We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation close to Hobart centre”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
renatasyd...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation close to Hobart centre”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Gardens Apartment in late March-early April 2016.

The apartment is located about 10 minutes drive to Hobart centre, and 20 mins to Hobart airport. There's a bus stop close to the house, so if you're planning on staying in Hobart, there is no need to rent a car.
It is situated just off Channel Hwy, surrounded by a beautiful garden. Although this busy road is nearby, you don't see or hear it once you're inside.

This loft style accommodation is suitable for 2 people, and consists of a small sitting area, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and a separate toilet on the ground floor, and a spacious bedroom on the first floor.
It's equipped with a gas heater in the sitting room, and a ceiling fan in the bedroom. Warming up the cottage takes literally a minute.
There's a large TV, DVD player, 2 comfortable leather chairs and a small coffee table in the sitting area.
Kitchen has a mini fridge, a microwave with a grill function, a gas stove top, small dishwasher and a full size washing machine. There's also a coffee pod machine, with some pods provided by the owners, a toaster and a mini-grill.
The kitchen has all crockery and cutlery you might need for your stay, as well as pots and pans.
Black and herbal tea, sugar, salt, pepper, flour is provided for guests' convenience. Hosts have also provided milk, yogurts, butter, some jams and marmalade for the first couple of days.
There's dish-washing liquid and powder for the dishwasher, as well as some laundry powder available for guests to use.

The king (?) bed is very comfortable, with high quality bed linen and a beautiful quilt. There's an extra blanket for guests' convenience, if it's too cold. Fluffy towels are provided in the bathroom, as well as good quality shampoo and conditioner, liquid soaps (in both bathroom and toilet), and shower gel. There's also a professional hairdryer provided for guests' use.

There is undercover parking available at the house, and guests are welcome to use the garden, which has a gorgeous sitting area.

The apartment is of a very high standard, with high quality finishes, furniture and bed linens provided.

WiFi is free and worked well.

The hosts Pam and Tom are very attentive, friendly, yet very discreet.

I would definitely recommend this accommodation to my friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of booking, comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myalls
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a find!
A really lovely place to stay with everything we needed and all kept in beautiful condition.
We were greeted by Tom who was very welcoming. He gave us ttop tips for where we wanted to visit.
Tom and Pam had kindly provided milk, coffee, jams, breakfast cereal on our arrival which we hadn't expected and which we really appreciated.
Our four night stay at The Gardens was excellent and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking to visit Hobart.
Thank you Tom & Pam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet in lovely accomodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen S
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NICE QUIET LOCATION, EASY BY CAR AND EASY BY BUS INTO HOBART”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed two nights in this delightful garden apartment, truly set in a pretty garden. Tom our host was most helpful in every way. He had thought of every little thing a visitor would desire. We just loved the cosiness of the downstairs lounge and the gorgeous kitchen and the loft bedroom with its light airy feel and glimpses of the Derwent River through the garden trees. Off street parking was provided for our car but we used the convenience of hopping on a the
bus from just outside for the short trip into Hobart to catch the ferry to MONA.
This is an amazing place to visit and has surely put Hobart on the map as a top destination to visit if only to experience this wonderful building in its most spectacular setting, as well as all Hobart's other tourist treasures. We also had a great Italian meal at D'Angelo's in Battery Point recommended to us by friends. What a wonderful, busy and buzzy place with loads of atmosphere.
We've spent three or four visits to Hobart over the years and this one as enjoyable as ever,
didn't even mind the "inclement" weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Hosts”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed here for 2 weeks in Jan 16. The Apartment was decorated to the highest standard with much thought put into the needs of its occupants, many of whom arrive by plane. It's a joy to find basic essentials in the cupboard and fridge, more than enough for breakfast. Instructions on the use of appliances were clear and concise. The seating was most comfortable and the bed equally so. The use of bikes was a welcome addition. Tom and Pam are the perfect hosts, there when needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deharo
Sunshine Coast
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good host, well set up up but a little pokey and out of the way.”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The owners have tried to think of everything and fit it into a smallish space, and have succeeded. Be advised that while the upstairs bedroom is quite spacious everything else including the amenities, is down a steep staircase, so you will be spending most of your time downstairs, and it is quite small with few spaces to put your belongings. The little living area is also not well provided with light either from inside or outside, so if, like me, you are used to a space and light you might feel a bit closed in. Tom is a good host and happy to leave you alone or help or chat whenever you want to need, the garden is a bonus, and the kitchen is well lit and has everything you might need. Good value, but you pay for this by being quite a long way out of town. This might be a bonus if you're heading South.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi Judy,
Thank you for your review. The staircase meets the current building code standard which it was required to do for us to become Council approved as a Visitor Accommodation, so it is no steeper than one would expect from any modern dwelling. We have taken up your suggestion and now provide a standard lamp to increase the light in the lounge which, I must say, others have not found an issue. Being only 7Km out of town most of our guests find it surprisingly close in. I guess everything is relative!
kind regards,
Tom and Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adlise
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, lovely apartment”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I spent hours on the internet trying to find the most suitable accommodation I could for 5 nights in Hobart, as part of our two week stay in Tasmania. I was fortunate enough to stumble across 'The Gardens Apartment' on TA. I emailed and got a quick reply and phone call from Tom to arrange our booking and payment. Arriving at the apartment in Taroona, a short 10 minute drive from Hobart CBD, we knew right away we had made the best choice! The apartment is compact, but has everything you need to enjoy your stay. The kitchen is fantastic with european appliances, a coffee pod machine and full cooktop. Tom and his wife provide some great bonus extras of jams, yoghurt, fresh fruit and a few pantry staples to get you started (much appreciated!). The queen bed is upstairs and is very comfortable and has quality bed linen. It does get a little warm upstairs in the summer, but there is a ceiling fan that makes the room more comfortable. The leather chairs in the main room in front of the TV are so comfortable, and are perfect for relaxing after a long day exploring the area. We found this a great base for our day trips. We walked the 6.5kms into Sandy Bay a few times as its all paved pathways and the views of the river are fantastic! Lipscombe Larder has an amazing range of food to complement your stay. We also enjoyed All Thai. We travelled into the CBD a few times and used Argyle St carpark as it seemed more reasonable with fees. There is a bus stop just across the road too. Salamanca market is a must when you visit. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this apartment to other couples, and will definitely stay again if we make it back to Tasmania in the near future. It deserves the 5 star rating that guests have given it!! Thanks Tom, Kind Regards, Lisa & Adam

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne555...
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“Perfect location to stay in Hobart”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Many thanks Tom for the great hospitality extended to us on our 10 day stay. Unit was spotless and had all the comforts of home. If visiting Hobart again we would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing