We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine cellar atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grape Wine Bar

Grape Wine Bar
Ranked #94 of 594 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An industrial wine bar in the heart of Salamanca, serving tapas, wine, exsquisite cocktails, craft beer & boutique spirits.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine cellar atmosphere”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We came for a pre-dinner drink but ended up staying and ordering a range of tapa-style dishes to eat. Ironically, were drinking beer and cider which while both were very good - in hindsight were a silly idea, as the walls are lined with some outstanding bottles of both local and mainland/international wines that can be purchased for either consumption or takeway. The food was pretty good - with standouts being the croquettes and the veal & ricotta meatballs. I was intrigued by the whole suckling pig on the menu - first time I had seen it, but noted it requires 72hrs notice for preparation and would probably feed the entire bar - $350 for reference. Service was ok, but being that we were a group of 6 - most places I would have expected to be more pro-active in taking drinks orders and offering table service. The atmosphere was more suited to a romantic wine with a date though, so we went next door to Cargo straight after eating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    76
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine bar”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great service, atmosphere. Wide selection of wines, reasonably expensive, but worth it. The review is for wine only, notfood

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linmitgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great wine list and a nice selection of tapas”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a glass or two of wine and some tapas for dinner...very good selection and unusual combinations. Has a good wine bar vibe although a little noisy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank star7_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I just love this place. The atmosphere is just like being in a wine cellar (heaven for me), I love the wine bottles stacked on every wall, the industrial chairs, the farmhouse tables, the nooks with comfy lounges and cushions and the subdued lighting from the single bulb light fittings. The organic apple cider is delightfully refreshing, crisp and not too sweet. The whiskey is smooth and silky and the Pinot selection is considered and very good. The staff are very efficient and obliging. The food menu is most adequate bearing in mind it is a bar and the wood fired pizza I ordered came swiftly and hit the spot! This is a great place to go on a cold night to relax with a warming red.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissPearlPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome way to buy wine!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was looking for a bottle shop and was told I get what I wanted t here....it was a great restaurant, atmosphere was great, food looked really good. The wine is kept in locked cages around the circumference of the restaurant/bar only to be accessed by the bar staff with a drill. loved it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jutes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grape Wine Bar also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Grape Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing