We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I've stayed at the Henry Jones a few times for work and pleasure and can I just say that it nevers fails to impress me. Apparently this hotel used to be the IXL jam factory in Hobart and it perfectly balances a rich historical feel with the modern comfort and luxury one would expect from any world class boutique hotel.

Ok so, the rooms are wonderful but do vary and the hotel boasts that no two rooms are the same which adds to the uniqueness of this hotel. I would say this is accurate except for the loft rooms at the rear of the hotel, they seem to have been a recent addition and are very modern and escape the great 'feel' that the rest of the hotel has. On the other hand though, they are a cheaper way to experience the hotel for the budget conscious traveller.

The sleep quality is great with no noise at night time and a really cosy feel in the rooms. The prices for this hotel aren't the cheapest but very valuable for the experience and quality of this hotel.

The hotel itself has the walls of the hallways adorned with local art that is all for sale and it is not uncommon to see guests wandering the halls making it feel more like an art gallery than a hotel which is a great addition to this already great hotel, have I mentioned this is a great hotel yet???

Downstairs just off the reception is the Jam Packed cafe which offers coffee and food at a semi reasonable price, I'd recommend sitting in the atrium for breakfast or, if weather permits, sitting out the front of the hotel and enjoying the views onto the marina with Salamanca in the distance.

Overall, this is an amazing hotel, there I said it again! I cannot praise this place enough, it's in a perfect location with everything that Hobart has to offer within walking distance, the service is exceptional and the facilities are adequate for a stay in the great southern land that is Tasmania. I'd recommend this hotel for a few nights stay to explore Hobart and enjoy the hotel itself (get a room with a spa bath and enjoy with a glass of red on those cold Hobart nights). I'd also recommend going for a walk to the floating fish and chips at the marina, flippers is the best, get some takeaway and enjoy lunch immersed in a town that was built around this great fishing port.

Room Tip: Unless saving a few dollars is essential, don't book a loft room they are small, new and have ze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casperluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

This is our favourite hotel. Each room is unique and our aim is to stay in every room.. we're up to our 4th over 5 stays! Service remains friendly, the worn carpets of last visit have been replaced and the Friday champagne tours of the building and artworks always fun. One day I'll find an artwork to buy. Only thing that marred out stay was the knock on the door at 9.55 to let us know we should be leaving. We always leave much earlier but this time though all bags were packed we were a minute or two later - marred the experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different - all ambient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosebudsAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here with our son so had a deluxe spa harbor view room to accommodate 3 people. The hotel had a great atmosphere - for those that remember IXL jams and like the fact that history is preserved. The architects have sensitively breathed new life into the buildings. The use of local art as a feature is also a really appealing and positive endeavor by the owners. We loved the view across the harbor from our room and the easy access to the hub of the harbourfront and all it offers. The room was very comfortable but we thought overpriced for what it was and no breakfast included. The TV was very small - when we travel we have rare moments of actually seeing some TV and we like a decent size flat screen - not too much to expect. Toiletries were adequate but not generous.
We had an excellent meal in the restaurant - service was attentive and engaged. In all would highly recommend if you secure a good price for the room. We paid over $500 which was is top end rates.

Room Tip: Top level with harbourview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. We were upgraded to the oriental suite which was a great start. Common parts are very special with art everywhere. Our room was expansive with a ridiculous bath in the middle of the room which overflowed into its own catchment. Was described as a feature of the room but took 45 minutes to fill. The room lacked water pressure as also evident in the double shower. Only one basin (but 2 showers) which was very low down. Worst issue was the wooden shutters which are too heavy for the cords to pull up and don't keep the light out, gets you moving early though!!! We ate in the restaurant one night food was mostly fine, but not outstanding. My wife had the fish one part of which wasn't cooked through. We hired a DVD one night. The selection was clearly left over from the weekly specials at the local hire shop and very poor. Service from everyone we came across was great

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I travelled up to Hobart from the Huon Valley for one special night (celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary) at the Henry Jones Art Hotel. We began our weekend with a wander around Salamanca Market and brunch at Drifters Internet Cafe (the best eggs benedict). We booked in to the hotel at 2.00pm, enjoyed a spa with champagne - the bathroom is gorgeous. I had pre-booked using the internet a deluxe courtyard room and we found it to be spacious, quiet, well equipped and very stylish. After trying all the amenities we dressed for dinner and enjoyed the most wonderful cocktails at the henry Jones Long Bar, a piano/double bass duo played cruisy jazz and we sat outside in the sunshine and watched the harbour views. We had planned a progressive dinner for the evening and we enjoyed entree at Blue Skies, main course at Rock bar and dessert at Maldini. All were perfect , particularly Rock Bar where we were seated on the little outdoor platform at the rear of the restaurant, very romantic.On our return to the hotel we had a coffee and then slept extremely well, the bed was very comfortable and the pillow menu was useful as the beds are made with very large pillows (stylish but not particularly comfortable).
We decided to have our breakfast at another venue so we checked out at 10.00 and then went to Environ, a small cafe in Battery Point which serves a marvellous breakfast menu and which we heartily recommend. We really had a superb weekend. Hobart is a beautiful little city and even though we are locals our experience was very special and highly memorable

Room Tip: Check with the hotel for the quietest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloriaSome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for three nights between Christmas and New Year and were very disappointed with this hotel. We booked a harbour view spa suite and found the room size was much smaller than we were expecting. The bathroom was also an issue - the shower was dreadful with very low water pressure and the spa bath was uncomfortable to use due to the type of bath plug used. The towels were threadbare - not what we would expect from a hotel at this price and the toiletries which we used on our first day were not replaced. Also, there is no in-room safe. All in all, a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spike_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in a harbour view spa room from boxing day for 4 nights. A great location to see the yachts arrive from Sydney. The service in this hotel is by far the best of any I have ever stayed. Nothing was too much from the bar staff with their supberb knowledge of whiskies and bourbans and the time taken to teach us all about it to the wonderful reception staff particularly on christmas eve when we needed a room due to a storm preventing us getting to our location. Our room was very nice although it would be nice to have a kitchenette in the spa room the same as the standard room. Perhaps because its a boutique hotel is what makes the difference as the staff seem to know your needs, your car, your coffee preference. I would most definitely return to this hotel and its a shame its not on the mainland. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. Oh and one more thing - I don't know of another hotel of this rating that provides 'COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING'. What a great touch!

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a view choose a standard room with the kitchenette, however these a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erena_fenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#2 of 47 in Hobart
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $216 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing