attended but we didn't struggle getting in touch with staff when needed

On the negative side, the shower was not too good and was a tad cold at times (a product of July and no double glazing as historic building)

Overall - v good and would recommend

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdeEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Good location and clean but very noisy and our room smelt of stale cigarettes. Breakfast was not what was advertised. On arrival we were told there was free wireless, but when my son asked for the password, they said it would cost $5? We left early. I wish I'd read Trop Adviser before I booked! Loved Hobart

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

because the price was cheep and reasonable, then i booked this place just for one night. not like other reviewers, i think this place is excellent to me, at least there is no such a stylish B&B like this in my country. The room we stayed was large, the bed was big, and the nice breakfast served was free. we can even enjoy free milk during the mid-night. i was cool, we had nice time and we will back again for this kind of lovely accomodation in Hobart.

Room Tip: the family room with private bathroom was good
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacqualineChengdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews