We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Self contained unit”

Signalman's Cottage B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Signalman's Cottage B & B
Ranked #18 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
sydney australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Self contained unit”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This b&b is located a few meters from signalman's cottage, from here there are magnificant Views of Hobart. the unit was clean and well stocked with breakfast provisions and very private, with views of the rive through the trees

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank normW48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Breathtaking views, wake up to natural sunlight. Spot groups of wallabies in the morning and walk around the amazing trails of Mt Nelson. Excellent owners/hosts. Would recommend to have a own/rental car as it is a fair way from centre of town, although this would apply to hobart in general as public transport is quite sparse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durkadurkaDurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great place to stay, and well-connected to the city centre bus route. All breakfast essentials supplied so that you can have breakfast whenever you wanted. Peaceful, excellent wildlife watching, and so close to some amazing views and walks around Mt Nelson.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Signalman's Cottage was perfect for our needs. Warm, great location, good views and well-priced. This is a good choice if you're looking for a nice getaway, with ready access to amenities of the city and Sandy Bay (10mins). We enjoyed our stay and will be sure to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bregeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We loved the place. It is located at the top of Mt. Nelson so is recommended only if you are on self-drive. A very romantic place. Very comfortable, quiet and warm.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thisisannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed at The Signalman's Cottage in April as the weather was turning cooler, however we were never cold whilst resting at the hearth of Georgie and Loic! The B&B is nestled at the top of Mount Nelson, seemingly off the beaten track, though surprisingly conveniently located for central Hobart (only around 8-10mins away). The views from the front of the B&B over the river and city are beautiful.

Our hosts were always very friendly and giving of their time and sightseeing advice. Both have lived in Tasmania for many years (or most of their lives) and have explored this beautiful state so their knowledge of great day trips/walks is brilliant. We used the B&B as a base for our travels, which worked brilliantly.

The accommodation itself, is separate to the house. It's a cosy private room with ensuite. We used the BBQ frequently and the breakfast supplied is healthy and hearty. We were always comfortable and felt very welcome with our gracious hosts. The peace of the surrounding bushland made a good night's sleep assured.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLC1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2009

I had seen the B&B sign at the Signalman's Cottage on a previous trip to Hobart, and liked the idea of being so close to that magnificent view of Hobart, and some good walking tracks through some peaceful bushland - and yet still be so close to the city.

I found the B&B clean and comfortable, and suited my needs perfectly. Hosts Georgie and Loic (and little Zoe) were very friendly and welcoming, and they told be about some of their favourite places around Tasmania - some good local tips!

The bed was really comfortable, I used the BBQ on the nights I ate in and the breakfast supplied was healthy and satisfying.

I highly recommend the Signalman's cottage B&B if you are doing some day trips around southern Tasmania. It is a great place to set up base, and around your travels, you can also take in some of the surroundings of Mt Nelson.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingSimon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.9 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 46 in Hobart
893 reviews
4.7 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#23 of 46 in Hobart
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Alabama Hotel Hobart
Alabama Hotel Hobart
#2 of 28 in Hobart
131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
4.5 mi away
Bendalls Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Signalman's Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signalman's Cottage B & B

Property: Signalman's Cottage B & B
Address: 685 Nelson Rd | Mt Nelson, Hobart, Tasmania 7007, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Signalman's Cottage B & B Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing