We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Henry Jones on Hobart's waterfront. From check in to check out the experience was exemplary. The staff were all young, professional, helpful and friendly. The old fashioned concept of service with a smile is alive and well at Henry Jones.

Our room was a harbour view with spa. The hotel is built into the shell of a jam factory dating from the early 1800s, and they have kept a lot of the rough woodwork and exposed tin roof which gave the room a distinct industrial feel. Not so the bathroom which was all glass and stainless steel. The room was very large, with all the usual appointments as well as a spa bath. The only let down was a lack of cupboard space or anywhere to put the socks & jocks.

Being an "art hotel" the Henry Jones has artwork on display in all the rooms and hallways. The great majority is contemporary and not really to our taste, but it still created a great atmosphere there is also an Aboriginal art gallery in the same complex.

We really loved staying at the Henry Jones and would definitely do so again given the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PerthTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

We opted to stay in a nice hotel on the last night of our visit to Hobart and we weren't disappointed. The service was excellent from the moment we checked in, with complimentary valet parking and luggage transfer to our room from the car.

We stayed in a 2nd floor room overlooking the atrium next door. It was spacious and comfortably appointed although the air-conditioning was a little noisy.

The service was impeccable and some of the best I've had from a 5 star establishment. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jezzster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a must stay for Hobart, we sadly only had one night but will be back for more. Right on the harbour it is a perfect location, nice bar and restaurant and the drunken admiral is also right next door. We had a slight issue with our rental car whilst there, but the staff were quick to assist and all very friendly which was brilliant.
We were in the loft which was cosy and modern - with Molton Brown products- amazing. The property being an old jam factory has a plethora of things to see and plenty of art work to admire..highly recommend this spot.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Charlz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were somewhat disappointed with our experience at the Henry Jones. We paid extra for a room with a small terrace, the windows had not been cleaned in a long time, the terrace had not been swept iand was covered in dust and dead insects. The fixtures and fittings are in need of updating - overall, value for money we found this hotel lacking. The staff were very helpful and tried to address the issues we experienced but it did not make up for our overall disappointing experience overall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glap2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel with a great but different feel... We had the loft studio which was great as it had a separate living area for relaxing in and have a rest after the feet we're wore off me walking around port Arthur and Salamanca markets! Breakfast was great too ... Stuffed for the day great sausages .. Some might say award winning .. Pork sausages were a feed and a half ! Bar staff could liven up a bit Friday night had a few at the bar and it seemed to take its toll on the lads ... Otherwise great venue and hotel.. Def recommend it for anyone wanting to experience hobart to the full

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our short stay in Tassie was made complete by staying at this boutique hotel. We chose an Oriental suite overlooking the docks, truly gorgeous. The reception/concierge staff were wonderfully helpful and both the restaurant and cocktail bar are a must!

The hotel is walking distance from Salamanca and the ferry dock, so check out the cafes and head over to Mona by ferry once you've explored the hotel.

My fav: In room spa - water flows over the edge of this deep spa bath much like the infinity pools, I'd never seen anything like it before!

Room Tip: Spa suite is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emily385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was here for a couple of nights for business.

The rooms are fantastic, with a combination of very modern and history running through the rooms, I've stayed in around 7 different hotels in Hobart and this is one of the best I have stayed anywhere in Australia.

There's a cool bar and also a restaurant, plus a modern gym.

The hotel is a short walking distance to Salamancas wine bars and restaurants.

This is my fith stay here and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dusty677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $213 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing