We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owners, wake up it could be great”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mu Lan Restaurant

Mu Lan Restaurant
Ranked #133 of 594 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Owners, wake up it could be great”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

You need some organisation within the establishment, staff can hardly speak English or are to shy to, they need training, the food was good but overpriced apart from the duck breast which was fair or perhaps even underpriced but the other dishes we had a least and that was 5 other ones were either overpriced or too small.
I think the wine list could be seriously looked at if you want to charge those prices for food, and In desperate need of some trained professional staff. Good luck

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodfoodaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    58
    15
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sort the service and Mu Lan worth a visit”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We understand Mu Lan is a relative new comer to the North Hobart strip so there may be some teething issues, but you need to get the basics right to surive. Food was great, extensive menu, nice wine list, well presented meals and fresh ingredients. However the music was turned off at 9pm and on paying the bill with large notes it was assumed a considerable amount of change was all tip, when we corrected this error the waitress said she didnt have access to change as place was packed up. She finally corrected, so we could decide on the tip. left a bad taste in our mouth after a nice meal. Putting service aside, which is hard to do, food was great and worth a visit. Lets hope Mu Lan can work on their customer service skills and thrive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weloveaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Silky eggplant, solid dumplings!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We think this is quite recently opened, and it was a bit hit and miss. The eggplant appetizer was great, silky and well flavoured, the pan stick dumplings tough and chewy... The duck pancakes ultra generous and cooked well, the prawns quite mean and lacking Szechuan pepper. Worth a revisit soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“New Kid on the Block”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the newest restaurant in North Hobart. It was full and turning people away. It has a nice
fit out. There are a lot of waiters to help you. The wine list is sufficient with few wines by the glass and no sparkling wines by the glass at all.
The menu is not large for a chinese restaurant but had a nice array of dishes. The food was
cooked nicely and well presented. It is up market but not as culinary good as Me Wah in Sandy Bay. Worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mu Lan Restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Mu Lan Restaurant has opened in the old butcher's shop in North Hobart. The food was very good and the restaurant was quite busy on the Friday night that my partner and I went. The restaurant had been opened for only 4 weeks according to the staff. The decor is modern, tasteful and the furniture is comfortable . I'll certainly be back to try other dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyellwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mu Lan Restaurant also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Mu Lan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing