We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a little better but overall OK”
Review of Motel 429

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 429
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expected a little better but overall OK”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Tasmania is well worth visiting - so much to see and do and all in a compact area unlike mainland Australia.

The photos I saw of this place are a little misleading as they give the impression that your room has a view over the sea - that may be applicable to one or two apartments but certainly not the majority.

The unit was spacious and clean and had all the amenities one might need but the building itself is a little 'tired' as an Estate Agent might say.

Being at the back of the block farthest away from the road meant we certainly did not have a sea view but it also ensured that road noise was kept to a minimum.

Accomodation prices in Australia are not cheap and Hobart is one of the more expensive places to stay but Motel 429 seemed a reasonable option without being a highlight of our Australia trip.

Room Tip: Away from the road is best, you won't be in your room long enough to enjoy any view that may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just_Me_and_the_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    98
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
36
98
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Bay
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very nice clean room with courteous, helpful staff. The only issues with this room was that we were at the front and heard a fair bit of main road noise and some light bleed through the 'slat' curtains at night. Decent curtains would have fixed both problems. That being said, the room did have a brilliant view over the river and was close enough for us to walk to Wrest Point for meals. And yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very good hotel staff were excellent. We'll placed for casino across the road which had excellent restaurants which incidentally were very reasonably priced. Enjoyed the experience and used the hotel as a great base for seeing the island. Would certainly use this hotel again if in Tasmania. We'll done to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A no frills motel but certainly not Shabby just on the outskirts of town so slightly down on the price bracket,but on the main bus route $5.70c Return to city center or Taxi $10 each way both a cheap option .Very friendly reception staff and helpful .The rooms were far in excess of what we expected for the price and FREE WIFI ! (Take note Big hotel chains )
You cant really go wrong if visiting Hobart and stay here ,looks clinical from the outside but loved the 3 nights we stayed there...forget the big hotel chains if in the area as a tourist and stay here you will save a fortune ...and spend the rest on the sights etc!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank probb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Pros
- clean, modern interior (deceiving from it's humble external appearance!)
- well stocked
- friendly, helpful staff
- great view as it is situated by the water
- good heating and cooling system

Cons
- weak wifi, troublesome as you have to log on every time you wish to use the internet. Please improve!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hi we stayed there for the first time while doing the toy run , the office staff was friendly we got to our room it was clean cosy . Just over the road from the casino was very handy you meal's and drinks . When we checked out this morning we booked again for the next toy run , if you want some where clean cosy and with friendly staff that has very reasonable room rate's check this place out .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

After a warm welcome from Judy, we were very happy with our clean modern room. We had 2 Queen size beds. The room was well equipped with quality bed and bath linen. There was freshly ground local coffee (or chocolate) with plunger and free wifi, which worked well. Lovely hot showers. The only down side - Sandy Bay Rd is busy with morning peak hour traffic. This was not a problem for us as we were not trying to sleep in. Well priced, staff very informative and room serviced every day. I'll be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank OzMuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 429? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 429

Property: Motel 429
Address: 429 Sandy Bay Rd | Sandy Bay, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel 429 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Motel 429, located 42.9 Degrees South and perfectly positioned on the waterfront in beautiful Sandy Bay.Centrally located amongst some of Tasmania's fine Southern attractions, opposite the entertainment and restaurants of Wrest Point Casino. Offering a variety of deluxe queen rooms and deluxe self contained rooms. Free and ample parking. Overlooking the pictureque River Derwent. Free parking on site. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel 429 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
429 Hotel Sandy Bay
Motel 429 Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing