We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying at in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in an interconnecting family room. Room space and facilities were excellent, especially with two younger boys. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Central location was great, easy to walk to activities in Hobart. Would definitely stay again. Only concerns were noisy plumbing which woke us early one morning and room key cards which had to be redone at reception for the first couple of days, as they reset each day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback it is lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our family accommodation comfortable. We were disappointed to read your comments in relation to the noisy plumbing and will have our maintenance team look into it as this is not something that has previously occurred. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 766 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

RACV/RACT doing a great job filling rooms and advertising since they recently bought out the newly refurbished back of Hadley's hotel.

The room rates until mid oct are superb value for money given the facilities and large room sizes. Many rooms are 1 bedroom apartment with full size kitchen, dining and living areas with balconies.

The huge bath tub is one of the best features at the RACV/RACT hotel.

Tested the room service. A number of menu choices, typical Aussie style meals. Impressed to be able to get a gluten free pizza option! And with flavor - bonus!

In house room menus at cafe prices means its easy for business Travellers and famines to take advantage of the convenience.

Highly recommend booking the spa room.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Fantastic feedback, Karen thank you for taking the time to post it. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our new menu offerings the pizza is defiantly a personal favourite. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next stay in Hobart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the RACV/RACT apartment hotel. The room was clean, large and well appointed but unfortunately we weren't given the twin beds we asked for. The bathroom was spacious but the shower is poorly designed as water doesn't drain properly and can pool around the toilet if you are not careful. The staff were busy but mostly polite. The best thing about this hotel was its location in Hobart's CBD. It was within walking distance of the Salamanca Markets and Waterfront which was a bonus. We enjoyed the breakfasts and dinner in the Charcoal Restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I was booked in here for one night for a work trip.

Pluses-
Lovely refurbed room
Window shutters kept the light out really well.
Room was nice and quiet.
I like a firm bed, so was comfortable.
Helpful staff at reception
Great latte in the restaurant and only $3.50 extra.
Nice bathroom - finally a ledge to put makeup and jewellery on! Thank you!

A few things that need attention, most of which have been mentioned before and reception seemed to know about.
As they've said, they are still making upgrades to the hotel, so really great to see them taking peoples feedback.

Bedside light needs a dimmer - mine got a pillow as it was super bright!
There are stairs into the hotel and into the restaurant.no ramp. They do have a wheelchair 'escalator?', but that doesnt help me with my bags. Not ideal with a bad back.

While the latte was great, i'd avoid the breakfast and find a cafe or bakery nearby.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank CurlyandCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the coffee, as you have mentioned we are planning to work very hard over the next 12 months to upgrade our facilities to improve our member and guest experience which will also encompass a new hotel entry. Thank you for taking the time to post such great comments we appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you in Hobart on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for 3-nights at the RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel.
We were very pleasantly surprised.
It is located in a very central position with easy walks to the harbour area, Salamanca or Battery Point where we spent most of our time.
The room was a good size, very clean and faultless.
The girls on reception were very polite and helpful. We would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation and will stay here in future stays in Hobart. Although it has only recently been taken over by the RACV it will even get better with time as they introduce their own improvements.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timeloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Fantastic feedback, thank you for taking the time to post it. We are delighted to read that you found the staff to be friendly and couldn't agree more that we have an amazing location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next stay in Hobart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed for 1 night on the 5th floor,my room had great views of Mt Wellington,the bed was very comfortable,and they have a pillow menu which was very impressive,but not needed by me as the pillows in the room where first class,the desk area was good the 32" flat screen was great ,the room was spotless ,the only downside was the bathroom,it was small and badly designed,the lighting was very poor,the only way you could get a bright light was to switch on the heat lamps,and even then the light was behind you.so it would make it very hard for women to put makeup on as your face had a shadow on it , there was paint peeling of the vanity unit,and with shower bath combo ,water ended up on floor near the toilet,the staff were very informative and helpful,

Room Tip: If you have a car you need to park you are better of to ring the hotel so that they can guide you in...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and post! It is lovely to hear that you had a great stay with us and were impressed with our staff and our hotel. I am pleased to let you know that as a new acquisition for the RACV and RACT and we are working through a number of improvement programs with our bathroom upgrades commencing in April. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its central location and we were also looking for free car parking and high speed internet access. It had all of this plus our room was virtually brand new, clean and virtually faultless. We stayed for two nights and our sleep was excellent on a very comfortable bed. All of the facilities you would expect were available including fridge, coffee/tea making and iron. The staff were very friendly on each of the shifts and went out of their way to help us. If you are a member of RACV, RACT, RACQ, NRMA, etc, remember to mention this for a discount and access to the free parking. Fortunately I brought my membership card with me. The only downsides with the room is it faced a major road running through the city and there was some noise but there are window shutters which we used successfully to shield the room overnight. Also the Smoke Alarms blink brightly and annoyingly. Others have mentioned this and I understand there are plans to rectify this.

Overall it was an excellent stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is lovely to read that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all that Hobart has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart soon, until then, take care and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel

Address: 154 -156 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $123 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hobart's cultural city centre, RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel is within easy walking distance of Constitution Dock, the shopping precinct and Hobart's iconic Salamanca Markets. Australia's smallest and most historic capital offers a mix of historic and contemporary art and culture, cafes, and restaurants, providing the ideal base for business or leisure. RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel offers a variety of accommodation options, a number of conference and wedding facilities, Charcoal our restaurant provides - modern Australian cuisine, a gym and undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing