We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little spot”
Review of The Soup Stop

The Soup Stop
Ranked #92 of 595 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: A vibrant eating place located very close to Hobart City Centre. We offer warm, nourishing soups, a range of traditional and contemporary Indian food, and some of the best hot and cold drinks in town. The soup menu is truly impressive. All are hearty soups which fill the spot. They are full of natural ingredients and provide a great healthy option for any meal throughout the day. We are also known for our tapas-style Street Food of India menu, a selection of lip-smacking roadside dishes from all corners of the subcontinent. We are excited to be the first and only place in Hobart to offer this lively genre of Indian Cuisine. We look forward to seeing you here.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great little spot”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Authentic and super tasty food! Loved the Indian street food. Friendly service too. Would have loved to try everything on the menu, I will definitely come back to this place if I'm ever in Hobart again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evanfromheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More than soup! ”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Good little lunch spot. Misleading name, indian owners with good curries too, not just soup. $10 curry and rice or naan. Curry servings are a bit on the small side. Lovely vego curries cooked to order or from bai marie.

Helpful?
Thank Bluetinwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home-cooked Indian meal, traditional or modern”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The lovely couple who runs this restaurant will make you feel like you have entered their house for dinner. This is partly because there is just one table - really. But the dining room is ringed with bar-style seating too. The decor is very pleasant too. But most importantly, the recipes are packed with fresh and interesting ingredients. Each dish we ordered a different home-made bread accompanying it, such as flat cornbread and a delicious deep-fried puffy bread. One of the owners brought the food one dish at a time and presented it to us with a look of tremendous pride. It was a wonderful experience. Hard to believe it is bordering on fast-food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarcharanKaur, Owner at The Soup Stop, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks a lot ! Glad you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food - wonderful value”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Amazing lunchtime experience - choice of six vegetarian soups. Samples available to help make up your mind. Then served in great big boils with fresh bread. Room could do with an air-conditioner on sunny days!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DawnHendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I had a simple curry with Naan and Mango Lassi. The food is quite tasty, especially the lassi, fresh made and it's the best ever! The price is quite reasonable and the owners are friendly, with warm smile on the faces all the time. Will be back for sure!

Helpful?
1 Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Soup Stop also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Soup Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing