We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““A better experience than the first - they have won us back””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
““A better experience than the first – they have won us back””
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our first stay at the Henry Jones Art Hotel was in April 2011 and it was a disaster (not reviewed by us on Trip Advisor at the time). We would never have returned to the hotel had we not had a conference to attend for which this was the accommodation selection.

Fortunately, this stay was a very pleasant one which indicates a very large inconsistency in the guest experience and that the Henry Jones Art Hotel is another hotel were the room type is EVERYTHING…so book ahead if you can and pay the extra few dollars if necessary.

We had a Deluxe Spa Harbour View room which was very well-appointed, quiet (a must for us) with a lovely view over Constitution Dock and the wharves. All amenities were of a quality expected of a boutique luxury hotel and the staff were friendly, helpful and responsive to special requests. Our only feedback would be the beds could do with mattress toppers – they feel and sound a bit ‘springy’. Other than that … no complaints on the room.

We did not dine in Henry’s Restaurant for dinner this visit though we did last time and were under-whelmed both at the lack of professional experience of the staff and the lack of polish in the actual menu/food (considering the fabulous foods available in that state). We did do the restaurant for breakfast this time and found it quite average again. We also did the Jam Packed Café for breakfast and found it too was lacking except for the reasonable though $$ coffee. The key issue is the food compositions were not very well thought out for all the produce available. In particular, barely a healthy balance in any menu item was to be seen - all meat, cheese, eggs, mushrooms and bread.

Aside from the lack of culinary prowess across the hotel, the stay was very pleasurable and the art experience in the halls and public areas quite stimulating (we would have purchased but our favourite was sold). Would we return? Yes - but ONLY if we got a great room – we simply would not stay there otherwise given our first experience in an “Artist Studio Loft” which was a horror story compared to the revamped older parts of the hotel.

Room Tip: Any room away from the atrium would be quieter if you are noise sensitive. Do not EVER book an Artis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxurytravelwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    324
    84
    37
    10
See reviews for
101
774
47
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. We were in a studio loft which is very well appointed and has a kitchenette and is comfortable. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The first night was excellent , however, we were not aware that a function was going to be held in the atrium which is just below the loft suites.We were exhausted after a day's touring and tried to sleep before going out for dinner. The set up for the evening function was unbearably disruptive and noisy. Getting to sleep later in the evening was also impossible due to noise. The hotel did leave us a note in the morning to explain that we may have noise and apologised for the disturbance of the function, however, it is unfair to pay a fairly large sum of money to stay in a hotel where you cannot rest. If you are planning to stay there please check if there are functions in the atrium in the evening and if so, perhaps staying elsewhere would be wise.
I have given the hotel a score of very good rather than excellent due to this experience we had.

Room Tip: Before staying please check if there is a function in the atrium on any evening you are staying if u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255060Lovetotravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The hotel is a converted jam factory and the design and architecture is outstanding. The hotel is adorned with quality artworks as are the rooms. The hotel deals with the little important things very well. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonM894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great Location - right on the Hobart Waterfront
Great little bar - nice wines and good service
Spacious and stylish accommodation - loved it!
Service was very good and always friendly
I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Hobart. It is a nice departure from a "Chain" hotel it has a great personality all of it's own.

Room Tip: I stayed in a deluxe spa room - it was on the top fllor (you have to take some stairs) but it was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palm_Cove_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
453 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel location on the dock in Hobart is very central and very quiet (make sure you get a room that is not located above the bar or the lobby).

Each room is unique having to fit in to the original jam factory - immaculate renovation job. Make sure you see the original staircase which leads into the old boardroom.

Service is really very excellent and very high comparative to many other top hotels in Australia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Whilst this property is visually stunning the thing my husband and I enjoyed the most was the helpful and seamless service. I don't think i've ever had a checkin/checkout that was so effortless. There was someone to greet us and park our car, organise our bags to our room and on check out , the car was parked right at the front door with someone to lead us out to pack our bags back in.We hired a taxi to go to dinner, and they Front Office staff although they didn't book it , advised us to take a seat and they came and let us know when it pulled up out the front.
Loved the rooms, so stylish and comfortable, and close to all the best attractions in Salamanca. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Try one of the Spa Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etoile76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August and loved it. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we were taken back by the history of the IXL factory yet amazed by the art in this hotel. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cammanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#5 of 47 in Hobart
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Property: The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing