We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatufilly Renovated Art Hotel Not To Be Missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beatufilly Renovated Art Hotel Not To Be Missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

While Hobart is a great place to see, staying at the Henry Jones makes it an amazing experience. The painstaking renovation is noticeable in the rooms and all public areas and makes the hotel quite special. The staff only add to what is, overall, a great experience. Upon arrival I was offered an upgrade to the Henry Jones Suite and it is worth the extra money - truly special. We came back after some travel and stayed on another suite, part of the Henry Jones house - only issue there is that the master bedroom has no door and is across from the only bathroom for that bedroom and the one upstairs. there is room for a bath on the first level but none was made. Other than that, this is a hotel not to be missed!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerFanBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    316
    82
    36
    10
See reviews for
98
745
46
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

This definitely has to be a unique experience...sort of like living in an art museum. The views of the Hobart waterfront are to die for, and the hotel is within a walking distance to the waterfront views, great seafood restaurants and the central business district as well.

The rooms are rather unusual for a hotel...sort of like a 5 star loft. The history of the hotel is worth reading up; and not to be missed is the guided tour by the hotel personnel that explains the origins of the hotel, and summarizes the various paintings all across the corridors and rooms.

There may be better places to stay in at Hobart; I can't imagine how.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sxa93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
216 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Unlike the previous two reviews, I cannot fault our stay at the Henry Jones. Loved just about everything!
We didn't arrive until nearly 10.00pm, check in was smooth, room was huge, very comfortable and very funky. Enormous shower cubicle with two shower heads, heated floor loads of lovely soft fluffy towels, which were changed at turndown, soaps, shampoos etc were also replenished daily.
Courtesy parking for our hire car was a boon, after a long day out it was lovely to pull up at the front of the hotel and just hand over the car without worrying it might get damaged out the front of the hotel.
We were in Hobart during the yatch race, so it had been very difficult to get hold of the room and only had confirmation a couple of weeks before our arrival, but was well worth the wait.
I can agree that it is a bit mean to charge for Broadband access given the rates you are paying, but this seems to be common throughout Australia.
I found the front of house staff very courteous and helpful, really nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

A beautiful setting, great art, nice big rooms and lots of potential...BUT, in the hands of the current management it is severely letting down it's key market. This is a 5 star hotel supposedly, not a Travelodge so why do I have to ask for replacement soap, towels, water in my room....why do I have to squint at a tiny TV in a large room, why do I have to pay for broadband/wireless internet, why is there no furniture on the room balcony, why doesn't the manager understand customer service. A recent complaint made to the manager regarding our stay made me feel like he knew we had nowhere else to stay (in terms of 5 star luxury establishments) so we could like or lump it in terms of what we were given. Hobart needs someone to step up and create a new hotel destination to make the Pure Tasmania group realise they have to earn respect and repeat custom. I would recommend the space but not the place....unless the management changes and returns the Henry Jones to a destination that appreciates its lifeline of custom from interstate and overseas guests.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorkToLive2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

There's no doubt that this is one of the most attractive and visually satisfying hotels we have stayed at. As most previous reviewers remark, a lot of effort has been put into the architecture and design: the Henry Jones is one very hip hotel. Also on the plus side, we were upgraded from an atrium view suite to a harbour-view suite (although we only worked that out later - we weren't told), and when I enquired if the tariff included breakfast, I was told that it didn't, but they would be happy to include it anyway! (Although in the end we only had breakfast in the hotel on one morning since we found the nearby cafes at Salamanca offered more interesting fare.) The location is very convenient: you can walk to many points of interest and cafes and restaurants (special nod for "Smolt" in Salamanca Square). The staff were unfailingly polite and friendly, and all requests were handled efficiently. However, it is worth mentioning a few of the negatives. Despite having a huge suite with heaps of floor space, there was practically nowhere to store clothes. There are two narrow hanging spaces behind the bed-head, and one of these had one shelf. So clothes ended up all over the furniture instead. The lighting wasn't the best: the room space is only lit by a handful of halogen spots, which offer a fairly harsh and limited illumination. (The bathroom "pod", on the other hand, was well lit.) There is no desk lamp either, as another reviewer mentioned, and power-points are not all that conveniently located, so I'd hate to have to try to use the small desk for a business trip. Towels are in short supply as well: we were only provided with one towel each, which seems rather stingy for a hotel that charges these sorts of rates. I don't want to have to call housekeeping to request extra towels: they should be in the room when we arrive. My final gripe is a rather unusual one ... We were in suite 201, which is located in an attic space of sorts, built into the roof of the main part of the hotel, at the rear. As such it is surrounded by corrugated-iron sheeting, both for the walls, and the ceiling (as far as I could tell). Our first night at the hotel turned out to be a rather windy night, and all through the night, the wind was caught under the sheeting and made the most horrendous racket as it moved and buckled and vibrated. I felt like I was (trying to) sleep inside a boom-box. To add insult to injury, the hotel was hosting an end-of-year office party in the atrium, and the volume level was such that we could feel the vibrations through the walls and floors in our relatively distant suite. (Maybe this was why we were upgraded?)
On a future trip to Hobart, having now experienced and seen this hotel, I'm not sure I would return. It's a pretty good hotel, but there's not enough "je ne sais quoi" to draw one back for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

Hard to fault the hotel one bit. Built in the old IXJ Jam factory, the place has a great feel. Rough timber beams, exposed sandstone and brick. A really stylish but industrial feel. The staff have been excellent. The room is quite amazing. And the area it's in, surrounded by restaurants, cafe's and shopping is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wraith99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

We had been sure to book well in advance to secure a room at the Henry Jones Art Hotel. Last time we had been in Hobart we had a look around the hotel and thought it was lovely, and committed to staying there on our next visit.
After travelling around Tasmania for a week and staying in some beautiful places, we were really looking forward to spending our final night at the Henry Jones. However, when we arrived we were told that we had been down-graded. I had intentionally made the reservation several months before our trip so that we didn't miss out on the room we wanted, and yet here we were at check in being told that we weren't getting the room type that we had booked. To say that we were disappointed was an understatement. We were given a standard room, and told that was all that was available. Once we were up at the room we were again sorely disappointed - it was starting to look well worn and worse, we were given a room overlooking the courtyard, so didn't even get a view of the harbour. Had we been able to find suitable accommodation elsewhere we would have moved hotels. Yes, it all sounds a bit precious on our part, but when you have booked something specific and are let down so badly it's hard not to be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chrisandlisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#1 of 46 in Hobart
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Property: The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing