We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous breakfast for three”

Signal Station Brasserie
Ranked #175 of 600 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast for three”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We called with only half an hour's notice and were lucky enough to get a table even though it was a very busy Sunday morning. We had lovely hot breakfasts, generous serves, lovely sides. Out toddler daughter was accommodated with a booster seat without us having to ask. Just make sure you dress warm as the beautiful big windows can mean a seat with a view is understandably chilly in the winter months.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fattyandskinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0ttallen, Owner at Signal Station Brasserie, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Fattyandskinny,

Thank you for taking the time to review our new restaurant.
It means a GREAT deal to us that you have done this, and am honoured that people are taking the time to do so.

As for being cold, we are doing our best to counteract the glass effects in the morning. :)

Please let me know if I can do anything for you in the future.
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    79
    29
    22
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“ticks the boxes”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

From the top of the driveway the 270 degree views of Hobart and the river are amazing. We were greeted by the friendly manager Scott who took us to a window table for more of that view and settled in for the next couple of hours. The main course duck was delicious as was the seafood curry, both enjoyed with a Tasmanian pinot noir. For dessert, chocolate! The cottage layout with separate rooms and verandah means that every table feels private and cosy. The large room in the middle would be great for a party of 20 or 30 people. We recommend the Signal Station Brasserie and look forward to another visit to work our way further through the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller4006_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0ttallen, Owner at Signal Station Brasserie, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
To all who have taken the time to write reviews of us, Both Brian and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
We truly love the honesty and integrity you all have contributed to our new venture.
Scott Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful brunch”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

What better than a range of fresh, locally sourced foods, great ambience including a warm fire with stunning views over Hobart. Recommended for anyone and everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank starlet2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0ttallen, Owner at Signal Station Brasserie, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us here.

I'm glad you had a great morning,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Still a great place”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Even though the name has changed to the signal station brasserie and there has been a change of owners this quaint little cottage offering some of the best views in Hobart still manages to offer so much. My partner and I turned up without a reservation, just on the off chance there was a spot, I didn't even know if it was still trading as it had been a few years since I last visited. And low and behold new staff, new name and just as busy as always, the lovely girl that greeted us managed to find us a seat and was very apologetic that she couldn't sit us out on the verandah with the view as all of those tables were reserved but she managed to find us a good seat near the heater. The service, for a busy little place, was fast and courteous we ordered a chicken ceaser salad and a breakfast bruschetta both of these were very tasty and filling, the hot chocolate's were some of the best I gave tasted. Well worth a visit, I know we will be back, with a reservation next time

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yabbie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0ttallen, Owner at Signal Station Brasserie, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
To all who have taken the time to write reviews of us, Both Brian and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
We truly love the honesty and integrity you all have contributed to our new venture.
Scott Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Good food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were a group of four adults who arrived without a booking at the restaurant, we were greeted by Scott (the owner) and ushered to a table. Scott has a engaging personality, was very welcoming and treated us like family.
We all ordered a main meal: Duck, Veal, Seafood curry. The food was generous in portion size, it passed the taste test and the elements complemented the dish. The presentation was attractive and the food was delicious.
We recommend dining at this establishment, you will enjoy the experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0ttallen, Owner at Signal Station Brasserie, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
To all who have taken the time to write reviews of us, Both Brian and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
We truly love the honesty and integrity you all have contributed to our new venture.
Scott Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signal Station Brasserie also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Signal Station Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing