We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel. It's not perfect but it is a wonderful place to stay.
Pros;
Wonderful architecture to appreciate
Our room was comfortably big and overlooked the atrium (Harbourview rooms were all booked)
Check in and checkout was smooth and stress free
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful - couldn't fault them
An excellent location - right on the dock but away from any noisy bustle
A great hot shower with excellent water pressure
Some really nice cafes very close (1-3 minute walk)
Wifi is free
Cons;
A little overpriced for Hobart
Some noise from the restaurant filtered through to us, but not enough to keep us awake
A few spots in the room were just starting to show signs of wear

Overall we definitely liked this hotel a lot and would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKKSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    321
    84
    37
    10
See reviews for
100
753
46
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

It probably isn't fair to review the service from the restaurant within the hotel review, but given we did a package I am going to have to do just that.
Reason for stay, late flight arrival and transferring via Seaplane next day to Saffire.

So visit one:

Monday night: A little disappointed with the absence of porters due to needing help with the bags as our taxi driver was unable (but not unwilling) One of the reasons for booking and paying for upper level accom is to have these facilities. The restaurant had phoned me earlier in the week to confirm our booking time but hadn't changed it on their system, not major they sat us at our preferred time anyway. Everything else including luggage to the room spot on.

The room, 119, very dark as expected due to the style of building, but had a cute little balcony overlooking the dock. Plenty of space and I enjoyed the spa in the room. No turn down apparent even though mentioned in the compendium. Slight noise from next door but none from outside and a sound nights sleep was had.

Dinner: Very happy with the food and service was very good. There were 2 other couples in the restaurant at the time. Very very good soufflé. Didn't leave a huge tip, mostly because was carrying only large notes, and I refuse to put tips through the electronic system. If you have had service beyond, then that person should be the recipient. The food was not beyond, good but not great.
Breakfast excellent.

Concierge: Spot on, suggested the HOHO and this was ideal given the amount of time we had and mobility issues. Very interesting and informative trip which showed that the concierge had the market picked!

Check out..smooth and efficient and they transported luggage to the seaplane. Wow!

Night 2:
Check in, still no porters but our driver handled the bags. Foyer filled with wedding guests but check in still smooth and efficient with delivery of bags. Room 220 slightly larger but very cold. More to do with design and tin roof, Okay once we cranked up the aircon. Bathroom identical to 119, but only 3 tissues left in the box, actually they were nestling on top. I did locate another box of tissues behind the toilet roll the next morning. I know, waste not want not, but realistically it would have been sensible to take the 3 tissues and place them on the new box. (yeah i sound picky but we were paying $645pn for a package vs same room style on Monday at $200 less.) Turn down was done :)

Dinner, same issue with time but I requested to come in early and it was just as well we did. we were first seated at 6pm, and it took 2.5 hours for our meal, but not because we needed time, they just ignored us several times especially when it came to coffee etc. Too many reservations for the same time slot methinks. Coffee was bitter. Restaurant was full, but waiting 15 minutes to be given a bill is ludicrous, especially when waiter had taken the time to refold my already folded napkin.
My amuse bouche, the parsnip was cold in some places and warm in others, stuck in the twilight zone between a hot dish and a cold. Duck very ordinary, thankfully with package we weren't paying full price, and in all fairness we had been eating at Saffire but if Henry's wants to bill itself so highly on the Hobart scene then it needs to get those little things right. no tip!

Breakfast: We were on an early flight so were at breakfast at 7am This is where things really fell apart. As we were seated, I felt we were an inconvenience, or our waitress just didn't want to be there. Buffet part was fine, I ordered the full breakfast (really only wanted scrambled eggs)and when it arrived the eggs were poached. Within 2 mins the plate was back, I honestly felt and tasted as though the eggs were bain marie out the back, if this is the case then why not just have them self serve? I could have then done them on grain bread and not had all the trimmings I didn't want. Guru's omelette was very ordinary, but in all fairness we had just been at Saffire. However if pure tasmania is suggesting Henry Jones as a place to stay pre/post Saffire, it needs to get it right on the service front.

Check out: Smooth and efficient. I was asked about our dinner but really wasn't open to saying,,,,,hmmm, ordinary. I do plan to let the hotel know (there was no option to give guest feedback anywhere on our second stay)


Overall...Henry jones was very good on a Monday, and having the restaurant open made a big difference to our choice of hotel.
Would I stay there again, not on a weekend evening, but yes mid week. For us a dinner on site can be the breaker or maker and mistakes like

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

What makes this hotel so special is the absolute respect that has been given to this beautiful old building. Our room had a tin roof, an old red brick wall, a stone wall and rough old timber beams. Add to this luxurious fittings, well thought out design and a brilliant location. My advice is to pay the extra for a room with a view – this place is so memorable, you may as well go all out. The IXL bar is a LOT of fun on a Saturday night too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

First and foremost the staff were without exception excellent. Extremely friendly and polite, no request was too much at any time of day or night.
Stayed in a deluxe spa room - great bath, disappointing shower. Comfortable bed and surroundings. Perfect for what I wanted/expected. Not sure it is expected to be 5* but the facilities perhaps weren't if it is indeed marketed as that.
Food excellent (possibly the best steak and chips I have had, and that's a big call) and along with the staff these were definitely top draws for the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed with my mum for her birthday. We got upgraded on arrival to harbourview deluxe room, also given 2 complimentary drink vouchers to use in bar for mum's birthday with a lovely note attached. The rooms are so quiet and unique. Great location and the staff are very helpful with things to do in hobart. Special congrats to Chris the concierge for being perhaps the best concierge I have come across and I have worked in many a hotel! Would go back in a heartbeat - service and atmosphere well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I plus our two Austrian friends (who own a big hotel near Vienna), stayed at this hotel for three nights. It was booked for us by a travel company in Tasmania. The renovation of this old jam factory is amazing and the art is pretty fabulous too. However, we were given two rooms which were apparently at one stage Henry Jones' office. They were connected by a small sitting room. The rooms were definitely below par and were right outside the conference room. There was a Multiple Sclerosis gathering while we were there which was fine and it ended about 8.30pm but later in the evening someone started to bump the furniture down the stairs which was just below us. Very noisy. The bathrooms in our rooms were very modern but one could hardly get ones hands under the tap at the sink. There were no bath towel rails in the bathroom and instead there was a rack for that purpose in a little hallway, where one could trip in the night! Our friend's room had a main door that kept coming off its hinge. Our room had a thick layer of dust between the fire place and minibar. It was finally cleaned after our complaint. The cane on one of our chairs was unravelling. There was no in room safe. The rooms could have been lovely had there been a bit more light and consideration to the comfort of guests. I had seen photos on the internet of rooms at the hotel and we obviously did not have one of those. We were very disappointed as our expectations were of a 5 star hotel. We had breakfast and that was good although the requested 3 minute eggs were overcooked. The staff were all pleasant.
Fortunately we were moved to another hotel after the three nights and that was far superior.

Room Tip: Don't go for the Henry Jones office rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghostsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

They say you pay for location and you do. The hotel itself is right in the center of the action and you can easily forget about a car and simply stroll around comfortably. Having said that, the rooms were not up to scratch. More particularly the maintenance. Several items needed attention and the carpets could do with replacing. Bathrooms also very tight and fitout mediocre. On the other hand, the staff coud not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Property: The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing