We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments right on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great apartments right on the water”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

These apartments are great! They are right on the water - 2 minute walk from Salamanca Plc. We had a studio room which was very spacious. Very comfortable bed and stylish bathroom. The room looked out onto the main rd into Hobart which was the only downer. The washing machine was the only downer as it was very hard to work and the knob broke off. We were given 1 complimentry brekky at a restaurant a few doors down which was amazing! although whats the point in feeding one person. I really think they should include 2 per the price. Apart from that great accomodation in Hobart right by it all. Hobart is a bit sad looking during winter so it was defninitily nice to be in something warm and comfortable.. Plus the parking was $10 which is a bit rough considering you arnt exactly in a hotel - its a serviced apartment and they had a huge carpark..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbournegal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    232
    70
    24
    7
See reviews for
75
248
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My wife & I recently spent 3 nights in Room 4 at this establishment but were disappointed overall with the accommodation. On the positive side, the room was relatively spacious with plenty of natural light in the kitchenette & the main living room. Second, the staff were all helpful, courteous & friendly. Third, the hotel is pleasantly located across the road from Sullivans Cove & is approximately 10 minutes walk to the Mall or to Salamanca Place. There are several restaurants, cafes & tourist shops within a few minutes walk of the apartments. Unfortunately, the negative aspects, especially the budget-quality room fittings, outweigh these benefits. First, the bed is one of the smallest we’ve encountered & the mattress is so springy that neither of us could turn over without disturbing the other during the night. The flatscreen televison requires constant use of the remote control to adjust the picture size when changing channels &, even then, it’s impossible to get a decent picture on many of the channels on offer. Room 4, which is on the ground floor, is both noisy & lacks privacy from the street. The room has a sliding door that opens onto a terrace running the entire length of the building which, in turn, is separated from Davey Street by a three-quarter height wall. As we discovered, unless the venetians on the two windows are angled appropriately & the curtain on the sliding door drawn, anyone walking along the Davey Street footpath is able to look into the room. In addition, Davey Street carries a lot of traffic & the single-glazed windows & sliding door do very little to reduce the resulting noise. The bathroom/laundry is rather cave-like, without any natural light & has only 2 hooks for 2 people on which to hang towels and hand towels. All that remained of a third hook was the hole in the wall. Using the shower, no matter how gently, always resulted in water flowing out of the shower cubicle onto the bathroom floor. We were also surprised to find that Zero Davey does not have any PCs for use by guests & charges 10 cents per minute - up to a maximum of $12 per day - for in-room wired internet access. If you are prepared to pay these frankly outrageous charges then you will need to bring your own ethernet cable. In summary, we were disappointed with the accommodation & would be reluctant to stay at Zero Davey again unless there was no better option or the rooms had been substantially renovated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agfox46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in May in a studio room - i had requested an internal room as i had read some reviews staying road noise was a problem on the outer rooms roadside. All in all was a good for the price, the room was modern, our room was serviced daily, the position was great! only downside is the extra $10 for parking...

We would stay agian but only if an internal room was available.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAM_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We booked a "Luxury waterfront apartment with a balcony" for $260 per night. The word "luxury" should be scrapped. The bathroom is a joke - smallest wash basin I have ever seen, and with it a huge spout, which takes up about half the area of the basin. Makes it impossible to have a wash. Plus there is a slope, so the soap will not stay and keeps falling into the bottom of the basin.The tiny shower has no screen, causing total flooding of the entire bathroom. No vanity to put anything on. The mirror is a series of small squares, not connected, so one has to put oneself into all sorts of strange positions to even comb one's hair.
There is only one bed, approx. 145 cm wide - not big enough to accommodate 2 adults. Also the bed is so soft that when one person turns, the other one falls out. The whole room is in a state of disrepair, blinds on windows not working, lights flickering etc.
They charge $10 per day for parking, so add that to the cost of the room.
The only good thing about this place is the position, right on the waterfront and walking distance to the city. Wouldn't stay there ever again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatkaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed here for 2 weeks in April 2010. As a large family group with 3 adults, 2 babies and 2 children, I booked the 3 bedroom apartment 'the tasman'. They gave us a discounted rate of $420/night and upgraded us to the Davey Penthouse. The Penthouse itself was really lovely with views of the waterfront and a large terrace. It was also reasonably safe for our toddler. The location of Zero Davey is also superb and you can walk to many of Hobart's attractions.

One of the problems with the place was, the fact you couldnt lock any of the doors of the bedrooms and toilets. Cleaning service was not daily and not very thorough. You really notice this when you have young children. There was no orientation of the apartment, many of the appliances took time to figure out. The washing machine was one. The manual provided was the wrong one and the reception didnt know how to work it either. The internet was very very slow (both wireless and cable) and didnt work at all on one day. There is only one TV in the entire apartment. The dishwasher broke down on our stay as well.

Overall during the two weeks, there were ups and downs but I feel that many of the downs could be resolved quite easily by the management. On our next trip to Hobart, we may stay there or may not. We're undecided.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imzy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Very disappointed. Highly priced for Hobart. Rooms were small and basic. Beds were not very comfortable and the sounds of the road made sleep difficult. There are is no service (i.e room service is not available, reception closes at 6pm and rooms are not cleaned for a two night stay). Highly priced and low quality.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mangomisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

A great hotel which I have stayed in twice.
First trip was a few days for new years eve. The location was great, within walking distance of the city, salamanca markets and great restaurants. We stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse which was fantastic - and very comfortable for 3 couples. Hugh balcony and great view of the syd-hob yacht race boats.
The second stay was with friends, and we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was clean, large, big kitchen and each room had their own bathroom so that was great.

Staff are great, parking available (at a cost), quiet, modern and clean.

Would stay again in a heatbeat.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngcouple7879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel

Property: Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Address: 15 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero Davey is located on Sullivans Cove, on Hobart's picturesque waterfront.Perfectly designed for both business and pleasure, the 31 apartments are exquisitely furnished in cutting edge contemporary designer furniture, and equipped with every travellers needs.Relax and unwind by the waters edge, enjoy the cafe lifestyle and relish in Tasmania's gourmet experience at the many restaurants located right on your doorstep.Zero Davey is ideal for business or pleasure. Located harbourside, where the world famous Sydney to Hobart yacht race concludes, five minutes walk from the CBD, Government offices, Local theatres, Botanical Gardens, Salamanca Place, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and numerous local galleries and Craft Shops.Zero Davey offers a range of apartments, providing living and dining areas, washer/dryer, kitchenette facilities, including Ceramic Cooktop, microwave oven, exhaust fan/light, cable TV, Plasma Screens, mini bar, IPod Docking Stations, air conditioning, individually controlled heating, dedicated internet access ports, some with spa's, water/mountain views and balconies/courtyards. Security access carpark (subject to availability during peak periods, so please inform us in your notes when making a reservation.)Please Note : We do not service our Apartments on Sunday's or Public Holiday'sCar Parking is available but spaces are limited, please make note in your comments if carparking is required. Carparking is charged at $10.00 per day.Zero Davey also offers Two Deluxe Davey Studios which are very quite rooms away from the roads, and have there own small courtyard, which need to be requested. ****ZERO DAVEY HAS A NO PARTY POLICY**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zero Davey Hotel Hobart
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing