We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next to the harbor, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Scotts Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great location next to the harbor, good value”
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This hotel is right next to the Hobart harbor area, within a couple of minutes' walk to many restaurants (try Mures for excellent seafood in the middle of the harbor). Zero Davey shares its facilities with permanently occupied apartments, and is well-kept overall. We had a small modern apartment with kitchen, bathroom, bedroom/living room, and facilities for washing clothes. The room we got was fairly large but had no windows or view, just a sliding glass door out onto a little patio that was unfortunately rather dirty and open to the sky but attached to an adjacent building. As a result, we had no street noise. The room was very quiet.

There was a large comfortable king-sized bed and a few plastic office-type chairs, and a compact couch. I guess the best way to describe its style is "motel modern." It's not posh, but not spartan either. It would compare in comfort to one of the better Hampton Inns in the States, for example.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful. We were able to check our email on their own computer system, and they assisted us with whatever we needed.

The price seemed to be highly negotiable. We started at 225 AUD and after a few minutes of pleasant conversation with the front desk staff, the price dropped to less than 160 AUD, proving that when it comes to room rates, attitude is everything.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glewbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    232
    70
    24
    7
See reviews for
75
248
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Myself and my partner stayed at Zero Davey only for one night but it was a great night. We stayed in the most basic room but we both thought it was great.
We found the room very nice, clean and spacious. The room was well set out and had everything we needed. The tv does only face the bed but we were happy to lay on the bed and watch it. The bathroom mirror could have been better but you make do with what you have. The bathroom also had a washing machine/dryer and they provided laundry powder. The small kitchen was great and meant we could make our self breakfast. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could need to cook. There was also a breakfast bar which looked out onto the courtyard and road.

The location was brilliant and within walking distance of everything we needed although it was so cold we drove most places. We did ask for a car space however the car park was full but there was still plenty of parking around and we were given a special note to put on our dashboard to redeem us from parking time limits.

Overall our stay was great and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Very good value. Staff on reception are outstanding. Great location- lots of parking options, walking distance to great restaurant. Rooms are large although bathroom is a tad off - mirror is bad. Kitchenette is basic but does the job. A little bit of noise from the street but not too bad

Overall highly recommended- i would send my friends and family here

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveler86AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

I had high hopes for this hotel as reception is very impressive but the room it out was very average - rooms were small and the bathroom was swamped with water after one use. Really overpriced for what you get!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cocopop1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Rooms were nice, modern and clean, but as a whole the place was lacking. Upon booking I requested not to be on the ground floor as it opens up to a terrace and you can't really feel comfortable with open windows or curtains, however this request was not taken by the staff and ended up on the ground floor. Also paid for a park which was always taken by another car, which was extremely frustrating. The staff weren't rude but also weren't very helpful. I'm not sure if i would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDandPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

I booked this through Wotif, and was surprised at the cost for a studio apartment with a water view, but assumed it must be of high quality. I usually stay at the Salamanca on the Pier which has a better position and is more reasonably priced.

I could even have stayed at the beautiful Henry Jones Art Hotel for less, but my husband wanted an apartment so we could buy oysters off the pier and generally enjoy the many picnic delights of Hobart.

We were given a second floor apartment, which was really the first floor - very close to the ground and therefore noisy if you kept the balcony door open for some fresh air.

The room had a cold grey decor with tiling around the kitchen, eating area. There was a dirty, unattractive balcony that I had hoped we would sit out on to eat our picnic and enjoy some Tassie pinot. Even were it not dirty, it was inaccessible due to the fact the "state of the art" electric blinds were broken.

The bathroom was strange - great shower but nowhere to put anything and a mirror that was a series of small squares.

The layout of the room was poor, including a TV facing the bed which it made it the only place you could watch.

I wouldn't have felt so disgruntled and disatisfied had it not been for the price I was paying - nearly $400.

  • Liked — the shower
  • Disliked — things that didn't work, plastic wine glasses
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

My family and i relocated to Hobart in August from Malaysia, and have been staying at Zero Davey til now. I must say that i didn't have very high expectations at first, coming from a big bustling city like Kuala Lumpur and being very much a city girl used to very modern living amenities, but this was by far the best move i have ever made- our Zero Penthouse, as well as some of the 3-bedroom units some of our family members have stayed in when visiting us are as modern as any Manhattan apartment!

We have a beautiful view of waterfront, and what can be more beautiful than seeing the yachts and sailboats out on the water every morning and evening...

Our rooms are ultra modern, the master bedroom of the zero penthouse in particular is very funky and dare i say, sexy! check it out on the zero davey website! i also LOVE LOVE LOVE the spa tub in our bedroom.

The staff are the nicest and most polite we have ever come across in any hotel/serviced apartment anywhere in the world, and i must say Nathan, Tom and their colleagues are always happy to go out of their way to assist anytime, and have made my two kids, my husband and i feel so at home, which makes living at Zero Davey a really wonderful experience.

I have no hestitation in recommending this to ANYONE intending on visiting Tasmania.

  • Liked — excellent service, fabulous location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tiaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel

Property: Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Address: 15 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero Davey is located on Sullivans Cove, on Hobart's picturesque waterfront.Perfectly designed for both business and pleasure, the 31 apartments are exquisitely furnished in cutting edge contemporary designer furniture, and equipped with every travellers needs.Relax and unwind by the waters edge, enjoy the cafe lifestyle and relish in Tasmania's gourmet experience at the many restaurants located right on your doorstep.Zero Davey is ideal for business or pleasure. Located harbourside, where the world famous Sydney to Hobart yacht race concludes, five minutes walk from the CBD, Government offices, Local theatres, Botanical Gardens, Salamanca Place, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and numerous local galleries and Craft Shops.Zero Davey offers a range of apartments, providing living and dining areas, washer/dryer, kitchenette facilities, including Ceramic Cooktop, microwave oven, exhaust fan/light, cable TV, Plasma Screens, mini bar, IPod Docking Stations, air conditioning, individually controlled heating, dedicated internet access ports, some with spa's, water/mountain views and balconies/courtyards. Security access carpark (subject to availability during peak periods, so please inform us in your notes when making a reservation.)Please Note : We do not service our Apartments on Sunday's or Public Holiday'sCar Parking is available but spaces are limited, please make note in your comments if carparking is required. Carparking is charged at $10.00 per day.Zero Davey also offers Two Deluxe Davey Studios which are very quite rooms away from the roads, and have there own small courtyard, which need to be requested. ****ZERO DAVEY HAS A NO PARTY POLICY**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zero Davey Hotel Hobart
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing