We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, relaxing , and great food”

Frankies Empire Coffee House
Ranked #25 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Hobart
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Utilising Tasmania’s wonderful fresh produce, Frankies Empire offers nourishing food styles from around the world with antipodean flair. Refreshingly laid back the cafe is no nonsense with a small but versatile menu and good solid coffee. The space is charming and relaxed offering a delightful oasis in the city. Frankies is a family business developed out of the love of cooking and eating together and an involvement in the arts and music community of Hobart. Housing a small recording studio and performance space upstairs Frankies holds regular intimate music and art events. With a strong focus on supporting local emerging artists, a monthly exhibition is displayed on the cafe walls.
Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Quirky, relaxing , and great food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

There's a small menu, but the food is very good.
The Pakora platter is actually enough for two unless you are really hungry - and its very tasty - as good as I've ever had in an Indian restaurant.
The coffee is pretty good too.
We also tried a piece of cake - ginger and molasses. Unusual and very nice indeed.
The atmosphere is inviting and cosy and the staff friendly. Even better, on the last visit , the girl serving / waiting had a lovely French accent. Makes the whole experience that much better!
Recommended
I might try something else next time - then again I might have the pakoras again !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quiet, relaxed atmosphere with well priced interesting food and very nice coffee”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Small but roomy, good range of vegetarian food. Coffee was subtle not really strong which I like. Quick service and pleasant enough. nice addition to provide power points along the wall at the tables to plug in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tazzie-Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“they do suspended meals or coffee, for those who do not know what that is read on”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere and great coffee also fantastic staff. They also along with others in Hobart and other places in the world do suspended meals or coffee.This is where you pay for coffee and/or meals but they are suspended for homeless people or people who are just in need of a decent feed or a hot drink. I think this is wonderfull, my daughter and I often go for lunch and always buy suspended coffee and sometimes a few meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veramit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent quirky cafe”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We popped into Frankie's for lunch, tempted by previous reviews and the fact that it was right next to where we parked the car.
The menu wasn't the longest, but I don't take that to be a bad sign. Everything on display looked tempting, home made and fresh; but we ended up ordered the chalk board specials. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and attentive. The next time we're in Hobart we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zerofreezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Walked past, didn't know it was there. Went back as looked rather different. Very good friendly service, best coffee, interesting decor. Noticed beautiful pides, focaccia etc and home made cakes. Looked wonderful but paid for coffee and left. Half an hour later, got cross with myself and walked all the way back, bought the vegetarian focaccia and a slice of Russian Apple Cake ! So glad I did....delicious,fresh and excellent value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankies Empire Coffee House also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Frankies Empire Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing