We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of Dumpling Express

Dumpling Express
Ranked #77 of 604 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Restaurant details
Australind, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Only had the lunch special, but great food, outstanding service and great value. A favourite in the CBD!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank umad23bro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    52
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dumplings - what a treat!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

There are quite a few dumpling places to choose from in Hobart. So I thought I'd give a couple a go. Dumpling Express was my second choice - next time it will be my first and only! One dozen pan fried vegetarian dumplings for under $10. Grabbed a small tub of spicy chilli sauce to go with them and I was in heaven. These dumplings were so good - my mouth is watering just thinking about them. The service was good and, observing the patrons in the restaurant as I waited for my take away, everyone seemed pretty satisfied! Well done Dumpling Express!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raecheyraech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great selection of food!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the size of the place, they have a great range of available food for both eat in and take away. My favourite are the pork dumplings and the BBQ fried rice, very tasty! The service has always been spot on and the only real problem is that it's very busy during lunch time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaGreatNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, really nice owner.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place doesn’t look much from the outside – rather functional and “cafeteria” – but this is one of the times when Tripadvisor really does get it right. We chose it because it got good reviews, because our hotel was around the corner and because it gets rather tiresome to have to pay ‘Tasmanian’ prices for average food. This place is BYO (no corkage charge) and has a limited set of choices. While ‘dumplings’ are the mainstay of the menu (and pretty good), the BBQ pork noodles were the standout – really good. The best way to describe this place is – nothing fancy, just simple and well cooked, tasty and reasonably priced food. We spoke to the owner and he is really nice, friendly and talkative. He asked our names and engaged in conversation – many other Tasmanian restaurants/cafes seem to think that customer service is not important or give it only a cursory attempt. This place is centrally located and well worth visiting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good Tasty Dumplings”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you are interested in good tasting quick easy eating place then I would recommend this little place. Its not a grand place but a good food outlet for other take away or a quick bite
I hope we get more places like this in Hobart soon

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SNTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumpling Express also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Dumpling Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing