We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Werndee warmth”
Review of Werndee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Werndee
Ranked #16 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in the cottage at Werndee for 8 nights. Robyn & Jan were very welcoming, with lovely touches such as home-made jams, butter, bread & milk for a first afternoon tea. The cottage is comfortable, with homely features, and nestled in a great garden up away from the street. North Hobart, the State Cinema and the city centre are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Werndee is such a beautiful place. We stayed at the Caretakers Cottage and it really felt like a home away from home. It was such a friendly and welcome atmosphere. Robyn and Jan were wonderful hosts and we were spoilt with special treats of home made jam (best I've ever tasted) and chocolate biscuits. We were able to get around Hobart easily from Werndee and it was a wonderful place to return to at the end of the day. Would love a return visit some time. Thanks :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pensway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

stayed at one of the Auvergne apartments, lovely lounge, good kitchen and dining area, 2 double bedrooms, bathroom with shower and bath, plus a utlility room complete with washer. dryer, iron etc.Mine hosts, Robyn and Jan could not have been more helpful if they tried.We stayed for 3 months as we were visiting family who lived nearby.Could not fault this place, will return again asap.We stayed from February 12 to end April 12.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Caretakers cottage as it was pet friendly. We we quite surprise as to how roomy and comfortable is was. There was home made jams left for us to enjoy for breakfast. Tea, and plunger coffee and chocolates were provided. Bathroom was a good size with good quality towels and bed linen. It was so central to Elizabeth street were all the main shops/restaurants are you could have walked it. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, we will certainly go back again..thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently stayed three nights in the Wren Cottage and could not fault it in any way.
From the little extras of home made jams, fruit, chocolates plus much more it really made our trip. Also included was free Wi-Fi and dvd's to watch. The kitchen was adequate for our use and there was an ample supply of tea and coffee and other requirements if you wished to cook.
Robyn Jan and Puss were great hosts with nothing to much trouble.
It will definitely be our only place to stay in Hobart on future trips.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GT1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is our second visit to Werndee, on both occasions we have found the owners Robyn and Jan to be more than excellent hosts. The property itself sits high and proud in Mount Stuart, within walking distance to the varied bars and eateries ofNorth Hobart, the self catering units consist of both modern and traditional space, as I write we are in the Werndee Apartment, it is within the main house and is comfortable and very spacious.We would definitely recommend this,it is very rare to find such old fashioned genuine service. Well Done!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We first stayed at Werndee in 2010 and have returned 3 times since then. We prefer self catering apartment style accommodation when we travel and Werndee is perfect. The property consists of 4 modern apartments (Auvergne), 2 cottages and 2 more apartments attached to the main house where the wonderful owners reside, Jan & Robyn. This stunning house (mansion) was built by a former Premier of Tasmania circa 1905 and is dripping with history.
Werndee has an amazing garden with fruit trees, berries, herbs etc. On arrival we were supplied with the most wonderful home made jams with fruit from the garden.
The apartments are incredibly well equipped, attention to detail is second to none.
Location is superb, just north of the famous North Hobart restaurant precinct which is within walking distance. Great Hill St Grocer very close by too.
All in all a great base for a Hobart holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
2 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
472 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
1.6 mi away
Sullivans Cove Apartments - Hunter Street
1.1 mi away
Corinda Collection
Corinda Collection
#18 of 55 in Hobart
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Werndee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Werndee

Address: 1 Mortimer Ave | Mount Stuart, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $109 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-Contained Accommodation in Hobart Tasmania Australia Werndee offers affordable modern and heritage accommodation located in Hobart, Tasmania, 5 minutes from the CBD. Our apartments and holiday units are self-contained and we have pet friendly and wheelchair friendly options. We are within walking distance to North Hobart's cafes, shops and State Cinema complex. Nearby attractions including Salamanca Place, MONA and Mount Wellington are all a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Werndee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Werndee Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing