We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Davey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Got very lost trying to find the Davey, due to lots of one way streets in Hobart!!! Eventually arrived! Receptionist not the friendliest, and no carparking was available so had to park on the wharf area next to hotel.
As I was travelling with my daughter and her boyfriend we were given an access unit (for disabled persons), as we needed to fit in another bed. Modern and funky, fully equipped with everything for a self contained stay, as well as a spa.
If you want undercover car parking, you should book in advance, but it does cost $10/night.
Hogs Breath Cafe and Bottleshop across the road, a short stroll to the shopping precinct, Salamanca Markets and the wharf area with some great restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Frangipanni69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 548 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed in a studio deluxe room for $140, which was a reasonable price. No breakfast or internet - which was fine because the kitchen is fantastic! It has all utensils - pans, pots, plates, everything so I was impressed with the kitchen. Despite other reviews, the electric cooktop was very easy to use.

Location – convenient and easy to find. It was a very short walk to Salmanca Place and also to the Hobart CBD. It's right next to Constitution Dock. The only thing was, the traffic was quite loud at night because it was on a main road.

Room – modern, nice colours, good design. The TV is quite high but I didn't really feel the need to watch a lot fo TV. Sofa was used for putting clothes. Bed was very comfortable, lovely sheets. There was heaps of space to put your clothes and suitcase.

Bathroom - Clean, very good hairdryer, also has the washing machine in it. The shower door was a bit of a nuisance - don't know why they didn't build the door all the way, it's only half a screen and so was a bit messy.

NOTE: I brought my gym clothes and swimming costume, thinking that there would be a mad gym and sauna. The gym was very small, smaller than my tiny bedroom with only about 2 pieces of equipment. The sauna was also tiny, would only fit 3 people, mayb 5 if you all squashed up. It was also IN the carpark, so it wasn't really convenient to actually go there because you would have to walk through to the carpark as there was no shower or changeroom area.

Overall, Zero Davey has nice apartments, but the bathroom and the misleading gym and sauna photos were a bit of a let down. Otherwise, everything else was quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Spent the weekend at Zero Davey. We booked this hotel somewhat based on the reviews on trip advisor. We were certainly not disappointed. Zero Davey is a slick hotel with everything you need for a short stay. The location is great... waterfront just a short walk. My only gripes would be the very soft bed (no king beds available!) and the shower head. Our safe was broken which a little annoying but overall we were pleased and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TheBugNeverDies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We stayed at Zero Davey for the weekend and found the rooms, location and service fantastic.

Modern, really comfortable -eg; the most amazing sheets (that i really wanted to steal) but instead just took the brand name from the tag and ended up purchasing my own for $240 off the internet, so that gives you some idea of the quality that they use to make things super comfy...

Perfect Location
(less than 2 minute walk to the city)
(less than 5min walk to salamanca market),
and as you step outside the hotel door - you're on the pier with what i believe to be (and i've eaten from a lot) the best fish and chip restaurant/takeaway shop ive eaten at yet...its right next door, and trust me, the fish is extremely fresh and cooked perfectly and the chips that come in the paper cone(its trademark) are just as good...
Bottle shop accross the road,
Loads of Pubs, restaurants, cafes within 1minute walk.
Stunning scenery.

Best location in hobart.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Jeeepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed in Room #2 for 3 nights from 08/05/08 to 11/05/08. We booked it for $169 per night from Wotif.com. No breakfast and no internet are included in the package. We got free undercover carpark, but it’s subject to availability so you can’t be back too late or the carpark will be full.

Location – convenient and easy to find. This is one thing I did enjoy at Zero Davey as it’s only a short walk to Salamanca market and those nice restaurants in Hobart CBD. It is also very close to the famous Constitution Dock where you can buy some quick fish & chips and enjoy the river view.

Room – modern, spacious design with lots of natural light but not practical. The TV is located high up on the wall in front of your bed so you have to sit on the bed and slightly look up in order to watch TV. There is no proper sofa. Instead, there are plastic chairs fitted to the wall which are right outside the bathroom and in a bad position for the TV. So we never made use of those chairs apart from dumping our clothes. The bed is comfortable but wish there could be bigger shelves next to it to put our stuff. The dining table is facing the window, and away from TV. I suppose they designed it that way because they wanted you to enjoy the view. But our room is on the ground level so all we could see is a wall that separates us from the streets. Despite being on the ground level, we didn’t any issue with the noise which is good. However, I don’t consider our room to be safe at all as anyone could climb over the wall/fence from the streets and break into our room via the open garden/walkway. And as the open garden sort of allow you to walk to the window and glass door of the other rooms on ground level, I just don’t think it gave me enough sense of security/privacy.

Bathroom – Clean and spacious but not very practical at all. There is no shower door for the shower area (only a ‘half wall’) so water can spray out to the rest of the bathroom. Half of our bathroom was ‘flooded’ on the first night because we were not used to the inconvenience and had to walk on wet floor for the rest of the night and try not to get our pants wet when we used the toilet. We had to be really careful from the second night to try not to let any water out of the shower area, which made the showering experience a bit less pleasant. The basin is too small and there is little vanity space for you to put your stuff. We always sprayed a lot of water onto the floor every time we brushed our teeth because the basin is so small no matter how careful we were. We had to place our cosmetics, toothbrush, toothpaste etc onto the other shelf/bench in the bathroom which is really inconvenient compared to other hotels which offers you a bench for you to put all these stuff. The basin is also fitted too low compared most other hotels, which made it even harder for a tall man like my boyfriend to brush his teeth there. The mirror is a bit ‘different’ as its ‘tiled’ design sort of made it hard to groom properly.

Other service – satisfactory. Staff were friendly and welcoming. A couple of channels on Foxtel were missing although they were listed down on the booklet for guests. They also didn’t have channels like Discovery and SkyNews/CNN but they had 3 movie channels. They only put out a copy of The Australian and Australian Financial Review every day so if you want to read them you need to be early to grab hold of it otherwise it’s gone.

Overall, I think it was an okay experience staying at Zero Davey. It is clean, modern and spacious and offers everything you need from full kitchen to laundry. The bathroom sort of let it down a bit but since we only stayed for 3 nights we could sort of live with it. The location is perfect so if you are flexible and not too fussy about bathroom, you will definitely enjoy Zero Davey. Try and see if you can book a room on a higher level so it gives you more privacy and security. But if you don’t mind being exposed and want to be closer to the reception, ground level is pretty quiet so you probably won’t have any issues there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank waterlover616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We were in Hobart for 3 days as part of our Tasmania trip and the Zero Davey was perfect!
The Zero Davey is located near the Docks area, very convenient to restaurants and the Tourist Information Centre, a short walk to the Salamanca Markets and a short cab ride to the Wrest Point casino.
The apartment is very new and nicely decorated. We stayed in a Deluxe Davey Studio Apartment. It has a small kitchen with stove and cooking utensils, a washer/dryer, air conditioning and LCD TV. There is also a car park underneath but there are very limited spaces available.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Travelsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2007

We were staying at Zero Davey for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. We arrived early in the morning and asked to store our bags, lucky for us our room was ready so we could check straight in.

We were on the second floor of the hotel which you have to access by an elevator and a locked door (which was very heavy) so the security was very good. The room was a good size and contained a very modern bathroom with spa bath, a medium sized balcony overlooking the water, a small kitchen, storage space, including an iron, and a small lounge room. Everything was very modern and stylish but functionable. We were very pleased that a washing machine and dryer was also in the room (we had problems using these though)

We had a wonderful stay at Zero Davey and found the staff most helpful, the room was clean, stylisha nd functionable and we would visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mallary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel

Address: 15 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $111 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero Davey is located on Sullivans Cove, on Hobart's picturesque waterfront.Perfectly designed for both business and pleasure, the 31 apartments are exquisitely furnished in cutting edge contemporary designer furniture, and equipped with every travellers needs.Relax and unwind by the waters edge, enjoy the cafe lifestyle and relish in Tasmania's gourmet experience at the many restaurants located right on your doorstep.Zero Davey is ideal for business or pleasure. Located harbourside, where the world famous Sydney to Hobart yacht race concludes, five minutes walk from the CBD, Government offices, Local theatres, Botanical Gardens, Salamanca Place, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and numerous local galleries and Craft Shops.Zero Davey offers a range of apartments, providing living and dining areas, washer/dryer, kitchenette facilities, including Ceramic Cooktop, microwave oven, exhaust fan/light, cable TV, Plasma Screens, mini bar, IPod Docking Stations, air conditioning, individually controlled heating, dedicated internet access ports, some with spa's, water/mountain views and balconies/courtyards. Security access carpark (subject to availability during peak periods, so please inform us in your notes when making a reservation.)Please Note : We do not service our Apartments on Sunday's or Public Holiday'sCar Parking is available but spaces are limited, please make note in your comments if carparking is required. Carparking is charged at $10.00 per day.Zero Davey also offers Two Deluxe Davey Studios which are very quite rooms away from the roads, and have there own small courtyard, which need to be requested. ****ZERO DAVEY HAS A NO PARTY POLICY**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zero Davey Hotel Hobart
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing