We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but …..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Henry Jones certainly provides that upmarket, boutique hotel experience. The art is impressive and the rooms are funky. The location is excellent although we did find ourselves constantly walking to the Salamanca side of the wharf so perhaps staying over that side would make sense. We certainly enjoyed our 3 nights at the hotel, which was part of a fantastic long weekend away. However, when you are paying top dollar (and lets face it, you could stay 5 star overlooking Sydney Harbour at similar rates) you don't expect to have to keep your blinds drawn so that the people walking down the stair case don't look into your room.

I don't want this to come across too negative. We had a fantastic time in Hobart and thoroughly enjoyed the Henry Jones but would probably have a look around to see what other options were available at that price point if we were to have another weekend on the Apple Isle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

A whacky Hotel with all sorts of fun paintings. I did not like out bedroom. Basic bathroom, very little hanging space for clothes. When lying in bed surrounded by brick walls and high rafters it is more like sleeping in a barn. Very basic breakfast. Fun bar

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The best hotel experience we've had in Australia! Great without being pretentious. Liked the spacious room, cleanliness, staff helpfulness, the art, the hotel atmosphere, and the restaurant food offerings plus the location!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in deluxe spa, at $500 per night. Location great, rooms very nice, but I can't help feel there's better value around. Room service 2 x coffee $16.00, I mean get real. Suffice to say we sought refreshments elsewhere. Not value......

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Two visits in a week, both excellent. The Henry Jones suite is larger than other rooms, but not materially better, so go for one of the other rooms. Front desk staff are really helpful and enthusiastic. For a waterfront location, noise seemed not to be the problem we half expected. Restaurant good, with a short menu and interesting wine list, featuring many local names. Gym small with limited equipment, two bikes, two treadmills, a rower and a cable machine, plus weights. Shame about the shallow trendy basins in the bathrooms - not great for a wet shave!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilburoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at the Henry Jones Art hotel when we explore Hobart area for 3 days. The quality of the room and the service was outstanding. The staff was extremely knowledge and went above and beyond to make sure we had a good experience. They helped us to plan our itinerary for the 3 days. We had a great day hike at the Freycinet National Park and explored the newly renovated museum and art gallery in addition to Mona. It is definitely the best choice in Hobart.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our room was very spacious with a brick wall on one side and a view of the harbor from the other. Beautiful remodel of an industrial space for this historic hotel. The bathroom was a little funky with open space in the shower rather than enclosed. It was quite large and on cold days the bathroom was a little cold which is the only non-positive thing I can say about the hotel. They even had bikes you could use for free. Staff was awesome. Location was primo.

Room Tip: They had bikes you could take out for free when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingwithJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $221 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing