We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a really lovely 5 day stay at this hotel. Very historic with gorgous old sandstone block feature walls and plenty of art work. The staff were extemely helpful and friendly. My only minor complaints would be the air conditioning and lighting alongside the bed. It could have been just a little brighter for reading. The hotel is in a very good location wrt restaurants and the Salamanca Market area. Would definitely stay at this hotel again. Ultimately, if possible, would give this property a 4.5.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHenryJones, Assistant General Manager at The Henry Jones Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Julie M

Thank you for choosing The Henry Jones Art Hotel for your stay in Hobart, it was truly a pleasure to accommodate you and I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel and thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you received great service from our team, it is certainly a priority for us to ensure your time with us is exceptional. Thank you for your feedback regarding the air-conditioning and the lighting in your room, I would like to apologies for any inconvenience here. We have been able to identify the room you were allocated and our maintenance team will look to rectify these concerns.

Thank you once again for your feedback. I do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you next travel to Hobart. Please when you do, feel free to contact me directly and I would be more than happy to assist with these arrangements.

Kind Regards
Jacob Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
There are newer reviews for The Henry Jones Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed four nights in this gorgeous hotel,which sits right on the harbour! On arrival,we were shown our room which we thought was a lovely old-fashioned touch (can't remember the nice guy's name sorry). The room/hotel is a fabulous mix of history/luxury. Do the free art/history tour of the hotel. You get to see the rest of the hotel,and Emma,our guide,was delightful. A visit to Jam Packed is essential,as is the IXL Long Bar,where Niall creates wonderful cocktails. The staff are 100% professional without being snooty. Can't rave about this place enough. It's heavenly!

Room Tip: Our corner room was humungous!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annarosabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This time it was GD and the old girl (that's me)

We arrived and our room was not ready (never expected it to be at 12pm) se we packed into Jam packed with the 6 other patrons ;)

Nice relaxing lunch we checked out our Spa Harbour 206 and went yep. All good. Twin beds as ordered, nice view, warm and welcoming

Breakfast: I have said before I am a muesli and juice kind of girl but GD convinced me we should restaurant so a share eggs benny later I was very satiated (and the excellent quality made me choose a breakfast package for stay 2). Day 2 I went with the Self cater but we were off to Saffire and i knew it would be how many piggys

Evening bar with comp cocktails….yum

Spa harbour Room: great view, comfy beds, nice bathroom although GD felt shower may have had more pressure. Quote "Mum this is pretty good spot"

Stay 2

Booked on leaving.

Standard harbour view: Room: 224 Excellent and we had a small deck area. I would definitely be happy in these rooms too. In fact I was. twin
We ate in Henry's and food and service topped any other visit. Apple dessert was just amazing. Bart staff yet again sublime esp in service and making things work.

We saw several guests who had been at saffire with us at HJ and it is obviously the place of choice. They are certainly backing up the sister property and yes it is the full banana.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is a very clever adaptive re-use of a series of old waterfront warehouses fronting Hobart's waterfront. A feature is the showcasing of local artworks in the rooms and around the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable with nice facilities including, in or case, a full size bath. The "special" attraction is the outlet across the docks. Because of the constraints of the building in which it is housed room layouts can be a little quirky - but that adds to the charm. Some little points - Breakfast stops at 10 - may be ok for business people but maybe a little early if you are having a lazy weekend away. Also staff did not show us to our rooms - maybe we arrived late. Great location - 5 minute walk across the docks to the Saturday markets and the MONA ferry.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zlejins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHenryJones, Assistant General Manager at The Henry Jones Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Fatherof2Sydney

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and indeed your stay with us. On behalf of the team, it was a pleasure looking after you and your family.

I appreciate your comments regarding the property - we are very fortunate to reside in such a unique location - and I’m pleased you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable. On behalf of management and our team, I would like to sincerely apologise that you were not shown to your room as this is an opportune time to introduce to you some of our unique experiences and services. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the timing of breakfast. We do in fact operate a café adjoining the hotel for those that wish to dine later in the day and we will certainly look at advertising the service appropriately to our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback. I do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel if you travel to Hobart in the future. If you do, please feel free to contact me directly and I would be more than happy to assist with these arrangements.

Kind Regards
Jacob Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff; perfect location near the harbour; comfortable and well appointed room; what more could we ask for? Thanks to Henry Jones Art Hotel for making our visit to Hobart a memorable one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 420Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are locals and were dining at the Henry's Restaurant and decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Henry Jones Art Hotel.
It was amazing.
The hotel itself is very interesting with unusual art work to look at (and buy)
The room was very soundproof and we did not hear any outside noise at all.
The furnishings are very tasteful and the bed was super comfortable.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in the hotel, they were all very friendly and helpful, especially Greg!
We dined at Henry's Restaurant and again it was excellent, the staff in the restaurant are all very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is in a great location to the CBD and Salamanca.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked very late and we had a room that overlooked the Atrium, I am sure if we had have booked ea...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 84luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I absolutely love this hotel. It is beautifully designed, the views are terrific, rooms are very comfortable with nice bathroom and amenities and the staff are outstanding. I am in hotels about 100 nights a year, and this is a winner on every front.

Room Tip: I think they're all good. I had one overlooking the harbor which was beautiful. The walls ar...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 48 in Hobart
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $210 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing