We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, beautiful, amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2007

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank melissa_js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2007

After seeing this hotel's awards on its website (one of the best 150 hotels in the world, etc.) we booked in for for 2 nights and 3 days as part of our honeymoon. This hotel fell far short of its potential and was really disappointing, especially after recently staying at some fantastic hotels in Asia (Oriental, Singapore and Ritz Carlton, HK). Although it was expensive for an Australian regional hotel the service was terrible and the hotel seemed to be pinching pennies - i.e. charging for bottled water, not refreshing the bath gel, basic complimentary tea & coffee only, etc.
The whole check-in was not well done. The reception desk host was quite haughty, reluctantly decided to escort us to our room and then stood there waiting for us to unlock the room for him.
The room was quite large and looked good, but it was not functional. We ordered room service and there was nowhere to put the food, the wait staff then had to ask us for suggestions on how to set up the meal. The dinner was expensive and too "artsy" - we ordered pasta and there was very little pasta.
The bathroom, meant to be a feature, was badly designed and not well maintained. The basin splashed water whenever the tap was on, there was no lid on the toilet seat (!) and the water pressure was average.
The airconditioning was insufficient to cool the room properly and the room was too stuffy and hot for half the night.
As we came and left the hotel, we were not greeted by the reception hosts and none of the staff made any pleasant "small talk".
On the final day we found a nice "events in Hobart" handout under our door but this was missing the day before.
Then, when checking out, we left our bags in the lobby, the car out the front and went to the (good) deli next door for a snack. The porter kindly offered to put the bags in the boot. Unfortunately, someone there swapped my wife's bag with that of another asian lady and we ended up taking the wrong person's bag 200km up the coast.
Ironically, the best service we received was after we left. A polite person from the hotel quickly came to rectify the mistake.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Fred_Nerkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

  • Stayed: November 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank neegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iBROX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 07-16-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Elysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $221 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing