We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again”
Review of Motel 429

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 429
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The motel is located near a busy road. Although I understand there are a number of renovated rooms, unfortunately the room we had was not one of those. It had worn 80s decor, was cramped and there was mould in the shower, so much so that we didn't dare use it for fear of getting a fungal disease. It was also noisy, we could hear comings and goings, plumbing noises, a noisy old heater and the gym above. We were scheduled to stay three nights but left after two. Some websites show lovely pictures of the renovated deluxe rooms. Standard downstairs rooms are nothing like those. We definitely will never return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Cocosuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 227 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

We needed accommodation close to the University and this was great. We had a lovely room (recently refurbished & self contained). No complaints with the motel itself, we were very comfy, but being on the main road I did find the traffic noise a little disturbing. It wouldn't put me off staying again though I would just be better prepared with a pair of ear plugs !! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here in December for 2 nights. The staff were extremely helpful any request or directions were met with a smile. We had the front room with a view of the river and was able to watch the yachts come in from the Sydney to Hobart. The room was clean and neat and the bed was lovely and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Awesome place to stay. Great location, good parking and rooms are a good size and very clean and newly redecorated.
4 of us booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and can definately recommend this motel. It's recommended by Qantas as well. Friendly and professional staff.

Dining Locally:
Try the Riverview Inn (built in 1842) - its about 3-4 kms further along Sandy Bay Road and had the best value menu + great qualify food - try the lamb shanks for $18 and dont miss the stained glass window above the bar.

Overall, Motel 429 is an ideal place to stay while exploring Hobart.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kato007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed for three nights with my partner over the New Year period. The room was modern, self contained, and included two queen sized beds.
The motel is across the road from the Wrest Point Casino, and approximately thirty to forty minutes walk from Salamanca Place and Constitution Dock.

Pros: Location; excellent rooms (size, facilities, cleanliness); price (worth upgrading for about $15 per night)

Cons: Car park can be a little hit and miss when motel is full;

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurningSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Motel 429
5 min drive from Salamanca
water side location
Kitchenette, microwave, stove
Big flatscreen TV
DVD player
Modern bathroom
Very strong shower pressure

Cons:
twin queen bed configuration a little cramped
main road traffic noise

Tip: Chillies Indian Restaurant good value and flavours in Sandy Bay

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mister_Bump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I spent only one night in this motel, and I thought, for the cost of the room, it was better. The room was very clean, and enough big. The bathroom was very old and I think that in 2010 it is time to have a sink with mixer tap!!! the room wasn't well isolated and I had to tune the television in the same channel as my neighbor's room!!! The motel is located in a very busy street then you hear a lot of road noise. The reception staff were very polite and courteous, we needed to check our e-mails and we have allowed the Internet without paying.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robcol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.7 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#14 of 47 in Hobart
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
1,261 reviews
1.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#22 of 47 in Hobart
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 429? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 429

Address: 429 Sandy Bay Rd | Sandy Bay, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $113 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel 429 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Motel 429, located 42.9 Degrees South and perfectly positioned on the waterfront in beautiful Sandy Bay.Centrally located amongst some of Tasmania's fine Southern attractions, opposite the entertainment and restaurants of Wrest Point Casino. Offering a variety of deluxe queen rooms and deluxe self contained rooms. Free and ample parking. Overlooking the pictureque River Derwent. Free parking on site. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 429 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
429 Hotel Sandy Bay
Motel 429 Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing