We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average is correct”

Charcoal Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #139 of 595 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Charcoal - Hobart's newest restaurant is now under construction in the CBD!!..... and the word is its going to be good! It's modern, it's stylish, it's fresh and Charcoal will be the new place to be seen! Catch up with friends after work .... stay a while and enjoy a bite to eat - Savour the food, soak up the vibe at Charcoal. Charcoal - opening soon in Collins Street - opposite Country Road.
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average is correct”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is modern and stylish and very comfortable indeed. The service is ok. The issue is the food is expensive for what you get and the pizzas professing to
Be woodfired just don't taste like they are. The portions are small.

Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    46
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had pizza from here which was just ok however the chips and dips were very nice and they were friendly and helpful

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small portions and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Pleasant personnel - though slow service. We'd been to a number of places in Tasmania where portions seemed small and prices high. This was similar and was compounding our disappointment as we were having trouble finding value for money eateries on our Tasmanian tour. Outdoor seating for bar is in a pleasant courtyard - it's just cigarette smoke filed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“proper pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I'm a real fan of proper Italian pizza, being thin crust tomato base and minimal toppings but with great flavour. That is exactly what Charcoal offer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Decor was amazing and gave the impression the good would be also , dined with a group of friends , the waitor seemed a little scattered , the food - we had pizza and just needed a little more flavour but the lamb chip was to die for just not enough :/ . I liked the quirky way things were presented eg crab in the caviar tin . A little bit pricey but overall bit disappointed

Helpful?
Thank karla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Charcoal Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing