We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, fantastic rooms in the old warehouse - great bar and a fantastic location close to everything. But don't include breakfast in your room as it's average and there are 2 other places in the hotel atrium. Ci Simon - shop in the atrium is also lovely.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Kazwookie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

A fantastic boutique hotel located in the centre of downtown Hobart. Cool art, recycled fixtures and fittings, so much attention to detail. Rooms of generous size and everything you could need. Staff are welcoming and friendly. Great room service and very cool bar. We've stayed here three times and always look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDTaylor80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at the Henry Jones Art Hotel late October 2013 and very much enjoyed our stay.

We were there on a work (reward/recognition) trip and from the moment we arrived until the minute we left we couldn't have asked for anything more.

Great Service at Reception, Bar, Shop, Breakfast, Housekeeping. Nothing was too much trouble and all went smoothly.

Our room was at the very eastern end of the buildings and we had no issues with sound or cold (as others in our group apparently did). Rooms were nicely laid out with large king bed and extra large bathroom. I note from glancing in other rooms being serviced that our may have been on the small side comparatively but was big enough for what we were expecting.

There is an obvious focus on Art (which is not my cup of tea) but had no impact on my stay.

Location on the Hobart waterfront could not be beaten and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This centrally located hotel ticked the right boxes. Loved walking back after dinner along the water front. Stayed in two rooms. Four nights in 226. No harbour view but very spacious and light. Only down was the water pressure which was intermittent and hot and cold. One night in 215 which had all the lovely exposed beams and sandstone and harbour view. Front of house was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast a bit disappointing. The art work was fun. The old photographs up the old wooden staircase worth looking at but hard to see because of sofas in the way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolimits25-milton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a very comfortable, well-located hotel. It has an unusually nice atmosphere because of the art collection and the architecture. The front desk staff is very helpful, and the restaurant is excellent. The room was spacious and pleasant; although lacked a chest of drawers for unpacking clothes, one can be provided upon request.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdnyc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at the HJ Art Hotel for two out of three nights in Hobart. I loved many things about room 104- the bathroom and bathroom products; views; king sized bed and wifi. However, this room is near the functions room and a wedding was on the Saturday night and the toilet facilities for the function room are located near the room - meaning the foot traffic outside the door was, at times, noisy. The staff were consistently very engaging and helpful. The location is excellent - a pleasant walk to Salamanca Place and the Saturday markets. HJ cost more than double what I paid for the first night of my Hobart stay (ie. Salamanca on the Pier) - there is a question if the positives are worth the money??? I am still deciding....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Slug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a must-stay place for discerning travellers to Hobart.
While I am not an art aficionado, the suite in which I stayed was lavishly-appointed (Nespresso machine, Molton Brown accessories) and both modern and stylish. Wi-fi was free, service was great.
Plenty of dining options both in and near the hotel.
Will only stay here again when in Hobart.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Joydeep_Hor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $213 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing