We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and well equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampden At Battery Point Apartments
Ranked #18 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Given the mixed reviews I read about these apartments on this website I was a bit concerned about what we would find at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments. I need not have worried however. These are not glitzy luxury apartments, (nor do they purport to be in any of their advertising!) but they are clean, comfortable, well equipped accomodation in an excellent location.
I would not hesitate to stay at these apartments again, and I would recommend them to my friends and fellow tripadvisor readers.

Room Tip: Room 202 is on one level, whereas others in the block have living downstairs and bedroom upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carpetshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear carpetshark,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us at Hampden at Battery Point Apartments. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our apartments clean and comfortable. We absolutely agree - our self contained apartments are very well located right on the fringe of Battery Point, well maintained and very clean and comfortable.

Thank you again for your review, and we do hope to welcome you back to Hampden at Battery Point.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Hampden at Battery Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

My Dad stayed here for a couple of days earlier this year. We is in a wheelchair and we were able to get him a wheelchair accessible room (the only one perhaps). The presence of a small kitchen was also great.

For his purposes it worked perfectly and came at a reasonable price on the busy Easter weekend.

If you are in a wheelchair, or traveling with people in one, this is a good value option. (It is Worth keeping in mind there is bit of a hill up from Salamanca Place (fine for walking, a little harder for an older person in a wheelchair, so having a car helps).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xdamianx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Hampden at Battery Point Apartments. I am so pleased that the apartment suited your father's needs and that he enjoyed his stay. We do have one wheelchair accessible apartment which is very convenient.

Thank you again for your impressions, and we do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hampden at Battery Point Apartment.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Hampden at Battery Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I read other reviews of this place and for some of them i kept haveing to look around the room to see what they were refering to.
The location is excellant, the furnishings are the best i have ever seen in a self catering apartment. The staff were very helpful;ok they were only available by phone, but still they helped solve the quries i had, so they cant be faulted. Yes the washer dryer is interesting, but what it requires is patience and read the instructions. Not hard at all.
I would recommend this place highly.
One further thing,it does advertise that service is not daily. All this required was a call and a timetable was aranged.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AOW-Canuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear AOW-Canuk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at Hampden at Battery Point. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay! Yes we agree that we have a fantastic location, right on the fringe of historic Battery Point and the Salamanca dining precinct. Our staff do work really hard to ensure all our guests have a fantastic stay - thank you for your kind words and please be assured they have been shared with the team.

Thank you again, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Hampden at Battery Point in the future.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Hampden at Battery Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write a fair review of this place.

To its credit, it is in a good location and the rooms are spacious. Having small things like complimentary shampoos, conditioners and tea bags mean a lot. Everything was clean and the bed was comfy (although were comprised of two single beds put together as one and they were at uneven heights). And they do have a back up option for a spare key (despite not having staff in house.... See next point).

To its discredit, it does not make clear in the advertising or initial emails that the apartment is without in-house staff. As such we had to rely on telephones to contact staff, and just as it was on previous reviews, they were not always immediately available. At the front of the apartment as well, they have a button to press for immediate contact, but that is seemingly unmanned. This is incredibly inconvenient in instances when one is without a mobile phone for whatever reason (just as I was at one point).

Because of this, instructions for how to get into the apartment should be listed on the PDF attached to the email that they instruct their guests to print out... Not just the email.

Not having any staff at the apartments also meant there were no services like "luggage storage", which is typical of most accommodations. Although the accommodation costs are neither cheap or expensive, it is something we expected and we had to chance it that the MONA ferry terminal would be able to hold our bags instead (they could).

The rest has been mentioned previously. Internet was not accessible, dryer did not dry (but actually, I believe this is typical of all dryer washers, but still it should not be advertised as having these options), tv reception is shocking. It also may sound a little strange, but I found it quite annoying to have the bedroom / bathroom not in the ground level. The stairs are quite narrow and steep, and made me feel uneasy having to climb them all the time, despite the fact that I am young and mobile.

Although we were happy with the location and its convenience, we would not stay here again or recommend anyone else to stay here. For the money we spent, I feel like we could have got a lot better. The morale of the story is to book your accommodation earlier so you can choose some place other than this

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank May K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear May K,

Thank you for your detailed feedback in relation to your recent stay with us at Hampden at Battery Point. You've made some great points there, and we've taken these on board.

We are available at all times via phone for our guests, and are only too happy to help. We are based at our sister property, Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, which is located just down the road and are just a phone call away.

Thank you again for your feedback, as it is through our guest's impressions that we can continually upgrade our products and services.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Hampden at Battery Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

These apartments are situated in a great location just up the hill from Salamanca Markets. So a great central place to be situated in Hobart. The main disappointments were the apartment itself. 1. The TV reception was shocking. It couldn't play half the channels and just crackled which limited what was available to watch. 2. There was a washing machine with integrated dryer which did not work. After a call to the manager we managed to get it to wash but to dry it just didn't happen. There was no hanging facilities to dry clothes outside either. 3. We stayed for 6 nights and only had the room serviced once which is appalling. We had an overflowing bin and had to resort to supermarket plastic bags to store rubbish. They didn't even provide additional bin bags so that we could empty the bin ourselves. Very poor indeed. This needs attention as these issues should not be experienced at all. Will not be recommending.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DAPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear DAPerth,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Hampden at Battery Point Apartments. We really appreciate all feedback from our guests, as it helps us to continually improve our products and services.

Yes, we agree that we are in a fantastic location - right on the fringe of Battery Point and walking distance to the CBD, Salamanca Place dining precinct and the ferry terminals. I was disappointed to read that the apartment did not meet your expectations and that your room was not services appropriately by housekeeping. I do apologise and would like to assure you this is not our usual high standard of service. As we are self contained apartments we offer a service every 3 days - I am sorry that your rubbish was not collected. We are always available for our guests and just a phone call away - next time you stay please do contact us should you have any issues at all.

Thank you again for your impressions, and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hampden at Battery Point in the future.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Hampden at Battery Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very good quiet location within easy walking distance of Salamanca, Battery Point and the city. Large apartments with plenty of living space, reasonable size bedroom with built in wardrobe, separate bathroom, also spacious, with laundry included. Good supply of basic kitchen equipment with attention to detail - paper towel, detergent etc. Very clean. View from large windows over the city and harbour from the north facing upper units.Very secure, gated underground parking and keypad building entry. Recommended.

Room Tip: Apartment 202, or adjacent, has the north facing view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAOztwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear SAOztwo,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Hampden at Battery Point Apartments. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apartments are very well appointed and spacious and ideal for guests who are staying for a few days. We are very lucky to have such a great location, and offer guests comfort in a very secure environment.

Thank you again for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We do hope to welcome you back to Hampden at Battery Point again.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Hampden at Battery Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place, nice and clean. Only two things we weren't happy with. One is the bed. It's 2 singles put together but was listed as king bed. The other is a bit petty but no sharp knives. Only knife that cut anything was serrated edge one. But that's being a bit too picky I think. Air con works well especially with this stinking heat of 39 degrees today.
Nothing else to fault about Unit 109. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedAwnings, General Manager at Hampden At Battery Point Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear thepixie,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Hampden at Battery Point Apartments. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback about the lack of sharp knives in the kitchen - we've rectified this. Hobart experienced a very hot summer this year, with many days reaching the mid to high 30's, and all apartments are conveniently equipped with a reverse cycle air conditioner in the lounge and bedroom making the rooms very comfortable.

Thank you again, we really appreciate our guest's impressions as it allows us to continually upgrade our products and services. We do hope to welcome you back to Hampden at Battery Point in the future.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Hampden at Battery Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
553 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampden At Battery Point Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampden At Battery Point Apartments

Address: 123 Hampden Road, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $109 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampden At Battery Point Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampden at Battery Point Apartments a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments PropertyHampeden at Battery Point Apartments are nestled in Hobart’s premier suburb, Battery Point, hidden away from the main city streets. The apartments are within five minutes’ walk of the renowned Salamanca Markets, the first class restaurants of Battery Point and only ten minutes’ walk from the center of the city! All 16 one bedroom apartments come fully equipped with cooking facilities, flat screen televisions in the lounge and the bedroom, modern bathroom facilities and Broadband Internet and for your comfort Split Heating and Cooling systems in the Bedroom and the Lounge area;sSpacious floor space and separate bedroom and lounge room area’s ensure privacy with your choice of either balcony or courtyard apartments with outdoor settings and undercover secure car parking. An easy 5 minute walk from your Apartment and you arrive at Hobart's Historic Battery Point; take a journey through time as you soak up the atmosphere of this Historic village, continue along the narrow streets that wind themselves down towards the water front and Salamanca, where you will find art galleries, restaurants, cafes, shops and bars. All this right on your doorstep!Or take a left turn from your apartments for a leisurely stroll along Sandy bay road through St David's park and along Davey Street onto Murray Street soaking up Hobart's most stunning display of heritage architecture into the Hobart Central business district.Hampden At Battery Point Apartments really are the very best location to base yourself and discover Hobart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hampden At Battery Point Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampden At Battery Point Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing