We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location - A Few Things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at the HJ for 4 nights over New Years - perfect location for the Sydney to Hobart yachts, the Taste of Tasmania, or anything, really to do with the harbour and Hobart.
The hotel staff have a fantastic attitude and are extremely helpful.
We did have a few issues, starting with our bags taking over an hour and a half to be brought to the room and refreshes not being done as requested (not being precious but for a 5 star plus hotel and very expensive rates...).
Our bathroom was the worst design imaginable. Although quite large, the door opens inward and, if a person if standing at the single basin sink, another person cannot get into the bathroom - terrible design. Also, bathroom lighting, for a female, is unacceptable.
A hotel of this caliber should also have a tub in the bathroom - there is room for it...it's just not there.
The reading lights above the bed are blinding and not adjustable.
If it is windy outside (it was one night), wind whistles (howls) through the windows and under the door like a banshee.
Although the hotel is very cool, very funky and beautiful (and the bartenders are very talented), it really needs some re-thinking on the practical design of the rooms for comfort.
A definite case of art over comfort in my opinion.
Great spot but way over-priced for the value of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarknOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were very disappointed with this hotel and would not recommend it. However prior to getting to the criticisms I should say that the reception staff were excellent. They were very friendly and helpful.
However apart from the pleasant staff the hotel delivered very poor value.
Our room rate was $650/night (breakfast included). So we expected something very special for this price. Would've been happy enough if we had paid up to $400 or even $450. We pay less than that for trendy Establishment Hotel George St Sydney with much better amenities. Eg. In the bathroom, only 1 sink. Toilet not private although plenty of room to have a screened toilet for . Electrical plug placed in such a way any appliance plugged in had the cord draping into the sink. Very dangerous! No bathrobes. Wardrobe space minimal, shelving for clothes useless in its size and placement. Wi Fi so slow we eventually gave up. Other room components were poor quality (e.g. Rug supplied on lounge old and worn, only one cushion). I noticed one other reviewer mentioned a Nespresso- but not in our room. At breakfast not even freshly squeezed juice is supplied, only bottled concentrate. Why? Fruit / coffee good but not worth $50...
Overall this hotel, while well located, delivers very poor value for money. We would not recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanelleandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It is a converted jam factory. The property is right at dockside, a low rise restored brick and sandstone property. The hotel is professionally and courteously staffed and unpretentious.
There is a collection of over 300 art works scattered about the building.

We stayed in a studio apartment loft. Very spacious, well kept.
Free and reliable wifi was instantly available for our stay. Once again a Tasmanian hotel leads mainland Australia in the provision of this essential service.

They get the service details right. Any requests were enthusiastically dealt with by front desk staff.

The hotel is just a 5 minute walk to Constitution Dock for the arrivals from the Sydney Hobart yacht race.

Markets, stores, cafes and restaurants at Salamanca Place are another short stroll.

Charming and accessible, well located in the centre of the city, Henry Jones Art Hotel enhances your visit to Hobart.

Tasmania rates very highly for getting around. Nowhere is very far, so as a driving holiday you just slip into the relax vibe very quickly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarLinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is great with free wifi and free valet parking for your car. It was a very relaxing stay for us. Within the hotel, there is very interesting art to discover. The best spot in Hobart, and the best restaurant: wonderful food, great breakfast, and the service is above expectations.

Room Tip: For quiet room avoid the view on the harbor, especially when it is windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VERONIQUE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Second stay at this hotel where ancient architecture and modern comfort combine perfectly.
Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe spa harbor view room. Quiet room. Great atmosphere
Very spacious room, with a very large bathroom with shower and a spacious spa bath in the room. Spacious bed, excellent mattress.
High-quality bathroom products, coffee, tea, Nespresso, Wifi
Very friendly and motivated staff, who respond quickly to all inquiries. Good info on restaurants
A certain nonchalance for houskeeping: no cups for Nespresso in the room, broken lamps, tea not supplemented during stay, which is inappropriated for a class hotel and given the price you pay for this room
Location: opposite the harbor, near Salamanca an many good restaurants. 10 min walk from center

Once again a pleasant stay in a beautiful setting, perhaps bit overpriced, but highly recommended

Room Tip: deluxe spa harbor view room: great, bit overpriced but higly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMIELANDMARLEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very creative when it comes to decoration in this hotel, I love how the hotel fuses the traditional structure of the building with the conventional interior design, very interesting! Very good location in my opinion, not too far nor to close to the city (10 mins walk).

Service was excellent as expected from a high end hotel though what I love most about this hotel probably is the bathroom. It's huge!!! Molton Brown fan will also enjoy the complementary very much!

Overall, a little bit overpriced, but for what I have experienced, it definitely worth it if you want a bit luxury in a fun way once in a while.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Two friends and I stayed at the Henry Jones for a night after rafting down the Franklin River with Water By Nature for seven days. We left our luggage with the desk guys, went away for a week and came back ragged, filthy and stinking. The guys at the concierge desk provided us with great rooms, made sure everything was in our rooms and a well deserved ice cold Tasmanian beer.

The rooms themselves are excellent - large, comfortable and quiet. Bathrooms are top-notch with excellent product and plenty of space (admittedly after seven days without a shower I may have emptied Hobart of all it's hot water). Service is also excellent - quiet and efficient whilst also making you feel at home and welcome.

Breakfast was very nice, standard hotel fare, but well done.

Overall, an excellent hotel. The Henry Jones is the hotel that is my first choice for staying in Hobart - highly recommended.

Cheers
B

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $216 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing