We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. It is a fantastic conversion from the original factory and keeps the old world feel. The fact that it is a living art gallery just adds to the atmosphere. All pictures are for sale.
The rooms are huge and the bathrooms luxurious. The only slight complaint is that my room with a great view of the harbour tended to be a bit noisy at night from the street outside.
The restaurant was also 1st class and coped with our various dietary needs even cooking a special meal for the vegan in the party and producing edible gluten free bread!
Will definitely stay here again - in fact can't wait to get back

Room Tip: Ask for a back room if you want a quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    323
    84
    37
    10
See reviews for
100
757
47
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent three nights in a Standard Harbour View room, 2nd floor (this is not a high rise hotel). It was spacious and very comfortable with delightful views over the harbour. The bathroom was very spacious (note - there was no bathtub in this room) and well appointed.

The aspect from our windows allowed an intimate proximity to the old river wharf; still is working port but also a tourist and social hub. The windows of this renovated old building still open allowing in fresh air from across the water. So while this hotel does not offer the spectacular plate glass, high rise views of a modern building, we felt the intimacy and charm well compensated. This hotel gives a far stronger sense of place, an atmosphere of Hobart and its historical past.

The hotel staff are consistently friendly, the reception staff had a good knowledge of the local area and were very helpful in planning our days activities. They were able to provide plenty of info on MONA, day drives to the valleys, National Parks, etc. The reception area is relaxes, stylish and very well located close to cafes, museums, the river boats, etc.

We ate breakfast in the hotel each day. This offered everything you would expect, was of good quality, food was fresh and offered a peaceful start to the day. There is also an alternate café, outdoors undercover which would be good on a sunnier morning or for lunch.

We also dinned in the restaurant once. The menu choice was broad and innovative with lots of local and fresh produce. They also served local mineral water and wines which earned brownie points with me. Service was good, the environment is intimate, stylish and modern. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience here.

In terms of value for money, we thought it was well worth the cost but everyone must judge their own budget.

Room Tip: If you do like a bath, make sure you check your room includes one. Ours didn't but we dont use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oh-so-relaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great hotel. Superb location and you need to take one of the japanese suites.
One of Hobart's finest hotel you wont be disappointed.It is close to everything and steeped in great history. Close to the docks it is a hive of activity.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianRoberts1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently spent a two night stay at the Henry Jones on our honeymoon. It is really well positioned for exploring Hobart and the building itself is very interesting architecturally. They have done a great job changing an old factory into a upmarket hotel. We had a deluxe spa room and the room itself was great, comfy bed and a huge very modern bathroom.

Even though the hotel looks fantastic I couldn't help but feel there was a little something missing to warrant the price for the rooms. The room (and the lobby) looked like it needed a good dusting and a few of the room's accessories looked a little tired. Our car was valet parked and brought to us very quickly on request, but although the staff were very friendly and knowledgable there was a spark missing that truly makes you feel special in luxury hotels. Overall it was a pleasant stay but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent 3 nights in an Artist Studio Loft.While the room is spacious, there were clear stains on the carpet and broken venetian blinds which you could see as soon as you entered the room.

Mattress in the room was amazing, very easy to sleep on.

The Artist Studio lofts are very noisy with the set up for the Atrium early in the morning and sometime late at night.

While the staff were very friendly I was surprised when the Concierge flatly refused to turn on the TV in the bar on to watch the Melbourne Cup. I repeated that I didn't want a drink, just to watch the race quickly. We were told we would have to walk down the street to a pub to watch the race. Not what I expect from a 5 star hotel, wouldn't have been very hard to switch a TV on for a few mins.

Room Tip: Avoid an Artist Studio loft if you don't want a noisy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Unique hotel full of art, history, character and great service! It is very central and you are welcomed, taken care off, shown to your room ... and the holiday can begin! Each corner of your room, the corridors and the atrium are beautifully restored and full of character.
ONLY criticism: we had dinner pre booked and while we could choose from the menu, there was a restriction for the desert, we were made aware of :"Only small portions of cheeses are included in the price, not the full portions."Left me wondering how a couple of dollars can make such a difference... Same attitude with breakfast: one cup of freshly brewed coffee and then the option to drink hour old coffee from a warming plate... Unnecessary in an overall fantastic place and stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there for two nights as part of a weekend away to experience Hobart and the Mona Museum. We had booked a harbour view Spa room including one dinner package and breakfast.
The old building which was stilishly restored combined with the art placed around the whole hotel creates a very special warm atmosphere and a perfect balance between luxury and individuality. Compared to most standard high end chain hotels which can sometimes be a bit sterile, we found this very relaxing and felt very special being surrounded by old brickwork, exposed timber beams and art. The sevice was good, staff was very friendly and the quality of the dinner in the Henry Jones Restaurant was superb and good value for the money. We enjoyed also the convenience of the Hotel's valet parking service and were very positively surprised that this service was offered for free. Location of the hotel is perfect. Easy walking to Salamanca Market, ferry to Mona Museum as well as good restaurants. We can definitely recommend The Henry Jones Art Hotel and won't hesitate to go there again when we come back to Hobart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Property: The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing