We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, amazing view!”

Signal Station Brasserie
Ranked #132 of 595 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Service, amazing view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We rocked up without a booking for lunch several weeks ago and were met with a "Fully Booked" sign; however the waitress found us a seat in no time with a great view and we received great service. We both had a devonshire tea and the scones were fantastic!
Would definitely return again and I'm looking forward to trying their dinner menu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kempie306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    76
    28
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Long long wait. ..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked our table for 12.30 on a rainy Sunday afternoon and arrived 10 minutes early. The place was full but we were given a really nice table with a great view.

After that, they almost forgot about us. Half an hour later we were still looking around for someone to take our order. Finally we attracted someone's attention and we both ordered venison shanks.

Again there was a long wait for the food to turn up, and by 1.30 we were still waiting.

Finally our long awaited lunch arrived. .. and it was delicious! The venison shanks melted off the bone just as we like them.
My only whinge is that there was too much red wine jus such that the pumpkin puree (which was a bit runny) was lost in the sauce.
The Yorkshire pudding was also slightly burnt and dry.

Overall, I'd recommend but be prepared to wait! Maybe they're under staffed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0ttallen, Owner at Signal Station Brasserie, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I do apologise for the lengthy delay on Sunday, I was extremely conscious of it.

My only defence was that we had been a lot busier than anticipated over the previous 2 days and nights and my kitchen needed some time to setup for lunch. Not much of an excuse, but a reality as we have grown so quickly. Measures have been put in place to rectify what had happened on the weekend you were here.
Scott Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Evening Dinning Try it you won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our group of eight went to the opening night of evening dinning. between us we had a variety of dishes all were enjoyed. The highlights were seafood chowder ,the wallaby & duck mains. But the standout was the parfait for dessert.
Delicious food, stunning view of Hobart & surrounds at night, thoughtful staff.
We already talked about when we could return. Good value for a great evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottngeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Went for breakfast with family and 2 young children. Booked for 9 am (opening time). We were not first there but only 2 tables with 2 couples already seated. Took a while to get menus, and drink orders taken while we perused the food on offer. Having children with us we did think we might get their drinks and food etc a bit earlier but no, they came only about 5 minutes before food. It also took quite a while for waitress to come back to take food orders, which was fine, except it was a full hour from order taken to food on table A bit hard with small children. However the food was excellent, just too slow coming to the table. Think they may have had a staff shortage, maybe someone let them down at the last minute. We will definitely go again, but maybe make them aware we are on a time schedule. Views are fantastic, and a lovely historic building with history to match.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucystellaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

A catch up lunch with a friend became an excellent dining experience. Firstly the setting - the views are the best in Hobart. Even with scudding winter showers, we could see the whole south east of Tasmania. The sun room (and yes there was sun) was a beautiful place to sit.
I ate the slow cooked pork belly with Franks Cider apple - melt in the mouth with just enough crackle. My friend enjoyed the vegetarian risotto.
I didn't plan on having desert but the menu tempted me with White Chocolate and vanilla panacotta with turkish delight, pistachio and fairy floss. Willy Wonka made this for adults!!!!!
Service was efficient and very friendly.
Currently just open for lunches, they will soon be serving evening meals on a Friday evening. We'll be there!
Can't recommend the meal and the experience highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngmerinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signal Station Brasserie also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Signal Station Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing