We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Smart Hotel on Hobart's central Quays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The Henry Jones is converted from an old jam factory. The conversion is both sympathetic and sometimes a littel quirky. We loved it!
We had a charming bedroom overlooking the quay. The bathroom was spacious and the bed comfortable. Valet parking was free.
The Henry Jones is very central for Hobart's sights and tours and there is a good selection of Restaurants nearby.
The hotel restaurant is also very good. We ate there twice during our two visits to Hobart. ( this was the last night of our tour of Hobart(. Good food and excellent wines, combined with great service gave us a night to remember.
Good Hotel with polite , attentive, staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LlewllynBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,361 - 1,367 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

We went to this hotel for my birthday and had an amazing stay. Thank you everything was just perfect. The customer service was outstanding, with Chris (our concierge) being extremely helpful. Keep up the good work :) . PS. it's nice to have a hotel with an open glass lift as well as stairs!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asap77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Chose this hotel based on the recommendations of friends, and from tripadvisor reviews. We were lucky enough to snag a deal at just over $AUD 200 per night from wotif.com (whilst Qantas was flogging rooms off at $AUD 350 per night).

Check-in: efficient and prompt. Not necessarily overly warm, but that's OK. That said, the dining recommendations were spot-on. Certainly the staff weren't haughty or stand-offish. Room: loft suite at the rear of the property, hence no view, but generous living area, loft bedroom, and small kitchenette (stove-top, microwave, sink, jug, crockery). The suites are extremely quiet, though Hobart isn't exactly the noisiest city in Australia. Free valet parking. Fantastic location right on Sullivans Cove: walking to Salamanca, Battery Point, restaurants, and the centre of Hobart is no more than 15 minutes.

The gym is pretty basic (see pics). The artwork is very impressive: a Sidney Nolan hangs on the restaurant wall, on sale for $AUD 880 000. The refurbishment of the building is great, with a covered atrium at the rear of the property. It's sensitive to the original sandstone building, and really well-done.

We were thrilled with our visit, and will definitely stay there again. Would happily recommend this place to all and sundry. See the pics and decide for yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardieBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

It is walking distance to EVERYTHING! I love this place! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Where do i begin? I booked a 2 bedroom funky bath unit and was very impressed with the furnishings. Since I was on the second floor, I had a good view of the city, but, I was there to enjoy the sights from the outside and not from my window. Just walk outside and experience the charm of Hobart! Everything is more than what I expected - restaurant at Tarraleah was better though, that place can't be beat. Stay her when in Hobart
George

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Pretty good hotel...in a 3 star sort of way. I X L ( I EXCEL) is their motto

When you check in, the guy behind the desk is one stop check in. He parks your car, he is your valet, he offers to give you a tour. He might even give you a hair cut if you need one. Everything about Tasmania is just a little strange
Even their bottle shop is called 9-11. what's up with that?

If you go out to dinner try the Ball and Chain restaurant. Its within walking distance, and very good.

Nothing remarkable, except to say it is an "art" hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aztraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Spent 3 nights at the Henry Jones from 9th April till 12th. I stayed in room 207 and have to say this is a stunning place. The room is large with a beautiful bathroom with walk in shower. The king size bed was so comfortable with lovely soft white sheets.

The room has internet at a charge but you only pay for what you use which is quite good and not to expensive.

Location is amazing, right on the harbour and just 5 minutes walk to the shops and salamanca market.

This place also has a nice gym with some good equipment.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_sg0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We only managed to stay here for one night but would certainly return here on our next trip to Hobart. The Hotel's uniqueness and comfort make it really stand out in the crowd of big faceless hotels.

Our room wasn't huge but it was very comfortable - excellent furnishings and decor, good lighting and an amazing bathroom with dual shower.

The free history and art tour on a Friday night is really worth going to (you don't have to stay in the hotel to do this) and I really liked that the hotel curator was on hand to answer any questions about the art or history of the hotel and Hobart. Never stayed in a hotel and learned so much!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $221 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing