We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Funky, but functional"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corinda Contemporary
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed for three nights in "the little one" March 2014. This is very funky, but functional self-contained one bedroom apartment.
The fully-equipped kitchen, and the provided breakfast pack, meant I could spend a leisurely morning enjoying breakfast on the deck. The gardens provide a very pleasant outlook.
The location is very quiet. It is just on the edge of the CBD and is a 10-15 minute walk to the waterfront. The return home is steep but an excellent way to walk off dinner.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oz_Kiwi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the big one at the start of our trip to tassie. The decor is fascinating, like being in an art gallery. Each of our bedrooms had an ensuite & flat screen TV. The lighting system was great with several different settings eg romantic mood lighting. It was a short walk into Hobart town, so easy to get around though it is a hilly area. The gardens next door at Corinda are beautiful and the hosts are lovely & welcoming. If you want to stay somewhere a bit out of the ordinary in Hobart then 2 on 2 is the place.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Mark and Roz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our Tassie trip. Three couples. It certainly set a benchmark, the house 2 on 2 was exactly what anyone would wish for. A beautifully restored house in a gorgeous garden setting. The house was beautifully furnished and fixtures and fittings were first class. Each couple had there own room with ensuite. Pantry was excellent with everything there to make cooking Hobarts fine produce a pleasure. Walking distance to Hobart waterfront about 15 mins. Walking a good idea as long term parking almost impossible to find at the weekend. We would definitely stay here again. A credit to the owners.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Raydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

7 of us from Sydney & Adelaide stayed in the 'big one' for a week recently. The cottage is very beautiful and user friendly with great attention to detail. Everything was perfect, the staff and owners were welcoming and housekeeping were excellent. The gardens are stunning. It is rare to find accommodation of this quality. We had an enjoyable week at 2on2 and would definitely stay again when next we visit Hobart. Thank you Wilmah, Matthew & lovely staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hobart is a marvellous city, though in the past we have stayed down in the city. Whilst close to everything, motel rooms lack community. This time we shared a magnificent accommodation with a group of (11) friends - 2 on 2 in Glebe.
The property is split between an awesomely renovated "big house", another new studio which both feed onto a marvellous centre veggie garden with sculptures and rock/ steel highlights; then colonial accommodation attached to the main house Corinda. The hosts have designed the accommodation and there are no corners cut in ensuring the house flows freely with a central kitchen and lounge for communal gathering. A deck looks over the gardens mentioned earlier.
There is a marvellous fusion of timber floors, heritage mirrors, avant garden sculpture and modern open kitchen area. It works really well. We gathered each evening in the big house and there was room without overcrowding to have a wine, nibbles and catch up.
The walk into town is about 20 minutes, though it doesn't seem to take that long, with the walk through the UTAS precinct then along the waterfront quite relaxing.
The provisions are good with reasonable continental brekkie fare (provedore level on first morning, with eggs, fresh foods etc). Cooking appliances and saucepans are all good quality (scanpan). There are good quality irons and a washing machine in the big house - which was handy after a few days travel. Given the quality of fit out, it was a little surprising there wasn't a auto coffee machine - that really would have finished it off (and would have likely had us hang about longer of a morning) before the need to wander over to Salamanca in search of morning coffees.
All in all, a great venue and a very real credit to hosts Wilmah and Matthew for what they have achieved.

Room Tip: Front main bedroom has a spa if this is sought after. Don't be afraid to shop for your evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhenWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in the little one at the end of Jan. Fabulous accommodation - beautifully decorated with all the facilities you could need for a couple of nights. Our hosts were helpful and welcoming and the location was ideal for a short break in and around Hobart. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louiseherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in 'the big one' for 11 nights. The house is beautiful, spacious, luxurious and full of every comfort you could want. The breakfast hamper is extremely generous and the house is also stocked with things like Vegemite, olive oil, etc
The house is full of beautiful artworks, something new to discover every day. The property is linked to Corinda's Cottages so you can walk through the beautiful gardens. We absolutely loved our stay and hope to come again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank bottega s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0 mi away
Corinda Collection
Corinda Collection
#16 of 55 in Hobart
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,320 reviews
2 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinda Contemporary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinda Contemporary

Address: 2 Scott St | Glebe, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly 2 on 2)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $195 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Corinda Contemporary 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corinda Contemporary - That`s our name for two ultra-smart Pavilions tucked away in the garden that salute the 21st century. Choose one of these to put you in the mood for the cutting edge art at MONA! You can book for one night or longer. Each Pavilion has its own sun terrace. Both have full length windows, polished hardwood floors, state of the art kitchen and bathrooms, and mood lighting. The standard of design and finish in each is nothing short of breathtaking. Pavilion One has a big bedroom and en suite bathroom, plus generous sitting and eating areas and a well equipped kitchen. Pavilion Two is much larger, with two big bedrooms and bathrooms and a third that embraces the whole first floor – ideal for a child or two, or an extra guest. We provide breakfast essentials for your first morning, but you are welcome to eat in the main house (only a few steps away) if you prefer. You can use the big bar and drawing room there, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corinda Contemporary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinda Contemporary Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing