We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away as they say”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We spent a week here. The premium apartment was extremely well appointed and spotless. The staff were friendly and helpful. You need to be on level 3 or 4 for a view over the commercial buildings, but very close to Salamanca Place and all the harbour spots. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on level 3 or 4 for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 434 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for one week and was quite pleased with the experience. I had more than enough room and the apartment was clean, bed comfy, bathroom large and well appointed. Best of all, I could easily walk to fine restaurants and to the docks for various activities such as ferry to MONA, excursion to Bruny Island, Salamanca Saturday market. The little restaurant connected to the hotel is only open M - F and only until 3 pm. Also the front desk is not covered 24/7 and on some days only until 4 pm. I had no problems with that arrangement but I can imagine it being inconvenient for some.

Strangely, the bed in my bedroom was almost flush to the wall of cabinets and closet. That made for awkward access.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for six nights, arriving beyond jet lagged from the UK to a friendly welcome. Reception is basically a small hallway with a cupboard (no-one there at night). Staff were very friendly and efficient. The place itself has really lovely, modern apartments, which are very well maintained and have all facilities you could need from cooking through to washing machine (powder supplied). TV in bedroom as well as living area, Wi-Fi worked well. The sheets, towels supplied were pristine, which along with the massive bed made sleeping all too easy. There is a balcony, although not particularly scenic, but fresh air meant sitting out was very pleasant. There is a gourmet cafe below, which is only open Mon-Fri (sadly not when we really needed it). Cannot really think of any negatives, other than lack of a view. To buy food etc. it is a 5 minute walk to Salamanca fresh. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NW6_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our initial impressions were guarded having arrived at 7.30 pm to find that the door was locked and that access was via an intercom and a keypad. The voice at the other end was pleasant and helpful if the sound quality of intercom was compromised. Still, this was an impersonal introduction to the hotel to two tired and luggage-laden seniors.
Once inside, the decor was tasteful and stylish. In particular, the use of Tasmanian recycled wood was delightful.
The room was again clean and discretely styled. Perhaps the emphasis on decluttering has extended a little far. Like many modern bathrooms, there is never a horizontal space to store wet packs, toiletries etc.
Polished wooden floors in the public space outside our room were a little noisy. Our room was beside the lift which was not a problem apart from conversation of those using it.
The person on the desk in the morning was extremely helpful. She assisted us regarding car parking which can be a major issue for those staying there

Room Tip: Arrive before closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Equanimitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Two minute walk to Salamanca Markets which adjoins Wharf and Parliament precincts, but not right in the hustle and bustle. City centre leisurely10 minute walk. Occasional late evening vehicle and pedestrian noise but if you've stayed in London, Sydney etc it's more akin to a country village.
New,fresh,clean Studio room which was well appointed for our purposes, we were out sightseeing mostly. Comfy bed,nice bathroom,adequate kitchenette. Car parking is via a stacker system, but works well, all done in 2 minutes, only seems slow if other people arrive just before you. Reception not staffed overnight, no problem to us, all access technology works seamlessly.Other reviewers have mentioned lack of clothes hanging space and this is something that owners could address, our closet could be reorganised to achieve this. Travelling for 3 weeks, we each had a medium sized suitcase,so most storing/retrieval was done via bags on floor. There was no luggage rack(mentioned to reception). Wooden floors are nice but noise from leather heels can become annoying early morning or late night, I think we managed to score a tap dancer one morning around 6.30am! Maybe a note in the compendium? Internal noise insulation otherwise better than most. Staff, cheerful and welcoming, nice atmosphere.
Hanging space, tap dancer...would definitely stay here again, has lots of pluses, maybe some fine tuning puts it into Top 5 contention.

Room Tip: Stayed on Castray Esp. frontage., higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDJ750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great room, opening windows, great bed. Not 24 hour reception but easy after hours access. Highly recommend to all travellers. Room also had laundry facilities.
Good cafe in building for breakfast.
Close to salamanca.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

…and did I mention that it is really well oriented for exploring: Salamanca Place and the Saturday markets, the Hobart Harbourside as well as the many restaurants in the area. Also, it’s a short walk to the MONA ferry service dock.

The hotel is reasonably new and exquisitely designed providing what is, essentially a full apartment with quality fittings for cooking and, should you choose, doing your washing. It is exceptionally quiet with very little extraneous noise penetrating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Wharf Hotel

Address: 17A Castray Esplanade, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $157 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamanca Wharf Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Salamanca Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Wharf Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing