We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern apartment hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We were in Hobart for 3 days as part of our Tasmania trip and the Zero Davey was perfect!
The Zero Davey is located near the Docks area, very convenient to restaurants and the Tourist Information Centre, a short walk to the Salamanca Markets and a short cab ride to the Wrest Point casino.
The apartment is very new and nicely decorated. We stayed in a Deluxe Davey Studio Apartment. It has a small kitchen with stove and cooking utensils, a washer/dryer, air conditioning and LCD TV. There is also a car park underneath but there are very limited spaces available.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Travelsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 573 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2007

We were staying at Zero Davey for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. We arrived early in the morning and asked to store our bags, lucky for us our room was ready so we could check straight in.

We were on the second floor of the hotel which you have to access by an elevator and a locked door (which was very heavy) so the security was very good. The room was a good size and contained a very modern bathroom with spa bath, a medium sized balcony overlooking the water, a small kitchen, storage space, including an iron, and a small lounge room. Everything was very modern and stylish but functionable. We were very pleased that a washing machine and dryer was also in the room (we had problems using these though)

We had a wonderful stay at Zero Davey and found the staff most helpful, the room was clean, stylisha nd functionable and we would visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mallary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Stayed at the Zero Davey for 3 nights on November 19 - 21st 2007, wonderful location, comfortable beds with Duvets not blankets. The place to be for New Years Eve with the Sydney to Hobart boats in the dock. Near to great restaurants the tourist information place is within walking distance. The city is uphill but not far. Only problem the airport bus to drop off and collect is a short walk away, it does not drop you outside the hotel.
Staff very helpful especially Nathan on the desk. All in all an enjoyable time

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank Binnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Great Location, Great Room, Luxury facilities - friendly staff.! Zero Davey has it all.
A large comfortable bed, modern fittings, fantastic outlook over the docks all enhanced our enjoyment of Hobart.
Size and layout of room with a kitchenette and laundry made it feel like we were staying in an apartment not a hotel. You are able to walk everywhere from this location, quality restaurants at your doorstep.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank schnauzerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We were looking forward to staying at the Zero Davey Apartments. The pictures on the website showed a funky and stylish finish and we expected a minimalist presention based on the photos. We had booked a studio apartment with spa along the waterfront.

The studio apartment was claustraphobic and spartan and was in need of maintenace to ensure that the property continues to maintain standards. There were fingerprints on the ceiling, the venetian blinds were bent out of shape in places and the spa bath would not work after it had been used only once.

With no furniture to relax in apart from some plastic chairs this was spartan indeed! A lack of vanity space surrounding the basin in the bathroom combined with 'tiled' mirrors with spaces in between made it impossible to groom effectively. The odd placing of the television (located in the bedroom with no other seating than the bed itself) meant that the tv could only be accessed from one side of the bedroom leaving the other person to twist their neck into an impossible position to view the screen! The bedding was also rather odd as the quilt cover was extremely heavy and was obviously designed for the extremes of cold weather which seemed rather unnecessary considering the room had reverse cycle airconditioning.

On a positive note, the apartments are in a great location surrounded by numerous excellent restaurants and are a short walk from the city centre. If you like the minimalist look and are looking for a short stay only then this may suit. If however, you want to be comfortable in your surroundings then perhaps you may need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobynLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

Previous hotel stays in Hobart have been mixed but this time we needed a three bedroom apartment so we booked the sub-penthouse at Zero Davey. On entering the apartment we were all blown away with the generous size of the apartment and the up market quality of the fit-out throughout . For once it was far better than the photos and 360 degree video on the website.

The main bedroom was huge and the en-suite was just magnificent with a double shower alcove that had the best shower heads that we have ever experienced and one of the biggest spa baths I have experienced. Plus as a bonus a very comfortable bed with great linen.

Kitchen was a chef's dream with every appliance you needed included a built in Meile coffee machine. Lounge area had a large Sony plasma TV and DVD coupled with a very comfortable lounge to laze around on.

Each bedroom had a balcony access as well as the lounge area which opened on to a large balcony area with an outside table and chairs looking out over Hobart city area and some view of the Harbour. Unfortunately no views of the Dock area are available.

Like all stays there are always some things that detract from the stay and deduct points from the overall experience, in our case they were;
-Main bedroom had a safe for your valuables/laptop, however it had one small problem in that it was not secured to the wall and you could pick it up and walk off with it very easy. This was reported to reception twice without any action during our stay.
-On checkout the reception staff debited our credit card with the incorrect amount. When they discovered the error later in the day,
they debited the card with the correct amount. End result was my card ended up three debit entries and a delayed credit which resulted in card exceeding limit and other business debits being rejected. This was taken up with Management who advised that standard procedure is for contact to be made with customer to advise the error and course of action to remedy however this was overlooked without any explanation.
-On returning to apartment one night the Car Park was full and we were forced to park in the street outside premises, in a park that required a paid ticket after 8.00am or get a fine. For $500 a night I expect a secure car park to be provided.

Overall we would return as the qualities of the property will always be there and hopefully they will have fixed the problems.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Longdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2006

We stayed at the Zero Davey for two nights in two different rooms. The first room was a studio apartment at the ground level, facing onto (but elevation slighly lower than) one of the main roads of Hobart. Whilst the room was very very comfortable, it didn't really have an outlook and was a little stuffy as you couldn't really leave the windows or doors (to a shared terrace) open overnight. However, the room had its own air conditioning, so that improved the situation. The room was really clean and tidy, very comfortable and very well decorated (very 'now'; charcoal walls, pure white furniture, low lighting and a splash of colour with the bed cushions, cushioned bed head etc).

For the second night, we were lucky enough to get a waterfront studio room. I am not sure if we were upgraded, as it seemed a lot bigger than the first studio we stayed in and the full length of the room faced the water, with the bed well separated from the kitchen. We also had a spa bath, which we had not expected- as I had thought all the studios had only showers. So, the room was fabulous- the outlook is no Sydney Harbour, but it is really nice to see the workings of the port with recreational boats arriving and leaving etc (a little bit noisy, but we didn't care). The room also had a small private balcony.

The location is exceptional- in walking distance of all amenities, the markets and great restaurants, so we didn't end up using the well equipped kitchen in both our Zero Davey rooms. It is a few doors down from the Henry Jones (and the restaurant was lovely- excellent service and very very nice food), not far from Marque IV (fully booked!!) and expensive but very tasty Fish Frenzy (was great for lunchtime fish and chips).

If we went back to Hobart, we would definitely stay at Zero Davey- but only in a waterfront room.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank JodesLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel

Address: 15 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $131 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero Davey is located on Sullivans Cove, on Hobart's picturesque waterfront.Perfectly designed for both business and pleasure, the 31 apartments are exquisitely furnished in cutting edge contemporary designer furniture, and equipped with every travellers needs.Relax and unwind by the waters edge, enjoy the cafe lifestyle and relish in Tasmania's gourmet experience at the many restaurants located right on your doorstep.Zero Davey is ideal for business or pleasure. Located harbourside, where the world famous Sydney to Hobart yacht race concludes, five minutes walk from the CBD, Government offices, Local theatres, Botanical Gardens, Salamanca Place, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and numerous local galleries and Craft Shops.Zero Davey offers a range of apartments, providing living and dining areas, washer/dryer, kitchenette facilities, including Ceramic Cooktop, microwave oven, exhaust fan/light, cable TV, Plasma Screens, mini bar, IPod Docking Stations, air conditioning, individually controlled heating, dedicated internet access ports, some with spa's, water/mountain views and balconies/courtyards. Security access carpark (subject to availability during peak periods, so please inform us in your notes when making a reservation.)Please Note : We do not service our Apartments on Sunday's or Public Holiday'sCar Parking is available but spaces are limited, please make note in your comments if carparking is required. Carparking is charged at $10.00 per day.Zero Davey also offers Two Deluxe Davey Studios which are very quite rooms away from the roads, and have there own small courtyard, which need to be requested. ****ZERO DAVEY HAS A NO PARTY POLICY**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zero Davey Hotel Hobart
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing