We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, friendly staff”
Review of Motel 429

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 429
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The room was very nice and extremely clean. The process for arriving at night when the office was closed was simple and straight forward. The location is good, with a bus stop to Hobart city centre only a 2 minute walk away. Free wifi which was handy. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

A great value venue. Very clean good service. Access able to all that Hobart has to offer to the traveler. A great value venue. Very clean good service. Access able to all that Hobart has to offer to the traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I was in Hobart overnight and wanted an inexpensive hotel with guaranteed parking. This was a great choice. My room was on the third floor - refurbished rooms with excellent heating, lots of warm bedding, and a view of snowy Mount Wellington and of the Derwent River/Wrestpoint Casino. I booked through the Qantas website after booking my flight and received a discount on the already inexpensive room. Staff at the desk were friendly and efficient. I was able to park undercover (some spaces are not covered). There is lift access to all floors at the front of the building. My room had a microwave and a coffee plunger (cafetière) with coffee sachets and biscuits (cookies) as well as the usual instant coffee and tea. Quiet, residential area and very peaceful overnight. Free wifi which I found worked best near the window. A two minute drive to the Sandy Bay shops which have restaurants, supermarkets and some good travel, gift and specialty shops. Convenient, comfortable and well-appointed - I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are closest to the lift, so easier for people with limited mobility. Rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I only had two days in Tasmania so I chose a fair-priced option that was a little bit outside of Hobart CBD. The taxi had no problem finding it, as it is on the well-know thoroughfare of Sandy Bay Road.
Check-in was in a little office that didn't look like a lobby past the parking lot. The desklady was really nice and handed me some milk for tea (made my night). The lift opposite the front desk takes you to the floors where the rooms are located. It was nice that it was glass on one side to see the river. The hallways are outdoors and I thought it was going to be exactly like a motel.
However, I was pleasantly surprised by the inside. It was modern and clean. The WC is spacious and the room was brightly lit by exterior light. The only odd thing about the whole experience was one of the bed coverings - it was plasticy on one side. Not bad, but just weird.
The wifi connected for the most part although it is slower than I am used to but the television was in working order. There is a little kitchenette and mini-icebox, which is amazing. It is close to the water and the casino, which is perfect.
The neighbourhood is very nice with some hills and nineteenth-century houses. It is only about a twenty-five minute walk to Hobart CBD. There are some great restaurants along the way. Also the desklady let me know a few restaurants close to Motel 429 offer discounts for guests, which is a good perk.
The official photos are good but incredibly doctored...views are just okay - at least from the standard room. Perhaps the deluxe suites show more of Hobart. I was satisfied staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mackjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

First time staying here and wont be the last, good value well appointed comfortable room in a great location.Close to the casino and the city, nice views too. Close to Sandy Bay Rd but noise not an issue, Staff very friendly and helpful. Onsite parking too which quite a few other places in Hobart don't offer !!
Will be staying here again, well done guys, a winner !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

For the money, this is my pick in Hobart.
Rooms are being refurbished to a higher level of modernism and convenience, which makes them a reasonably high standard. Location is great, only 5 mins to city centre. Mini bar items very well priced, and service is extremely well honed.
Quiet area, no road noise, however open air style of the building detracts during the rain.
All in all, its not Buckingham Palace, but its not trying to be either.
Its good, honest, comfy accommodation at a very reasonable price for Hobart.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Great clean friendly place. We have used it as an alternative to the overpriced dated rooms at the Wrestpoint numerous times when we've had events and dinners to attend at casino and will continue to do so. It's just a short walk over road to casino.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jakesmum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.7 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
1,045 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Hobart
Ibis Styles Hobart
#17 of 47 in Hobart
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 429? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 429

Address: 429 Sandy Bay Rd | Sandy Bay, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $101 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel 429 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Motel 429, located 42.9 Degrees South and perfectly positioned on the waterfront in beautiful Sandy Bay.Centrally located amongst some of Tasmania's fine Southern attractions, opposite the entertainment and restaurants of Wrest Point Casino. Offering a variety of deluxe queen rooms and deluxe self contained rooms. Free and ample parking. Overlooking the pictureque River Derwent. Free parking on site. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 429 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
429 Hotel Sandy Bay
Motel 429 Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing